## Lady Tata Scholarships and Fellowships

THE Trustees of the Lady Tata Memorial Trust invite applications for fellowships, scholarships and grants for research on leukæmia in the academic year beginning October 1. Candidates will be eligible for consideration whose research on any aspect of malignant disease may throw light on the problems of leukæmia, and especially those studying leukæmogenic viruses in mammals, the epidemiology and natural history of leukæmia and its genetical and cytological aspects. Applications should be submitted before March 31. Further information can be obtained from the Secretary of the (European) Scientific Advisory Committee, Lady Tata Memorial Trust, Chester Beatty Institute, Fulham Road, London, S.W.3.

## The British Parliamentary and Scientific Committee

AT the annual meeting of the Parliamentary and Scientific Committee on February 15, the following were elected as principal officers for 1962: President, The Rt. Hon. the Marquess of Salisbury; Chairman, Mr. A. Albu (Mr. Albu is the first professional engineer to have held this office. He received his engineering education at the City and Guilds College of the Imperial College of Science and Technology, of which he is now a member of the Board of Governors. He is also a member of the Boards of Governors of Battersea College of Technology and Acton Technical College. Mr. Albu is a co-opted member of the Education Committee of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers); Vice-Chairman, Dr. D. T. A. Townend (British Coal Utilization Research Association); Deputy-Chairmen, Mr. J. H. Osborn and Mr. H. Rhodes.

## The Institute of Physics and the Physical Society : Appointments and Awards

THE Council of the Institute and Society has made the following appointments: Guthrie Lecturer, Sir Bernard Lovell, professor of radio astronomy in the University of Manchester and director of the Nuffield Radio Astronomy Laboratories, Jodrell Bank Experimental Station (to be delivered on May 24 during the Harrogate Convention); Rutherford Memorial Lecturer, Prof. D. H. Wilkinson, professor of experimental physics at the University of Oxford (to be delivered in London on March 26 during the conference on "High Energy Nuclear Physics"). The Council has made the following awards: Charles Vernon Boys Prize, to Dr. P. B. Hirsch, of the Cavendish Laboratory, Cambridge, for his work in X-ray spectroscopy, particularly in the investigation of dislocations and other defects in metals; Maxwell Medal and Prize, to Prof. A. Salam, professor of theoretical physics at the Imperial College of Science and Technology, for his many contributions to the theory of elementary particles-this is a new award which the Council has introduced for outstanding contributions to theoretical physics carried out in the past ten years.

## Announcements

THE Corday-Morgan Medal and Prize for 1960 of the Chemical Society has been awarded to Prof. R. N. Haszeldine, professor of chemistry in the Manchester College of Science and Technology, in consideration of his outstanding contributions to the chemistry of fluorine. DR. L. A. K. STAVELEY, New College, Oxford, and Dr. W. B. Powell, Physics Department, University of Birmingham, have been awarded Cherwell Fellowships by the William Waldorf Astor Foundation. They will visit laboratories in the United States—Dr. Staveley to study work on physical chemistry at low temperatures, and Dr. Powell to study work on medium energy orbital accelerators and in particular on the design of sector focused cyclotrons.

DR. WILLIAM V. HOUSTON, honorary chancellor and formerly president of the William Marsh Rice University, Houston, has been elected president of the American Physical Society, to succeed Prof. Frederick Seitz. Dr. John H. Williams, professor of physics at the University of Minnesota, has been elected vice-president.

DR. LARKIN H. FARINHOLT has been elected a vice-president and member of the Board of Trustees of the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation. Dr. Farinholt, in his new post, will organize the Foundation's scientific programmes. Since August 1960 he has been in charge of the  $1\cdot 2$  million dollars a year programme for basic research in the physical sciences which he will continue to direct.

THE forty-sixth annual meeting of the Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology will be held in Atlantic City during April 14–18. Further information can be obtained from Dr. S. S. Negus, Medical College of Virginia, Richmond, Virginia.

A SYMPOSIUM on "Theory and Structure of Complex Compounds", organized by the Institute of Physical Chemistry of the Polish Academy of Sciences and the University of Wroclaw, is to be held in Wroclaw during June 15–19. Further information can be obtained from the Department of Inorganic Chemistry, University of Wroclaw, Poland.

An international symposium on "Theoretical Interpretation of Upper Atmosphere Emissions", sponsored jointly by the International Astronomical Union and the International Union of Geodesy and Geophysics, is to be held in Paris during June 25–29. Further information can be obtained from J. W. Chamberlain, Yerkes Observatory, Williams Bay, Wisconsin.

A SPECIAL summer laboratory course in techniques and applications of the electron microscope will be held during June 12–28 for senior biologists and medical research workers under the direction of Prof. Benjamin M. Siegel in the Electron Microscopy Laboratory of Cornell University. Further information can be obtained from Prof. Benjamin M. Siegel, Rockefeller Hall, Cornell University, Ithaca, New York.

A SYMPOSIUM on "The Primates", arranged by the Anatomical Society of Great Britain and Ireland, the Society for the Study of Human Biology and the Zoological Society of London, is to be held at the Zoological Society of London during April 12–14. The symposium is to be divided into four sessions: primate behaviour in the wild and in captivity (chairman, Sir Solly Zuckerman); functional anatomy of the primates (chairman, Sir Wilfrid Le Gros Clark); characters of genetic interest in the primates (chairman, Prof. L. S. Penrose); film studies of primate behaviour. Further information can be obtained from the organizing secretary, Dr. John Napier, Royal Free Hospital School of Medicine, 8 Hunter Street, London, W.C.1.