ferred on Dr. J. G. Hawkes, at present senior lecturer in taxonomy in the Department of Botany, from May 1, 1961.

The following appointments have also been announced. Senior lectureships: Dr. G. V. Chester (mathematical physics); Dr. A. S. Jones (chemistry); Dr. L. W. Poel (botany); Dr. J. W. Railly (mechanical engineering); Mr. J. G. Henderson (electrical engineering); Sir Francis Knowles (anatomy); Mr. A. A. Walters (econometries and social statistics); Dr. W. E. Cavenagh (social study). Lectureships: Dr. D. E. Cohen (pure mathematics); Mr. H. P. Rogosinski (pure mathematics); Dr. R. H. Jones (civil engineering); Dr. M. H. Jeynes (bacteriology); W. R. H. Batty (chemistry); Dr. J. P. Simons (chemistry); Prof. E. N. Corlett (engineering production); Dr. A. J. Miller (highway and traffic engineering); T. Brereton (mining and minerals engineering); J. R. Rawling (mining and minerals engineering). Research fellowships: Dr. J. Lehmann, to be Imperial Chemical Industries Research Fellow in the Department of Chemistry; P. Johnson, in the Department of Medical Biochemistry and Pharmacology; R. Joy, in the Department of Medical Biochemistry and Pharmacology; Dr. B. Sakita, in the Department of Mathematical Physics.

The University has received and accepted during the period December 22, 1960-April 12 gifts and grants totalling £271,113 for research purposes. Included in this figure are: a grant of £157,143 from the Ford Foundation to support a long-term programme of research in the Department of Anatomy into the reproductive physiology of monkeys; a grant of £42,300 over five years from the Department of Scientific and Industrial Research for research on organic fluorine compounds in the Department of Chemistry.

Edinburgh

The following appointments were recently announced: Senior Lecturers, Dr. E. A. Smith (public health and social medicine), Dr. Allan Campbell (zoology); Lecturers, G. O. Goudie (engineering), Dr. Tao-Ching Hsu (engineering), A. L. Florence (engineering).

Glasgow

Dr. C. H. Wilson, vice-chancellor of the University of Leicester, has been appointed principal of the University of Glasgow, in succession to Sir Hector Hetherington, who retires on September 30.

London

Dr. W. B. WHALLEY, reader in organic chemistry in the University of Liverpool, has been appointed to the University chair of chemistry tenable at the School of Pharmacy.

Dr. I. C. Percival has been appointed to the University readership in applied mathematics tenable at Queen Mary College, and Dr. S. J. Pirt, principal scientific officer at the Microbiological Research Establishment, Porton, has been appointed to the University readership in microbiology tenable at Queen Elizabeth College.

Dr. P. Armitage, a member of the Statistical Research Unit of the Medical Research Council at the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, has been appointed to the University chair of medical statistics tenable at that school. Dr. Dennis Lacy, lecturer at St. Bartholomew's Hospital Medical College, has been appointed to the readership in

zoology and comparative anatomy tenable at that college.

Dr. J. A. W. Dalziel of the Imperial College of Science and Technology has been appointed reader in inorganic and analytical chemistry in the Chelsea College of Science and Technology. Dr. J. D. Donaldson of the University of Aberdeen has also been appointed as a lecturer in the Department of Chemistry of the College.

Manchester

Dr. F. J. Ursell, at present lecturer in mathematics at the University of Cambridge, has been appointed Beyer professor of applied mathematics in succession to Prof. M. J. Lighthill on a date to be arranged.

## **Announcements**

SIR JOHN COCKCROFT, master-designate of Churchill College, Cambridge, has been appointed chancellor of the Australian National University, Canberra, in succession to Lord Bruce; this appointment will not affect Sir John's position at Cambridge.

PROF. J. R. PARTINGTON has been given the Dexter Award of the American Chemical Society for his work in the history of chemistry. Prof. Partington is emeritus professor of chemistry in the University of London, but for some years has been resident in Cambridge. The Dexter Award consists of a money prize and a plaque, and it is expected that the Award will be made at a meeting of the Chemical Society in the autumn by Dr. Edelstein, president of the Dexter Chemical Corporation of New York.

Dr. G. Malcolm Dyson of Loughborough, Leicester, has been given the Austin M. Patterson Award of the American Chemical Society for his work on the storage and retrieval of scientific data by computer techniques. The award is made every two years in honour of the late Dr. Austin M. Patterson in recognition of contributions in the field of chemical literature and especially in the documentation of chemistry. This is the first time that the award has been made to a non-American.

Dr. E. Eastwood, chief of research of Marconi's Wireless Telegraph Co., Ltd., Chelmsford, Essex, has been appointed director of research responsible to the managing director for the Company's research policy.

PROF. GEORGE TEMPLE, professor of natural philosophy, University of Oxford, has been appointed chairman of the Aeronautical Research Council, in succession to the late Prof. W. J. Duncan.

The thirteenth British Electrical Power Convention of the Electrical Development Association is to be held at the Winter Garden, Eastbourne, during June 12–15. The theme of the Convention will be "Electricity in the Prosperity and Welfare of the Nation". Further information can be obtained from J. I. Bernard, Electrical Development Association, 2 Savoy Hill, London, W.C.2.

A SUMMER school in health physics (radiation protection) arranged by Dr. Hugh D. Evans, lecturer in radiation hazards and health physics, will be held in the Department of Chemical Engineering and Chemical Technology, Imperial College of Science and Technology, during July 3-14. Further information can be obtained from Dr. H. D. Evans, Imperial College of Science and Technology, Prince Consort Road, London, S.W.7.