analysis worked out not long before by von Post in Sweden. He gradually developed his own blend of the study of pollen, other plant remains and local ecology. He has now a considerable and well-equipped research school. Latterly their work on the more recent peats have been telling such consistent stories that his school have pushed their studies back into the Late Glacial and into the more extensive wilderness of the various Interglacials.

## Organic Chemistry in the University of New South Wales: Prof. S. J. Angyal

THE newly created chair of organic chemistry in the University of New South Wales (formerly the New South Wales University of Technology) has been filled by the appointment of Dr. S. J. Angyal, formerly associate professor in the University. Prof. Angyal was educated in Hungary and migrated to Australia at the beginning of the War. As lecturer in the University of Sydney, he carried out research In 1952, as Nuffield on the Sommelet reaction. Dominion Travelling Fellow, he spent a year in Sir Alexander Todd's laboratory in Cambridge. He was visiting professor in the University of California in Berkeley in 1957. In the following year he was awarded the H. G. Smith Memorial Medal by the Royal Australian Chemical Institute. Prof. Angyal takes great interest in stereochemistry, and has made important contributions to the chemistry of the inositols. At present he is engaged in work on the application of conformational analysis to carbohydrate chemistry.

## Radio Research in Britain: Dr. J. A. Saxton

Dr. J. A. Saxton has been appointed deputy director of the Radio Research Station, Slough (Department of Scientific and Industrial Research), in the grade of deputy chief scientific officer. This appointment is opportune, as he will serve for a period of six months under the present director, Dr. R. L. Smith-Rose, before the latter is succeeded by Mr. J. A. Ratcliffe on October 1 (see Nature, February 6, p. 353). Dr. Saxton joined the scientific staff of the Radio Division of the National Physical Laboratory in 1938, and has been responsible for carrying out a considerable programme of research in the propagation of very short radio waves over the ground and through the troposphere. He has studied the electrical properties of gases, water vapour, and water, at very high radio-frequencies, and applied the results to an understanding of the refraction of radio waves transmitted through the lower atmosphere. During 1945, and again in 1950, he was seconded to the United Kingdom Scientific Mission in Washington for liaison duties in radio physics and engineering; and he has made extensive visits in the United States and Canada in connexion with research in radio wave propagation and allied problems. He has been an official delegate of the United Kingdom at meetings of the International Scientific Radio Union (U.R.S.I.) and the International Radio Consultative Committee (C.C.I.R.) in London, Geneva, The Hague, Boulder (Colorado) and Los Angeles. Dr. Saxton has attended senior staff courses at the Administrative Staff College, Henley, and at Peterhouse College, Cambridge. For the past five years. he has been a senior principal scientific officer, and head of a division of the Radio Research Station, and so is well qualified and experienced for the new post of deputy director of the Station.

## Atoms for Peace Awards for 1959 and 1960

Drs. Leo Szilard, professor of biophysics in the University of Chicago, and Eugene P. Wigner. Thomas B. Jones professor of mathematical physics. Princeton University, are to share the 1959 Atoms for Peace Award; and Dr. Walter H. Zinn, formerly director of the Argonne National Laboratory, and now vice-president of Combustion Engineering, Inc., and Dr. Alvin M. Weinberg, director of the Oak Ridge National Laboratory, will share the 1960 Award. All have been active in the development of nuclear reactors. Each will receive a gold medallion and will share equally in the combined honorarium of 150,000 dollars. The Awards will be presented at a ceremony to be held at the National Academy of Sciences. Washington, D.C., on May 18. In making the announcement, Dr. James R. Killian, jun., chairman of the Trustees of Atoms for Peace Awards, said:

"The Trustees believe the development of the nuclear reactor is one of the great advances in man's capability for using atomic energy for peaceful purposes. It gives the world a new source of energy with which to meet the growing requirements of modern society for power to run its machines. As a source of radioisotopes, it is now providing science and industry with new possibilities in research and control, as well as with new products. The transformation of a highly complex, theoretical concept of 1939 to the multitude of reactors operating to-day in research and in commercial establishments is a major achievement of modern science and engineering. The men who are selected for recognition by this Award have been leaders in that transformation. Dr. Szilard and Dr. Wigner, both working in the area of nuclear physics, were early advocates of a concerted effort to study the possibilities of nuclear chain reactions. Their interest and concern resulted in the well-known letter of the late Albert Einstein to President Roosevelt which noted that "the element uranium may be turned into a new and important source of energy in the immediate future". These two men held an influential place in the work which resulted in the first nuclear chain reaction and in the subsequent applications of that significant development. Zinn and Dr. Weinberg participated in the early work and have continued to make important contributions in the field of reactor design and in the administration of research and development efforts in this area."

The Atoms for Peace Award was established as a memorial to Henry Ford and his son, Edsel, in response to President Eisenhower's 1955 appeal at Geneva for international efforts to develop nuclear energy for peaceful purposes. It is granted "solely on the basis of the merit of contribution, wherever found in the world and without regard for nationality or politics".

## Ballistic Missile Early Warning Station at Fylingdales Moor

The debate in the House of Commons on March 25 on Mr. T. Driberg's motion that to establish a ballistic missile early warning station on Fylingdales Moor is contrary to the spirit of the National Parks and Access to the Countryside Act, 1949, is chiefly of interest for the reply of the Under-Secretary of State for Air, Mr. W. J. Taylor. Mr. Driberg argued that unless the National Parks Commission was consulted in advance, consultation meant nothing, and he also alleged that some scientific opinion held that the station could not be equipped with a system of radar