NEWS and VIEWS

The Royal Society: Officers for 1963

At the Anniversary Meeting held on November 30, Sir Howard Florey, professor of pathology in the University of Oxford, was re-elected president.

The other officers re-elected for the ensuing year were: Treasurer, Lord Fleck, formerly chairman of Imperial Chemical Industries, Ltd.; Biological Secretary, Sir Lindor Brown, Waynflete professor of physiology in the University of Oxford; *Physical Secretary*, Sir William Hodge, Lowndean professor of astronomy and geometry in the University of Cambridge; Foreign Secretary, Sir Patrick Linstead, rector of the Imperial College of Science and Tech-

nology, London.

Other members of Council elected (or re-elected) were: Mr. F. C. Bawden, director of Rothamsted Experimental Station; Mr. G. B. R. Feilden, group technical director, Davy-Ashmore, Ltd.; Prof. E. F. Gale, professor of chemical microbiology in the University of Cambridge; Sir William Glanville, director of road research, Department of Scientific and Industrial Research; Prof. W. K. Hayman, professor of pure mathematics in the Imperial College of Science and Technology (University of London); Prof. E. L. Hirst, Forbes professor of organic chemistry in the University of Edinburgh; Prof. D. Lewis, Quain professor of botany in University College (University of London); Dr. P. B. Medawar, director of the National Institute for Medical Research; Prof. A. A. Miles, director of the Lister Institute and professor of experimental pathology in the University of London; Prof. W. T. J. Morgan, deputy director of the Lister Institute and professor of biochemistry in the University of London; Prof. C. F. Powell, Melville Wills professor of physics in the University of Bristol; Prof. F. W. Shotton, professor of geology in the University of Birmingham; Prof. J. E. Smith, professor of zoology at Queen Mary College (University of London); Sir Gordon Sutherland, director of the National Physical Laboratory; Sir Graham Sutton, director-general of the Meteorological Office; Dr. H. W. Thompson, university reader in infra-red spectroscopy in the University of Oxford.

(Publication of the presidential address and award of medals at the anniversary meeting of the Royal Society has been deferred until the issue of December 15.)

Chemistry, Physics and Metallurgy at the Royal Aircraft Establishment: Dr. B. P. Mullins

As from November 19, the Chemistry Department and the Metallurgy and Physics Department at the Royal Aircraft Establishment, Farnborough, became amalgamated into a Chemistry, Physics and Metallurgy Department. Dr. B. P. Mullins, at present head of the Chemistry Department, has been promoted to deputy chief scientific officer and head of the new Department. The present head of the Metallurgy and Physics Department, Mr. L. G. Carpenter, who was recently promoted on individual merit to deputy chief scientific officer, is being partially relieved of administrative responsibility, in

accordance with the aims of the individual merit promotion scheme, by appointment as head of the Physics and High Temperature Materials Division in the new Department. Dr. Mullins was born in 1920 and educated at Shooters' Hill School, London. which he left when sixteen to join the Engine Branch of the Air Ministry. At nineteen, after two years' attendance at the Woolwich Polytechnic Evening Institute and a year's private study (spent as a Ministry of Aircraft Production evacuee in Harrogate) he obtained a London B.Sc. degree in physics, chemistry and mathematics. He immediately commenced research in the Engine Department of the Royal Aircraft Establishment, Farnborough, where at twenty-two he became head of the Fuels and Lubricants Laboratory. After a year's research on high-vacuum gas analysis under Prof. R. G. W. Norrish at the University of Cambridge on secondment, he returned to Farnborough, where between 1944-60 he undertook physical and physical-chemical researches in the field of combustion science at the National Gas Turbine Establishment (formerly Power Jets, Ltd.). At thirty-one, as a principal scientific officer and having just been awarded an external Ph.D. degree in fuel technology by the University of London, he began to widen his interests, and at thirty-three was appointed the first head of the Chemical Physics Department at the National Gas Turbine Establishment, where he remained until July 1960, when he was appointed head of the Chemistry Department at the Royal Aircraft Establishment. During the mid-1950's Dr. Mullins was U.K. member and chairman of the Combustion and Propulsion Panel of AGARD-NATO.

Physical Chemistry at Leeds: Prof. P. Gray

Dr. P. Gray has been appointed to a personal chair in physical chemistry in the University of Leeds. Dr. Gray was educated at Newport High School and Gonville and Caius College, Cambridge, where he obtained first-class honours in Parts I and II of the Natural Science Tripos in 1946. Following graduation, he was engaged in research in the Department of Physical Chemistry at the University of Cambridge from 1946 until 1951. He was elected to the Dunlop studentship in 1946, and awarded a Ph.D. in 1949. In the same year the Ramsay Memorial fellowship was awarded to him and he was elected a Fellow of Gonville and Caius College. In 1949 he was appointed University demonstrator in chemical engineering. Dr. Gray joined the staff of the University of Leeds in 1955 as lecturer in physical chemistry and received in the same year the Meldola Medal of the Royal Institute of Chemistry. The title of reader was conferred on him in October 1959. He was awarded a Commonwealth Bursary in 1958 and went as visiting professor to the University of British Columbia in Vancouver. The Marlow Medal of the Faraday Society was conferred on him in June 1959. Dr. Gray's research work at Leeds has been in several fields. These include the study of flames and explosions, work on thermochemistry, thermodynamics and heat transport, and the study of free radicals.