biology); A. A. Guber (history); B. M. Kedrov (philosophy and law); A. M. Rumyantsev and T. S. Khachaturov (economics); V. M. Zhirmunsky and M. B. Khrapchenko (literature and language); G. K. Boreskov, N. N. Vorozhtsov, A. B. Zhukov, Yu. A. KUZNETSOV, L. A. MELENTYEV, A. V. NIKOLAYEV and V. V. Struminsky (Siberian branch). The following have been elected corresponding members: N. P. Buslenko, V. Ya. Kozlov, S. P. Novikov, Yu. V. Prokhorov and A. A. Samarsky (Bathematics); L. D. Bakhrakh, A. F. BOGOMOLOV, V. S. BOROVIK-ROMANOV, L. A. VAINSHTEIN, L. P. GORKOV, E. M. LIFSHITS, R. V. KHOKHLOV and I. S. Shklovsky (general and applied physics); V. P. Djelepov, L. B. Okun, E. L. Feinberg, L. P. Feoktistov and A. E. Chudakov (nuclear physics); N. S. Lidorenko (physical and technical problems of energetics); Yu. D. BULANZHE, P. N. KROPOTKIN, V. V. RZHEVSKY, A. B. RONOV, E. F. SAVARENSKY, E. M. SERGEYEV, A. I. Tugarinov and V. E. Khain (sciences of the earth); G. S. Byushgens, S. V. Vallander, S. S. Lavrov, N. N. Moiseyev, I. F. Obraztsov, G. S. Pospelov, V. S. PUGACHOV, V. B. RAUSHENBAKH and G. P. SVISHCHEV (mechanics and control processes); N. S. Yenikolopov, YA. M. KOLOTYRKIN, A. A. PETROV and A. S. SADYKOV (general and technical chemistry); R. S. Ambartsumyan, V. V. KAFAROV, B. N. LASKORIN and E. M. SAVITSKY (physico-chemistry and technology of inorganic materials); M. V. Volkenshtein, M. N. Kolosov, M. A. Prokofiev, A. S. Spirin and A. A. Shlyk (biochemistry, biophysics and chemistry of physiologically active compounds); O. G. GAZENKO, P. G. KOSTYUK and A. M. UGOLEV (physiology); A. P. Andriyashev, M. S. Gilyarov, A. L. TAKHTADZHYAN and S. S. SHVARTS (general biology); Yu. V. Bromlei, Ya. S. Grosul, Yu. A. Polyakov and V. L. YANIN (history); G. A. AKSENYONOK, D. A. KERIMOV and T. I. OIZERMAN (philosophy and law); V. A. VINOGRADOV, A. G. MILEIKOVSKY, T. V. RYABUSHKIN, V. G. SOLODOVNIKOV and T. T. TIMOFEYEV (economics); M. N. Bogolyubov and D. F. Markov (literature and language); A. A. Borovkov, G. S. Gorshkov, M. I. Kargapolov, N. N. Puzyrev, M. G. Slinko, V. P. Solonenko, L. V. Tauson and N. N. Yanenko (Siberian branch).

The U.S. National Academy of Sciences and the Czechoslovak Academy of Sciences have agreed on a programme of scientific exchanges lasting for the next 3 years. Visits of from one month to one year by individual scientists are included under the agreement, and it is expected that a total of 40 man-months of visiting a year in each direction will take place.

THE U.S. Naval Research Laboratory has agreed with the University of Maryland and with Cornell University to conduct joint programmes of research on plasma physics. The objective of the two bilateral agreements is that the laboratories concerned should plan their work in consultation with each other and that there should be frequent interchanges of students and scientists between the institutions. The Naval Research Laboratory's programme is being directed by Dr. Alan C. Kolb, now superintendent of the Plasma Physics Division in which he has worked for the past decade.

The Council of the Royal Society of Edinburgh has announced that Dr. S. Evans, a member of the Scott Polar Research Institute, has been awarded the Dr. W. S. Bruce Memorial Prize for 1966, in recognition of his many applications of physics to scientific exploration in the Antarctic and particularly for his development of radio echo sounding of ice. The Council has also announced that the David Anderson-Berry Prize for 1966 has been awarded as follows: Dr. G. F. Whitmore, for his investigations into the effects of radiation on the underlying cellular and chemical events which occur at various stages during the growth and division of mammalian cells; proxime to Dr. L. A. Stocken and Dr. M. Ord, for their work on the effects of X-irradiation on the synthesis of deoxyribonucleic acid.

Mr. D. Wallis has been awarded the Miles Prize by the National Institute of Industrial Psychology, in recognition of his work on new training techniques at the Navy Department of the Ministry of Defence. He is the first recipient of this new Prize. Dr. D. McKie Kerslake has been awarded the Vernon Prize by the Institute.

The one hundred and third meeting of the British Pharmaceutical Conference will be held in Manchester during September 5-9. Further information can be obtained from the Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain, 17 Bloomsbury Square, London, W.C.1.

The third international Congress of Human Genetics will be held in the University of Chicago during September 5–10. Further information can be obtained from Dr. B. S. Strauss, University of Chicago, 1307 East 60th Street, Chicago, Illinois.

An international symposium on "Selenium in Biomedicine" will be held at Oregon State University during September 6–8. Further information can be obtained from the chairman of the symposium, Dr. O. H. Muth, Nutrition Research Institute, Oregon State University, Corvallis, Oregon.

THE NIGHT SKY IN AUGUST

All times are in Universal Time

		Moon New Moon 16d 12h Full Moon 1d 09h 31d 00h		Conjunctions with THE Moon Venus 14d 20h, 4° S. Mars 14d 10h, 4° S. Jupiter 14d 08h, 4° S. Saturn 5d 13h, 2° N.			
PLANETS	Times of rising (R) and setting (S) during the month						
Name	R/S	Beginning	Middle	End	Mag.	D_g (10 ⁶ miles)	Zodiacal position
Mercury Venus Mars Jupiter Saturn	R R R R	Unfavourable $2h 00m$ $2h 05m$ $2h 40m$ $2lh 40m$ $2lh 40m$	3h 05m 2h 35m 1h 55m 1h 55m 20h 40m ce of planet from tl	Unfavourable 3h 15m 1h 50m 1h 15m 19h 40m ne Earth on the 15th of	+0·4 -3·3 +1·9 -1·4 +1·0 the month	81 144 223 563 813	Cancer Cancer Gemini Gemini Pisces
OCCULTATIONS OF STARS BRIGHTER THAN MAGNITUDE +6 AT GREENWICH							
		Star	R/D	Time	Mag.		
		56 Tau	R	11d 01h 46·0m	+ 5.3		
Meteors	(D, disappearance; R, reappearance)						
	Name	Active period	Date of max	imum Radia:	nt	Remarks	
	Perseids	July 27-Aug. 17	12d	46° R.A., +	58° Dec.	Favourable	

OTHER PHENOMENA

4d 02h, Venus 1° S. of Mars. 7d 17h, Venus 0.1° S. of Jupiter.