for polar exploration and research, with special reference to the Canadian Arctic; Founder's Medal, Prof. Lester C. King (University of Natal), for geomorphological exploration in the Southern hemisphere. Council of the Royal Geographical Society has made the following awards: Victoria Medal, Prof. H. M. Gaussen (University of Toulouse), for bioclimatological mapping; *Murchison Grant*, Dr. J. C. Swallow (National Institute of Oceanography), for contributions to oceanography; Back Grant, Lieutenant-Commander J. B. Dixon (Royal Navy), for hydrographic surveying in Antarctica; Cuthbert Peak Grant, Lieutenant G. P. G. Robinson (Royal Engineers), for exploratory surveys in Southern Arabia; Gill Memorial, Dr. G. T. Warwick (University of Birmingham), for contributions to cave research; Mrs. Patrick Ness Award, Dr. D. R. Stoddart (University of Cambridge), for investigations of coral cays in South and Central America; Lady Dorothy Mills Award, Miss Milada Kalab (University of Durham), for proposed research and field work in Cambodia.

560

Second Chair of Botany in the University of Sheffield: Prof. J. L. Harley, F.R.S.

Dr. J. L. Harley, who has been appointed to the newly created second chair of botany in the University of Sheffield, was educated at Loeds Grammar School and Wadham College, Oxford. He was placed in the first class in the Final Honours School of Botany in 1933 and in the same year was elected Christopher Welch Scholar and Pollard Student. In 1936 he obtained his D.Phil. and was awarded a senior 1851 studentship, which he held until his appointment as demonstrator in the Department of Botany in Oxford in 1938. In 1940 Dr. Harley was commissioned to the Royal Corps of Signals. He served in Burma and at Lord Mountbatten's headquarters in Ceylon, and held the rank of Lieutenant-Colonel when he was demobilized in 1945. He returned to Oxford as University demonstrator and was elected to a followship at the Queen's College. In 1962 he was made reader in plant nutrition in the Department of Agriculture at Oxford. Since 1961 he has been an editor of the New Phytologist. Dr. Harley is well known for his elegant and distinguished investigations into the physiology of mycorrhiza, and in particular into the phenomena of ion-uptake by the fungal sheath and of transfer to the host. He was elected Fellow of the Royal Society of London in 1964.

Physics in the University College of South Wales and Monmouthshire: Prof. C. A. Taylor

Dr. C. A. Taylor, reader in physics in the Faculty of Technology, University of Manchester, has been appointed to the chair of physics in the University College of South Wales and Monmouthshire. Dr. Taylor, although a graduate of Queen Mary College, London, studied at Cambridge during the Second World War when the students were evacuated there. He came under the influence of Sir Lawrence Bragg's teaching of physical optics and this stood him in good stead when he was appointed to the Physics Department of the Faculty of Technology of the University of Manchester in 1948; here Prof. Lipson assigned him the task of developing an optical approach to X-ray diffraction problems that had been suggested by Sir Lawrence. He distinguished himsolf by designing an elegant instrument—the optical diffractometer—which has proved to be remarkably successful, both as a research tool and as a device for teaching physical optics. On the basis of this work he was promoted to a readership in the Department in 1958 and was awarded the degree of D.Sc. in 1959. He is now exploring the use of this device for studying imperfect structures, a field to which computer methods are not readily applicable. With Prof. Lipson he has published two books-one

theoretical and one experimental—on his research subject; he has also published a book on another of his interests—physics and music. Dr. Taylor succeeds Prof. A. J. C. Wilson, who has been appointed to the newly established chair of crystallography in the Department of Physics in the University of Birmingham (Nature, 204, 1035; 1964).

Expenditure on Scientific Research in Britain

In a written answer in the House of Commons on April 14, the Secretary of State for Education and Science, Mr. A. Crosland, stated that the estimated expenditure for 1964–65 on civil scientific research for which he was responsible was £43.5 million. The estimated cost of scientific research undertaken by the universities in the same year was £37.4 million, and the total of £81 million was broadly comparable with the £77 million quoted in the last report of the Advisory Council on Scientific Policy. The corresponding total of £98 million for 1965–66 included £45.4 million in respect of universities. Future requirements of civil scientific research would be considered in the light of advice from the Research Councils and the Council for Scientific Policy.

Morecambe Bay Barrage

In reply to a series of questions in the House of Lords on April 14 regarding the proposed Morecambe Bay Barrage, the Joint Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Land and Natural Resources, Lord Mitchison, said that the proposal was being examined by the Water Resources Board as one possible means of meeting the needs for additional supplies of water in the North-West which were expected to develop between now and the end of the century. The economic aspects would no doubt be examined by the Department for Economic Affairs, and Lord Mitchison was confident that the Water Resources Board would have the Solway Barrage proposals and other possibilities in mind. He insisted that the need for additional water supplies was independent of technical considerations and declined to comment on the latter aspects, though he admitted that the amenity aspects had also to be considered at this stage.

Council for National Academic Awards

THE Council for National Academic Awards, which was established by Royal Charter in September 1964, with powers to award first and higher degrees to students in higher educational establishments other than universities, has now issued its first statement (Pp. 14. London: Council for National Academic Awards, 1964). This indicates its intention to continue the work of the National Council for Technological Awards, and to extend the provision of awards at honours degree level to other fields of higher education outside the universities. At the same time, the Council intends to direct attention to the desirability of degrees of a different type and at a different level, as mentioned in the report of the Robbins Committee. The Council has decided to set up two Boards of Studies, to be known as the Committee for Science and Technology and the Committee for Arts and Social Studies. The Council will not expect these Committees to be able to deal with other than broad questions of policy relating to the nature of courses, examination arrangements, etc. Subject boards working to the Committees will also be set up; for example, for the Committee for Science and Technology, there will be an Electrical Engineering Board and a Chemistry Board. The Council is also giving high priority to a decision about the titles of its first degrees. Until a further announcement is made about the degrees, which the Council will grant to students who successfully complete courses for the Diploma in Technology, recommendations by colleges for