of Great Britain); Sir Edward Bullard (Department of Geodesy and Geophysics, University of Cambridge); Mr. E. Le Q. Herbert (president of the Royal Institute of Chemistry); Sir Alan Tod (president of the Liverpool and District Scientific, Industrial and Research Library Advisory Council).

## **University News:**

## McGill University

THE research groups and weather observatory which have been responsible for the meteorology carried out at McGill University have now been supplemented by a Department of Meteorology, consisting of Profs. J. S. Marshall and F. K. Hare, Associate and Assistant Profs. R. H. Douglas, W. Hitschfeld, S. Orvig and B. W. Boville. In the undergraduate curriculum, four continuation courses in meteorology are available to the general programme toward the B.Sc. degree. For the postgraduate programme leading to the M.Sc., the normal admission requirement is a bachelor's degree with honours in physics, and there is no prerequisite meteorology. Candidates proceeding from master's degree to Ph.D. will continue as in the past to be primarily the concern of the research groups, with the possibility of some helpful backing from the Department. Prof. Marshall retains his title and duties as Macdonald professor of physics, and Prof. Hare continues as professor of geography and chairman of that Department. Profs. Boville and Orvig are known for their work in the Arctic Meteorology Research Group, and Profs. Douglas and Hitschfeld in connexion with the Stormy Weather Group. Until the present session, Dr. Douglas and Mr. Boville have been at McGill as members of the Canadian Meteorological Service, to which they have made important contributions. By the end of the present session their formal connexion to the Service will have been severed, but there will be close and continuing co-operation between this first Canadian University Department of Meteorology and the Canadian Meteorological Service.

## Sheffield

Swansea

Two new lectureships have been announced : Mr. A. Usher is to be lecturer in forensic medicine ; and Mr. H. Merskey, to be lecturer in psychiatry.

DR. J. D. WESTON, senior lecturer in mathematics, King's College, Newcastle upon Tyne, has been appointed professor of pure mathematics, to succeed Prof. R. Wilson, who retires at the end of the present session.

A one-year course, leading to a College diploma in chemical engineering, will be instituted in the session 1961-62. It will be open to students holding an honours degree, or equivalent qualification, in a branch of physical science or engineering, and the content of the course will be adjusted according to the background of the individual student. It will consist of lectures, tutorials, laboratory and design work, extending over a full academic session. Applications should reach the Registrar, University College, Swansea, by June 30.

## Announcements

SIR JOHN COCKCROFT, master-designate of Churchill College, Cambridge, and part-time member of the U.K. Atomic Energy Authority, has been awarded the 1961 Atoms for Peace Award, for his contribution towards the application of atomic energy to the production of electricity in the United Kingdom. The Award, established as a memorial to Henry Ford and his son Edsel, consists of a gold medal and 75,000 dollars.

PROF. EPHRAIM KATCHALSKI, head of the Biophysics Department, Weizmann Institute of Science, has been awarded the Rothschild Prize for Research for 1960, in recognition of his work on the structure of poly-amino-acids.

MR. S. N. MITRA, of the Research Department, All India Radio, New Delhi, has been awarded the 1960 prize of the Council of the Institution of Telecommunication Engineers of India for his paper, "Magneto-Ionic Triple Splitting over Delhi".

PROF. W. T. ASTBURY, professor of biomolecular structure in the University of Leeds, has been elected the fourth recipient of the T. Duckett Jones Memorial Award. This is a medical award of 6,500 dollars administered by the Helen Hay Whitney Foundation, and it will be presented to Prof. Astbury at Princeton, New Jersey, on October 7, 1961.

MR. E. LL. HARRY, at present regional controller of the East Midland Region of the Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food, is to succeed Mr. C. D. Ross as regional director of the National Agricultural Advisory Service, South Western Region, when the latter retires on March 9.

A SYMPOSIUM and instrument exhibition on "Automatic and Semi-Automatic Methods in Analysis and Control" will be held at the Medway College of Technology on March 16. Further information can be obtained from the course organizer, Dr. D. T. Burns, Department of Science, Medway College of Technology, Maidstone Road, Chatham, Kent.

THE Faraday Society is organizing a general discussion on "Radiation Effects in Inorganic Solids" by invitation at the Centre d'Études Nucléaires de Saclay, Gif-sur-Yvette (S.-et-O.), during April 11-12. Further information can be obtained from the Assistant Secretary, Faraday Society, 6 Gray's Inn Square, London, W.C.1.

An intensive short course in elementary plasticity is being organized by the Imperial College of Science and Technology, in the Department of Mechanical Engineering, during April 10–14. Further information can be obtained from Dr. J. M. Alexander, Department of Mechanical Engineering, Imperial College of Science and Technology, Exhibition Road, London, S.W.7.

THE Faraday Society is holding an informal discussion on the "Mechanisms of the Gas-Phase Reactions of the Halogens and their Compounds" in the Chemistry Department, University College, Cardiff, on March 28. The programme will be divided into two sections : (a) oxidation processes ; (b) reactions of elementary halogens. Further information can be obtained from Dr. J. H. Thomas, Chemistry Department, University College, Cathays Park, Cardiff.

ERRATUM. In *Nature* of January 28, p. 275, concerning recent changes in administration and organization of the Akers Research Laboratory, Imperial Chemical Industries, Ltd., it was erroneously stated that Dr. Chatt will continue in charge of the Organic Chemistry Department; Dr. Chatt is in charge of the Inorganic Chemistry Department.