arrange tables, produce illustrations and, finally, to write the manuscript. Then comes a delay of up to two years before printing and distribution have taken place, and by that time (in 1972 at the earliest) all the material is more than five years old. Maybe the whole study is not worth while—or is it?

Yours faithfully,

HENNING LEMCHE

Universitetets Zoologiske Museum, Universitetsparken 15, København Ø, Danmark.

Editor's Note—Both these letters refer to an article in Nature (220, 855; 1968).

University News

Professor W. Mackay has been appointed to the chair of haematology at King's College Hospital Medical School, London. The title of professor of clinical pharmacology has been conferred on Dr C. T. Dollery, Royal Postgraduate Medical School, and the title of professor of optical design has been conferred on Dr C. G. Wynne, Imperial College of Science and Technology.

Dr R. F. Baddour has been appointed head of the Department of Chemical Engineering at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Dr M. S. Laverack has been appointed to the chair of marine biology, Gatty Marine Laboratory, University of St Andrews.

Dr T. T. Sandel has been appointed chairman of the Department of Psychology, University of Washington.

Announcements

The following were elected fellows of the Royal Society on March 20: Professor H. B. Barlow, professor of physiological optics, School of Optometry, the University of California; Professor R. L. F. Boyd, professor of physics and director of the Mullard Space Science Research Laboratory, University College, London; Dr J. H. Chesters, deputy director of research, Midland Group, British Steel Corporation, Swinden Laboratories, Rotherham; Dr A. H. Cook, deputy chief scientific officer, superintendent of the Standards Division, National Physical Laboratory; Dr G. W. Cooke, deputy director and head of the Chemistry Department, Rothamsted Experimental Station, Harpenden, Hertfordshire; Professor P. V. Danckwerts, Shell professor of chemical engineering, Department of Chemical Engineering, University of Cambridge; Dr P. Fatt, reader in biophysics, University College, London; Professor J. R. S. Fincham, professor of genetics, University of Leeds; Dr H. M. Finniston, deputy chairman (technical), British Steel Corporation, London; Professor W. S. Fyfe, Royal Society research professor, Department of Geology, University of Manchester; Professor W. R. S. Garton, professor of spectroscopy, Imperial College of Science and Technology, London; Professor P. G. H. Gell, professor of immunological pathology, Medical School, University of Birmingham; Professor Q. H. Gibson, professor of biochemistry and molecular biology, Cornell University; Dr E. Glueckauf, deputy chief scientist and head of the Radiochemistry Branch, Chemistry Division, AERE, Harwell; Earl of Halsbury, director of the Distillers Co., Ltd, Head Wrightson and Co., Ltd, and Joseph Lucas (Industries), Ltd, London; Dr B. A. Hems, managing director, Glaxo Research, Ltd, Greenford, Middlesex; Dr G. A. Horridge, reader in zoology and director of the Gatty Marine Laboratory, University of St Andrew's; Dr R. R. Jamison, chief engineer (research), Rolls Royce, Ltd, Bristol Engine Division; Dr A. Klug, MRC Laboratory of Molecular

Biology, Cambridge; Dr L. W. Mapson, deputy chief scientific officer, Plant Division, ARC Food Research Institute, Norwich; Professor A. W. Merrison, professor of experimental physics, University of Liverpool, and director of the SRC Daresbury Nuclear Physics Laboratory, Warrington, Lancashire; Professor C. W. Oatley, professor of electrical engineering, Department of Engineering, University of Cambridge; Mr T. A. L. Paton, senior partner, Sir Alexander Gibb and Partners, London: Professor W. S. Peart, professor of medicine, St Mary's Hospital Medical School, University of London; Dr H. C. Pereira, recently director of the ARC of Central Africa in Rhodesia, Zambia and Malawi, director-designate, East Malling Research Station, Maidstone, Kent; Dr L. A. B. Pilkington, director of Pilkington Brothers, Ltd, head of the Technical Function, St Helens, Lancashire, and chairman of Fibreglass, Ltd, London; Professor C. T. C. Wall, professor of pure mathematics, University of Liverpool; Dr A. Walsh, assistant chief, Division of Chemical Physics, CSIRO, Melbourne; Professor P. F. Wareing, professor of botany, University College of Wales, Aberystwyth; Professor W. M. Watkins, head of the Department of Biochemistry, Lister Institute of Preventive Medicine, London, and professor of biochemistry in the University of London; Professor K. Wiesner, research professor of organic chemistry, University of New Brunswick; Dr J. H. Wilkinson, deputy chief scientific officer, Mathematics Division, National Physical Laboratory.

The University of Bristol has appointed Professor A. W. Merrison as vice-chancellor from the beginning of the next academic year. Professor Merrison is 45, and has taught physics at the University of Liverpool since 1951. Since 1962 he has also been the director of the Daresbury



Professor A. W. Merrison.

Nuclear Physics Laboratory. In the past few months he was often mentioned as a possible director of the project to build a 300 GeV proton accelerator under the CERN umbrella, chiefly because of the smoothness with which the Daresbury laboratory was completed.

ERRATUM. In the review by Frank McCapra of the book "Luminescence in Chemistry" (Nature, 221, 884; 1969) the last sentence of the penultimate paragraph should have read "The author's guesses about the reactions involved reinforce the plea for contributions from chemists to this difficult but potentially rewarding field".

ERRATUM. The title of the article by Sushil Kumar et al. (Nature, 221, 823; 1969) was altered without consulting the authors, with resultant loss of clarity. The original title read "Orientation and Control of Transcriptional Units containing Cistrons $N,c_{\rm III}$, β , exo and int in E. coli Phage λ ".