Research, namely that concerned with earth sciences and ecology, has been taken over by the Natural Environment Research Council; and most of the support given in the past by the Department of Scientific and Industrial Research to university research and training in some parts of the human sciences (particularly sociology and psychology applied in industry) will be taken over by the new Social Science Research Council which is being set up by the Government following the recommendation of the Heyworth Committee.

The new Board replaces the Research Grants Committee and the Postgraduate Training Awards Committee of the Department of Scientific and Industrial Research. The membership of the Board is as follows: Chairman, Sir Ewart Jones. Members, Prof. B. Bleaney, Dr. Lee's professor of physics, University of Oxford; Prof. R. Brown, Regius professor of botany, University of Edinburgh; Dr. A. Caress, Imperial Chemical Industries, Ltd.; Prof. G. C. Drew, professor of psychology, University College, London; Dr. H. M. Finniston, International Research and Development Co., Ltd.; Prof. H. Ford, professor of applied mechanics, Imperial College of Science and Technology; Prof. M. R. Gavin, professor of electronic engineering, University College of North Wales, Bangor; Lord Halsbury; Dr. J. W. Menter, Tube Investments Ltd.; Prof. R. S. Nyholm, professor of chemistry, University College, London; Prof. G. Porter, Firth professor of chemistry, University of Sheffield; Prof. E. J. Richards, professor of applied acoustics, director of Institute of Sound and Vibration Research, University of Southampton; Prof. A. L. Roberts, Livesey professor of fuel technology, University of Leeds; Dr. J. E. Smith, secretary of the Marine Biological Association of the United Kingdom and director of the Laboratory; Prof. I. N. Sneddon, Simson professor of mathematics, University of Glasgow; Sir Peter Venables, vice-chancellor, University of Aston in Birmingham. Assessors, University Grants Committee and the Ministry of Technology.

## Directorate of Overseas Surveys: Mr. G. J. Humphries, C.M.G., O.B.E.

MR. G. J. HUMPHRIES retires this month as director of Overseas Surveys of the Ministry of Overseas Development, and Surveys adviser to the Minister. Mr. Humphries was born in 1900, and after three years at the University of Reading joined the Colonial Survey service in Nigeria in 1928. He was with the Royal Engineer Survey from 1939 until 1946, attaining the rank of lieutenant-colonel. From 1944 he was responsible (under Brigadier Hotine, director of Military Surveys) for the planning and organization of what was originally known as the Directorate of Colonial Surveys. Mr. Humphries was deputy director of this from its start at Bushy Park in 1946 with responsibility for the field side of the work. He was appointed director in 1963 on the retirement of Brigadier Hotine. When the tellurometer was being perfected in South Africa in 1957 he played a major part in its acceptance by geodesists and land surveyors by his advocacy and by organizing the completion by tellurometer in one month of a 400-mile precise traverse in Kenya which would have taken two years or more by conventional methods—the first major field task for which this revolutionary survey instrument was used. In addition to his control of the field side of the Directorate with parties working all over the Commonwealth, Mr. Humphries was responsible for the technical side of the selection and training of British surveyors for the Colonial Survey departments and of the training of African and other overseas surveyors in Britain. His experience and judgment of character have played an important part in the growth of these departments and in their effective evolution after the independence of the countries concerned. Mr. Humphries was awarded an O.B.E. in 1954 and a C.M.G. in 1965.

Mr. W. D. C. Wiggins, O.B.E.

Mr. W. D. C. Wiggins has been appointed to succeed Mr. Humphries as director of Overseas Surveys and Surveys adviser. Born in 1905, Mr. Wiggins was a scholar of King's School, Canterbury, and went to University College, London. He joined the Nigerian Survey Department in 1928 and served in the Royal Engineers from 1939 until 1946, attaining the rank of lieutenant-colonel. He was appointed assistant director to the Directorate on its formation in 1946 and deputy director in 1948 with responsibility mainly for the mapping side at Tolworth. He was awarded an O.B.E. in 1957.

## Standards Division, National Physical Laboratory, Teddington: Dr. H. Barrell, C.B.E.

Dr. H. Barrell, who will be retiring from his post of superintendent of the Standards Division of the National Physical Laboratory at the end of March 1966, joined the Metrology Division, as it then was, in 1923. He took his degree in physics at the Royal College of Science, where as a demonstrator he later worked with A. Fowler on ultraviolet spectroscopy in the early years of quantum theory. Dr. Barrell's own experimental work has been largely devoted to precise measurements of wave-lengths in the visible spectrum and their applications to the measurements of length. An outstanding contribution, made jointly with Mr. J. E. Sears during 1932-38, was the determination of the metre and the yard in wave-lengths of light and of the refractive index and dispersion of air. From 1939 until 1945 he was responsible for mechanical gauging of ammunition to which he applied pneumatic methods, so initiating an important development in the work of the Division. Dr. Barrell was appointed superintendent of the Metrology Division in 1953 in succession to Dr. F. H. Rolt. In 1958, in a re-organization of the National Physical Laboratory, the Metrology Division was combined with other groups to form the Standards Division. Dr. Barrell has been particularly concerned with the decision, taken in 1960, to define the metre in terms of the wave-length of an orange line in the spectrum of krypton-86: he has directed the Division's contribution to the international co-operative programme of research organized by the International Committee for Weights and Measures and he is a member of that Committee's Advisory Committee for the Definition of the Metre. In 1954, following the death of Mr. J. E. Sears, he was elected to the International Committee. He was a member of the British delegations to the General Conferences of Weights and Measures of 1948, 1954, 1960 and 1964. As chairman of the international Advisory Committee for the Definition of the Second, Dr. Barrell has been influential in securing agreement on the definition of time in terms of an atomic frequency, a decision which, like that on the metre, depends heavily on the experimental work of his own Division. Dr. Barrell's superintendency has been a time of rapid change. From a small group concerned mainly with measurements in classical physics and engineering, the Division has grown to be the largest in the Laboratory with responsibility for the fundamental units, for the most precise measurements of length, mass, time and frequency, electrical quantities and temperature, and for much of the routine test work of the Laboratory as well. This growth Dr. Barrell has taken in his stride while maintaining and encouraging the many research activities and manifold international responsibilities of the Division. He retires at a time when the international repute of the Division is high in the field, a true reflexion of the imaginative guidance he has given. He was awarded a C.B.E. in 1962.

Dr. A. H. Cook

Dr. Barrell is being succeeded next April by Dr. A. H. Cook, who was educated at Westcliff High School and Corpus Christi College, Cambridge. After graduating