## New Sports Stadium at Rotorua, New Zealand

THE construction of a new indoor sports centre at Rotorua in New Zealand, built at a cost of £90,000 and recently opened, embodies some rather unusual features worthy of brief record. The total floor area is 41,000 sq. ft. and consists of three main sections: stadium, gymnasium and foyer. The stadium has a centre court playing area of 16,500 sq. ft. and provides tiered seating along two sides for 1,000 spectators. One of the important features of the design was the use of 120-ft. laminated timber arches to support the roof. The timber was local Radiata pine and an 'Aerolite' melamine-modified urea-formaldehyde glue was used for all laminating. Illustrated details of this construction are given in CIBA Technical Notes 264 (December, 1964. Pp. 7. Duxford: Ciba (A.R.L.), Ltd., 1964). Rotorua is situated in an area of thermal springs and geysers in North Island, and, because of the hazard in such an area of infiltration of hydrogen sulphide through the foundations, special treatment of the site was necessary and a 3-ft. raft of suitable filling material was made to provide a firm base. The laminated timber work alone consumed 50,000 super feet; the total quantity of timber used was 250,000 super feet, all Radiata pine except 50,000 ft. of heart matai used for the flooring. "To combat corrosion from sulphurous gases, galvanized nails were used in the floor, bronze rather than chromium-plated fittings installed and extensive use made of aluminium piping. Nearly two tons of galvanized nails were used and almost five miles of electrical wiring installed." In view of the insidious and far-reaching effects of hydrogen sulphide emanations in situations such as this 'sportsdrome' it is to be hoped that the filling material used (it is not named) to seal the site and ensure a firm base for the foundations proves adequate and permanent.

# University News:

Edinburgh

PROF. F. F. Bonsall, at present professor of pure mathematics in the University of Newcastle upon Tyne, has been appointed to the McLaurin chair of mathematics as from October 1.

### Cambridge

The following elections to fellowships at Churchill College have been made: Title A, Dr. J. D. Eshelby, on appointment as College lecturer in physics. Title F (Overseas Fellowships), Prof. M. Gell-Mann, professor of theoretical physics at the California Institute of Technology (April-July 1966); Prof. J. A. Barnes, professor of anthropology at the Research School of Pacific Studies, Australian National University, Canberra (October 1965–February 1966).

#### London

Prof. G. W. A. Dick, at present professor of microbiology at the Queen's University of Belfast, has been appointed to the Bland-Sutton chair of pathology tenable at Middlesex Hospital Medical School. The following readers have also been appointed: Dr. H. Stern (virology, tenable at St. George's Hospital Medical School); Dr. C. J. M. Stirling (organic chemistry, tenable at King's College); Dr. M. Spiro (physical chemistry, tenable at the Imperial College of Science and Technology). The following titles have been conferred: Professor, Dr. H. C. K. Henderson (geography, in respect of his post at Birkbeck Collogo); Dr. D. Lacey (zoology, in respect of his post at St. Bartholomew's Hospital Medical School); Reader, Dr. A. G. J. MacFarlane (electrical engineering, in respect of his post at Queen Mary College); Miss A. M. Coleman (geography, in respect of her post at King's Collogo); Dr. P. J. Lindop (radiobiology, in respect of her post at St. Bartholomew's Hospital Medical College).

#### Proposed U.S. University Research Association, Inc.

THIRTY-FOUR universities in the United States have been invited to participate in Universities Research

Association, Inc., a new corporation formed as a result of a meeting of university presidents at the National Academy of Sciences on June 20, 1965. The corporation will offer its services to the Federal Government as manager of a proposed high-energy proton accelerator, should Congress approve its construction. Articles of incorporation, filed in the District of Columbia on June 21, list the following university presidents as temporary trustees: Detlev W. Bronk, Rockefeller University; Robert F. Goheen, Princeton University; Fred H. Harrington, University of Wisconsin; Grayson Kirk, Columbia University; Joseph R. Smiley, University of Colorado; Elvis J. Stahr, jun., Indiana University; H. Guyford Stever, Carnegie Institute of Technology; and John C. Warner, former president of Carnegie, who has headed the organizing committee.

Other institutions invited to participate in the corporation are: California Institute of Technology; University of California (Berkeley); University of California at Los Angeles; University of Chicago; Cornell University; Duke University; Harvard University; University of Illinois; University of Iowa (Iowa City); Johns Hopkins University; University of Maryland; Massachusetts Institute of Technology; University of Michigan; University of Minnesota; University of North Carolina; Northwestern University; University of Notre Dame; University of Pennsylvania; Purdue University; Rice University; University of Rochester; Stanford University; University of Texas; Tulane University; Washington University (St. Louis); University of Washington: and Yale University. The list is subject to later extension by the member institutions. The corporation will function under the authority of a council of presidents, in which each member institution will be represented by its chief executive. Its operations will be managed by a board of trustees, composed of six trustees-at-large to represent a broad section of public interest, and fifteen distinguished scientists and senior university administrators elected by the member institutions. The universities will form fifteen regional groups for the purpose of making these nominations.

#### Announcements

Prof. S. Petterssen, professor of meteorology in the University of Chicago from 1952 until 1963, has been awarded the International Meteorological Prize. The Prize is awarded for outstanding work in meteorology and international collaboration. It was established in 1955 by the World Meteorological Organization in honour of the former non-Governmental Organization which had initiated international collaboration in 1878 and which was replaced in 1951 by the World Meteorological Organization.

THE eighth European Congress on Molecular Spectroscopy will be held in Copenhagen during August 14—20. Further information can be obtained from the Eighth European Congress on Molecular Spectroscopy, Universitetsparken 5, Copenhagen Ø, Denmark.

A NATO advanced study institute on "The Biochemistry of Chloroplasts" will be held in the University College of Wales, Aberystwyth, during August 19–28. Further information can be obtained from Prof. T. W. Goodwin, Department of Biochemistry, Penglais, Aberystwyth, Cardiganshire.

The 1966 congress of the European Organization for Research on Fluorine and Dental Caries Prevention will be held in Perugia during June 6-8, 1966. The main theme of the congress will be "Carbohydrates in Relation to Nutrition, Economic Standards and Dental Caries". Further information can be obtained from Prof. A. Seppilli, Istituto d'Igiene della Università, Casella Postale No. 150, Perugia.