University of Cambridge. Further information can be obtained from the Honorary Secretary, Group A, the British Conference on Automation and Computation, c/o The Institution of Mechanical Engineers, 1 Birdcage Walk, London, S.W.1.

### Autonomics Division, National Physical Laboratory

The name of the Control Mechanisms and Electronics Division of the National Physical Laboratory is to be changed to the Autonomics Division. The Division is already well known in the field of automatic control and in pioneering digital computers. Such machines are deterministic in that their behaviour can be predicted from their design and their environment, and they can be designed only after a detailed mathematical analysis of the factors involved. By working closely with biologists in studying the methods which living physical systems use to achieve control, the newly named Division hopes to discover underlying principles on which machines that can improve their own performance can be built.

#### The Royal Institution

At the annual meeting of members of the Royal Institution held on May 2 the following officers were elected: President, Lord Brabazon of Tara; Treasurer, Mr. W. E. Schall; Secretary, Sir Harold Spencer Jones; Managers, Dr. T. E. Allibone, Dr. H. D. Anthony, Mr. E. R. Davies, Dr. A. G. Gaydon, Dr. H. Heywood, Brigadier H. E. Hopthrow, Mr. L. B. W. Jolley, Mr. P. H. Schwarzschild, Wing-Commander H. F. Tiarks and Prof. W. D. Wright; Visitors, Mr. A. D. R. Caroe, Mr. A. H. Ewen, Mr. G. J. Gollin, Mr. S. Rees Jones, Mr. W. C. Lister, Miss C. M. McDowell, Mrs. J. E. Milton, Mr. F. Allen Mitchell, Dr. A. A. Moss and Miss D. Sidebottom.

# Royal Meteorological Society: Awards for 1959

The following awards were announced at the annual general meeting of the Royal Meteorological Society: Buchan Prize for 1955–59, Dr. R. J. Murgatroyd; Hugh Robert Mill Medal and Prize for 1959, Dr. B. J. Mason; Darton Prizes, (a) Home Awards, first prize to Dr. C. J. Adkins and second prize to Dr. J. A. Funk; (b) Canadian Awards, first prize jointly to Mr. R. H. Douglas and Dr. W. Hitschfeld, and second prize to Mr. D. K. A. Gillies.

## University News: Cambridge

The Fellowship Electors have made the following appointments to Churchill College: Official fellowships: Dr. F. H. Hahn, fellow from October 1 and College lecturer in economics from October 1, 1961; Dr. D. J. Thouless, fellow and College lecturer in mathematics from October 1, 1961. Extraordinary fellowship: Dr. F. H. C. Crick, from October 1. Overseas fellowship: Prof. S. B. Treiman, associate professor of physics, Princeton University, from October 1.

London

The following appointments tenable at Westfield College have been announced: Dr. E. H. Bellamy, senior lecturer in the University of Glasgow, to the University chair of physics; Dr. E. H. Sondheimer, reader in applied mathematics at Queen Mary College, to the University chair of mathematics; Dr. G. E. Fogg, reader in botany at University College, London, to the University chair of botany.

### Announcements

The Holweck Medal and Prize, given jointly by the Société Française de Physique and the Physical Society, has been awarded to J. Brossel, in recognition of his distinguished work on spectroscopy. The presentation will be made on May 11 in the Clarendon Laboratory, Oxford, after which M. Brossel will deliver an address (in English) on "Optical Detection of Nuclear Magnetic Resonance".

Dr. M. Tordoff, associate editor of the Journal of the Textile Institute, is to become editor of the Journal of the Society of Dyers and Colourists. He takes up his new appointment in August.

APPLICATIONS are invited from members of the British Mycological Society and heads of departments for grants from the Cheesman and Pethybridge funds to enable students of mycology to attend the Spring or Autumn Foray, or the Plant Pathology Field Meeting. Grants will be made only to students who would otherwise be unable to attend these meetings on financial grounds. Applications should reach the secretary, Dr. J. G. Manners, Botany Department, The University, Southampton, not later than May 10.

The Department of Chemical Technology of the Bradford Institute of Technology is organizing a symposium on Co-ordination Compounds: their Chemistry and Applications during May 20–21. Further information can be obtained from Mr. G. J. Weston, Institute of Technology, Bradford.

An international colloquium on Sub-aquatic Medicine is to be held by the "Club Alpin Sous-Marin" at Cannes during June 15–19. Further information can be obtained from Dr. J. Ferrari, "Club Alpin Sous-Marin", 10 Place Commandant-Lamy, Cannes (A.-M.).

L'Association des Ingénieurs Electriciens sortis de l'Institut Electrotechnique Montefiore is to organize an international information day about nuclear energy in Liège on June 9. Further information can be obtained from Mr. A. Biron, the secretary of the Association, at 31 rue Saint-Gilles, Liège, Belgium.

The twenty-fourth congress of the International Association for the Protection of Industrial Property will be held in London during May 30-June 4, under the presidency of Sir John Hanbury-Williams, chairman of Courtaulds, Ltd. Further information can be obtained from the secretary of the Organizing Committee, H. C. Miller, 16 St. Martin's Le Grand, London, E.C.1.

A JOINT meeting of the Biochemical Society and the Société de Chimie Biologique in the Faculté de Pharmacie, Avenue de l'Observatoire, Paris 6<sup>e</sup>, during May 27–28, has been arranged. Further information can be obtained from Dr. W. J. Whelan, Lister Institute of Preventive Medicine, Chelsea Bridge Road, Chelsea, London, S.W.1.

W. H. FREEMAN AND Co., LTD., Hyde House, West Central Street, London, W.C.1, state that they are now the English publishers of Gilluly, Waters and Woodford "Principles of Geology" and of Sawyer "A Concrete Approach to Abstract Algebra", noted in *Nature* of April 2, pp. 57 and 69; the English prices are now 42s. and 7s. 6d., respectively.