Samueloff and his companion might well have been longer if the protests of the scientific world had not been made, but fourteen weeks is a very long time.

Those of us who were directly involved, as colleagues of Professor Samueloff, realized all too well that we were amateurs, probably blundering in our efforts to help and not at all sure that our efforts were coming near the target. There were those who advised working behind the scenes, others who felt that a maximum of press publicity was essential. In spite of some setbacks and occasional rebuffs, the scientific and medical associations, and so on, took up the matter speedily, but it is probable that more effective machinery could be devised against such emergencies.

I suggest that this question ought to be on the agenda of all learned societies.

Yours faithfully,

O. EDHOLM

National Institute for Medical Research, Hampstead Laboratories, London NW3.

## University News

Dr J. M. Morris has been appointed John Slade Ely professor of gynaecology at the Yale School of Medicine.

## **Appointments**

Professor S. K. Runcorn, University of Newcastle upon Tyne, has been appointed by the Council of the Royal Society to be Rutherford Memorial Lecturer for 1970 in Kenya, Tanzania and Uganda. It is expected that he will lecture on topics in geophysics at University College, Nairobi, University College, Dar es Salaam, and Makerere University College, Kampala.

## Announcements

Lord Blackett (University of London) has been reelected president of the Royal Society. Other officers re-elected for the coming year are: treasurer, Sir Frederick Bawden (Rothamsted Experimental Station); biological secretary, Sir Bernard Katz (University College, London); foreign secretary, Sir Harold Thompson (University of Oxford). Sir Harrie Massey (University College, London) was elected physical secretary. elections to the council were as follows: Professor J. F. Adams (University of Manchester), Professor E. J. Denton (University of Bristol), Professor D. W. Holder (University of Oxford), Professor F. Hoyle (University of Cambridge), Sir Ewart Jones (University of Oxford), Dr J. W. Menter (Tube Investments, Ltd), Professor D. C. Phillips (University of Oxford), Professor F. H. Stewart (University of Edinburgh) and Dr Marthe L. Vogt (formerly ARC Institute of Animal Physiology, Cambridge). The following were re-elected to the council: Professor P. W. Brian (University of Cambridge), Professor J. N. Davidson (University of Glasgow), Sir Charles Goodeve (formerly British Iron and Steel Research Association), Professor W. R. Hawthorne (University of Cambridge), Sir John McMichael (British Postgraduate Medical Federation), Professor R. C. Sutcliffe (University of Reading) and Sir Maurice Yonge (University of Clasgow).

The International Society of Psychoneuroendocrinology was established at a meeting in Milan on September 1-2, 1969. The aim of the society is to coordinate clinical and basic research work in the psychoneurological and the endocrinological sciences. An advisory council of

members from twenty-five countries was formed. Further information can be obtained from the secretaries: Dr F. Wolleson, the Neurochemical Institute, 58 Rådmandsgade, 2200 Copenhagen, Denmark, or Professor F. Brambilla, Clin. Psichiatrica dell'Universita, Via Besta 1, Milano-Affori, Italy.

The Dr H. P. Heineken Prize, which is awarded every three years by a committee appointed by the Royal Netherlands Academy of Science, has been awarded for 1970 to Dr B. Chance, professor of biophysics and director of the Eldridge Reeves Johnson Foundation for Medical Physics at the University of Pennsylvania, for his research on the mechanism of intracellular respiration and photosynthesis.

The first BDH Award in Analytical Biochemistry has been made by the Biochemical Society to Dr B. S. Hartley, MRC Molecular Biology Unit, Cambridge. The award is to be made triennially by the society for work carried out in a laboratory in the UK or Eire leading to advances in biochemistry related to the application of a new reagent or method.

The Ministry of Technology's Wolfe Award has been presented to Mr W. Watt, Mr L. N. Phillips and Mr W. Johnson (Materials Department, Royal Aircraft Establishment, Farnborough) for their discovery of a method of producing high strength, high stiffness carbon fibres.

ERRATUM. In the book review by Robert Maycock of Fact and Theory: An Aspect of the Philosophy of Science by W. M. O'Neil (Nature, 224, 976; 1969), the first sentence should have read: "A casual reference to the philosophy of science can still transform the most level-headed scientist into a ranting protestor."

Erratum. In the note "Nuclear Power" in "Parliament in Britain" (Nature, 224, 405; 1969), it was stated that "the cost of replacing a complete set of fuel elements in the Dragon reactor was about £60,000". In fact, the heat exchangers were replaced and not the fuel elements. The fuel development programme of the Dragon project has been successful, and the difficulties encountered with the heat exchangers are not related to the reactor system itself.

## International Meetings

January 6, Gas-Liquid Chromatography of Natural Products, London (Mr E. L. Robins, Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain, 17 Bloomsbury Square, London WC1).

January 12-24, Biological Effects of Carbon Monoxide, New York (Mr L. R. Neville, Associate Executive Director, New York Academy of Sciences, 2 East 63rd Street, New York, NY 10021, USA).

January 22, Technical Information on Materials for Building and Construction—Sources and Presentation, London (The Society of Chemical Industry, 14 Belgrave Square, London SW1).

February 25–26, Trends in Diffusion, Teddington (Meetings Officer, The Institute of Physics and the Physical Society, 47 Belgrave Square, London SW1).

March 22–25, First Annual Meeting of the Environmental Mutagen Society, Washington (Dr F. J. de Serres, Editor, EMS Newsletter, Biology Division, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Oak Ridge, Tennessee 37830, USA).

March 23-25, Dielectric Properties of Heterogeneous Systems including Biological Materials, Aberystwyth