John Logie Baird Travelling Scholarship

The Television Society invites applications for the third award of the John Logie Baird Travelling Scholarship. This Scholarship, of value up to £200, is open to postgraduate students (in United Kingdom educational establishments) who are concerned with television engineering or an allied technology. It is expected that the award will be made to someone between 21 and 30 years of age, and the successful applicant will be known as the Baird Scholar. The scholarship is intended to assist the successful applicant in undertaking a period of investigation abroad of approximately 6–8 weeks. During this period some aspect of television, or an allied technology, will be investigated. Further information can be obtained from the Hon. Secretary of the Television Society, 166 Shaftesbury Avenue, London, W.C.2.

Fishery Research Training Grants

The Development Commissioners, in association with the Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food and the Department of Agriculture and Fisheries for Scotland, will award postgraduate training grants in fishery research, tenable from October I. The grants are intended to enable the selected candidates to undergo a specified course of training to fit them for the investigation of problems in marine or freshwater science. Candidates must be British subjects and should be honours graduates in science from a British university, or possess equivalent qualifications. Further information and forms of application can be obtained from the Secretary, Development Commission, 3 Dean's Yard, Westminster, London, S.W.1.

University News:

Belfast

The following lectureships have been announced: Dr. A. A. Rutherford (agricultural biometrics); Dr. A. McDowell Mercer (pure mathematics).

London

The following appointments have been announced: Professorships, Dr. K. W. S. Sing (chemistry, tenable at Brunel College). Readerships, Dr. D. M. Matthews (chemical pathology, tenable at Westminster Medical School); Dr. J. E. Ffowes Williams (applied mathematics, tenable at the Imperial College of Science and Technology). The following titles have been conferred: Professorships, Dr. M. E. Fisher (physics, at King's College); Dr. J. B. E. Baker (pharmacology, at Charing Cross Hospital Medical School); Dr. J. S. Weiner (environmental physiology, at the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine). Readerships, Dr. J. S. L. Leach (physical metallurgy, at the Imperial College of Science and Technology); Dr. R. D. Milne (aeronautical engineering, at Queen Mary College); Dr. N. McA. Sayers (electrical engineering applied to medicine, at the Imperial College of Science and Technology).

Royal Holloway College

In October 1965 the Royal Holloway College will admit men as undergraduates for the first time, thereby instituting a process of expansion which is expected to more than double its size by 1967. An illustrated brochure issued by the College outlines the scope of its faculties of arts and science and sketches the proposed developments in botany, chemistry, physics and zoology (Pp. 24. Englefield Green: Royal Holloway College, 1964). By October 1967 the expansion is planned to create a mainly residential college of 1,000 students with men and women in equal numbers.

Swansea

Dr. F. T. Barwell, director of electrical research, British Railways Board, has been appointed professor of mechanical engineering in succession to Prof. R. H. Macmillan.

Announcements

Dr. M. Talwani, a senior scientist at the Lamont Geological Observatory, Columbia University, has been selected by the Indian Geophysical Union as the first recipient of its newly created Krishnan Medal, for outstanding work in the field of marine geophysics.

THE Organization of the Felt Industry in Europe invites young people in the employ of members of the Organization, and of firms in the paper-making and allied industries and students in universities, colleges and other educational institutions, to submit technical or scientific papers for consideration for the annual awards of the Organization. Further information can be obtained from the General Secretariat, OFE, Raamweg 13, The Hague.

H. J. Heinz Company, Ltd., and the National Vegetable Research Station Association have each agreed to finance a second postgraduate scholarship, tenable at the National Vegetable Research Station as from October 1. The purpose of the scholarships is to enable graduate students to pursue further studies and obtain training in one of the following subjects: chemistry; plant physiology; irrigation; plant pathology; ecology and control of weeds; biometry. Further information can be obtained from the Secretary, Vegetable Research Station, Wellesbourne, Warwick. The latest date for receipt of applications is April 30.

A. Douglas Co., Ltd., is to act as sole British importers of the multi-head linear dividing machine manufactured by V. E. B. Feinmess, of Dresden. This machine is capable of dividing 24 specimens simultaneously. The gradations may be applied to work-pieces over a wide range of materials, such as steel, aluminium, brass, plastics and glass. A wide range of literature covers all forms of dividing machines, including circular and linear machines of high precision, also universal and multi-head machines of the production type, etching pantograph and number engraving pantograph. Further information can be obtained from A. Douglas Co., Ltd., Lincoln Road, Cressex Industrial Estate, High Wycombe, Bucks.

An ordinary meeting of the North of England Section of the Society for Analytical Chemistry will be held in Durham on March 12. Further information can be obtained from the Society for Analytical Chemistry, 14 Belgrave Square, London, S.W.1.

The tenth annual general meeting of the Midlands Section of the Society for Analytical Chemistry will be held in the University of Birmingham on March 12. Further information can be obtained from the Society for Analytical Chemistry, 14 Belgrave Square, London, S.W.1.

The Palynological Society of India was inaugurated on January 5 by Prof. T. S. Mahabale (Poona University) during the 51–52 session of the Indian Science Congress. The following have been elected to the Executive Council of the Society: President, Prof. K. N. Kaul; Vice-Presidents, Prof. A. R. Rao and Prof. A. K. Ghosh; General Secretary-cum-Treasurer, Dr. P. K. K. Nair; Councillors, Dr. K. Biswas, Prof. U. N. Chatterjee, Dr. G. B. Deodikar, Prof. T. S. Mahabale, Dr. D. D. Pant, Prof. V. Puri, Dr. Bhoj-Raj, Dr. J. Sen, Mr. B. D. Sharma, Dr. D. N. Shivepuri, and Dr. M. S. Swaminathan. Further information can be obtained from Dr. P. K. K. Nair, National Botanic Gardens, Lucknow.

CORRIGENDUM. In Fig. 1 of the article entitled "An Antifouling and Anti-corrosion System", by B. Wisely (Nature, 203, 1132; 1964), a discrepancy occurs in the "scale drawing". The true boundary between the "hull layer" and the "rest" was omitted; to correct this a line needs to be added parallel to and 8 mm to the left of the line labelled "rest".