colouring matters to receive an education at a university or technical college. Each award will have a value of £350 per annum. This may be increased, at the discretion of the Trustees, to £400 per annum, if the candidate appointed is required to live away from his normal place of residence. Applications and inquiries should be addressed to the Secretary, Perkin Centenary Trust, c/o Chemical Society, Burlington House, London, W.1. Applications must be made by May 1, 1962.

The U.S. Building Research Institute

The Building Research Institute, a constituent part of the Division of Engineering and Industrial Research of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences-National Research Council, will become an independent technical society for the building sciences next year. As Dr. Detlev W. Bronk, president of the Academy-Research Council, remarked: "The Buckley report, which recommended in 1951 the establishment of the Building Research Institute within the Academy-Research Council, recommended also that the Institute be encouraged to work toward independent status. It is truly gratifying that, within the span of a decade, the Institute has established itself as a uniquely effective instrument for the stimulation and correlation of interdisciplinary research in the building industry, the extraordinarily diverse interests of which otherwise depend on the attention of nearly 500 separate associations in the field".

Acoustical Society of America

Dr. Leo L. Beranek, president of Bolt Beranek and Newman Inc., of Cambridge, Mass., has been given the Wallace Clement Sabine Award of the Acoustical Society of America for his contributions to architectural acoustics. The Pioneers of Underwater Sound Award has been conferred on Dr. A. B. Wood, of the Admiralty Research Laboratory, Teddington.

The officers of the Society are as follows: President, Dr. Laurence Batchelder, Raytheon Co., Burlington, Mass.; Vice-president, Prof. Robert T. Beyer, Brown University; President-elect, Dr. Robert W. Leonard, University of California at Los Angeles; Treasurer, Herbert A. Erf, Cleveland, Ohio; Secretary, Wallace Waterfall, American Institute of Physics, New York; Editor-in-Chief, Dean R. Bruce Lindsay, Brown University.

Biological Engineering Society

At the annual general meeting of the Biological Engineering Society, Prof. R. F. Woolmer was re-elected president for the coming year, and Dr. A. Nightingale, St. Thomas's Hospital, London, S.E.1, as honorary secretary. The following members were elected as members of council: P. E. K. Donaldson, D. Gordon, A. Nightingale, G. Pampiglione, W. J. Perkins, J. T. Scales, B. Shackel, A. M. Uttley, H. S. Wolff, B. M. Wright.

University News: Birmingham

THE following appointments have been made: Dr. J. S. Brimacombe, to be lecturer in the Department of Chemistry; Dr. F. Rieband, to be lecturer in the Department of Mechanical Engineering; E. D. R. Shearman, to be senior lecturer in electromagnetism in the Department of Electrical Engineering; Dr. E. C. Grant, to be Research Fellow in the Department of Medical Biochemistry and Pharmacology.

Edinburgh

The following appointments to lectureships have been announced: I. W. Sutherland (bacteriology); J. Shepherd (electrical engineering); W. Dudgeon (senior lecturer in engineering); J. A. Linnet (engineering); Dr. S. Soundranayagan (engineering); H. Montgomery (pathology); M. B. Smith (pathology); Dr. P. D. Mitchell (senior lecturer in zoology).

London

Dr. J. Clunie, lecturer at the Imperial College of Science and Technology, has been appointed to a readership in mathematical analysis tenable at that College.

New York

NEW YORK UNIVERSITY has combined its two physics departments into a single all-University department and has appointed Prof. Bruno Zumino, professor of physics, as its head. The re-organization is one of the final steps toward unifying the departments at the several centres of this University. The two units involved in the change are the University Heights Physics Department, formerly in the College of Engineering, and the Washington Square College of Arts and Science Physics Department. Each of the physics units under Dr. Zumino's direction will continue to have its own chairman. Prof. Sidney Borowitz has been appointed chairman of the University Heights Department to replace Dr. Lyle Borst, who has assumed a professorship in the all-University Department of Chemistry. Prof. Morris H. Shamos will continue as chairman of the Washington Square College of Arts and Science Physics Department.

Announcements

The Executive Council of the Commonwealth Agricultural Bureaux has appointed Dr. V. Armstrong, representing New Zealand, as chairman in succession to Mr. C. K. Reheem, representing Pakistan. Mr. W. G. Alexander, representing the United Kingdom, has succeeded Dr. V. Armstrong as vice-chairman.

Dr. A. W. Baldwin, formerly an associate research manager of the Dyestuffs Division, Imperial Chemical Industries, Ltd., has been co-opted as a governor of the J. A. Radley Research Institute, 220–222 Elgar Road, Reading.

Dr. Robert Phyfe Madden, chief of the Spectroscopy Section, Physics Research Laboratory, in the Engineer Research and Development Laboratories at Ft. Belvoir, Va., has been appointed to the Atomic Physics Division of the U.S. National Bureau of Standards. His new group is to develop absolute radiation standards for the far ultra-violet spectral region.

The ninth annual Western Spectroscopy Conference will be held at Asilomar, Pacific Grove, California, during January 25–26, 1962. Further information can be obtained from Dr. Donald G. Rea, chairman, Western Spectroscopy Association, Space Sciences Laboratory, Leuschner Observatory, University of California, Berkeley 4, California.

ERRATUM. In the communication by M. R. Droop entitled "Evidence for a Sexual Phase in the Life-Cycle of an Amœba" in Nature of October 21, p. 281, par. 2, lines 1 and 5, the names Heteramæba and Heterochromonas should be interchanged.