plant tissues point in this direction^{2,4}. Accumulation of free salts would, of course, also occur in 'mitochondria' if the respiratory units are arranged in a monolayer coating the particles. Little is known, however, of true accumulation of salts in the 'free water' of protoplasts which do not contain vacuoles.

The investigations have been supported financially by the Swedish Research Councils of Natural Science and Agriculture.

- ¹ Lundegårdh, H., Protoplasma, 35, 548 (1941). Briggs, G. E., and Hope, A. B., J. Exp. Bot., 9, 365 (1958).
- Hope, A. B., J. Exp. Bot., 9, 365 (1958).
 (a) Lundegårdh, H., and Burström, H., Biochem. Z., 261, 235 (1933);
 277, 223 (1935); (b) Lundegårdh, H., Ann. Agric. Coll. (Uppsala),
 8, 233 (1940); Ark. f. Bot. (Stockholm), 32 A. No. 12 (1945);
 Ann. Agric. Coll. (Uppsala), 16, 339, 372 (1949). Physiologia Plantarum, 3, 103 (1950). "Encyclopedia of Plant Physiology" (Ruhland), 12, 2 (in the press) includes further literature.
 Robertson, R. N., Aust. J. Exp. Biol. and Med. Sci., 22, 237 (1944).

- ⁴ Lundegårdh, H., Physiologia Plantarum, 11, 332, 564, 585 (1958); 12, 336, 342 (1959).
- * Lundegårdh, H., Nature, 167, 71 (1951); 169, 1088 (1952); 171, 521 (1953); Ark. Kemi (Stockholm), 3, 69, 469 (1951); 5, 97 (1952); 7, 451 (1954).
- Bartley, W., and Davies, R. E., Biochem. J., 57, 37 (1954).
- ⁷ Lundegårdh, H., Endeavour, 18, 191 (1959).
- ⁸ Lundegårdh, H., Acta Chem. Scand., 10, 1083 (1956).
- Dixon, M., "Multi-Enzyme Systems" (1949). Neilands, J. B., Stumpf, P. K., and Stanier, R. Y., "Outlines of Enzyme Chemistry" (1955).
- ¹⁰ Lundegårdh, H., Biochim. Biophys. Acta, 27, 653 (1958); 35, 340
- 11 Lundegardh, H., Biochim, Biophys, Acta, 27, 355 (1958).
- Managasun, I., Boosem. Dupage. Ave., 21, 330 (1995).
 19 Robertson, R. N., Endeavour, 16, 193 (1957). Kling, H., Protoplasma, 49, 364 (1958).
- ¹³ Warburg, O., "Schwermetalle als Wirkungsgruppen von Fermenten" (1946).
- Lundegårdh, H., Nature, 171, 477 (1953). Butler, G. W., Physiologia Plantarum, 6, 594 (1953). Boeri, E., and Tosi, L., Arch. Biochem. Biophys., 52, 83 (1954).
- ¹⁵ Arnon, D. I., Allen, M. B., and Whatley, F. R., Biochim. Biophys. Acta, 20, 449 (1956). Arnon, D. I., Nature, 184, 10 (1959).

NEWS and VIEWS

New Year Honours List

THE following names of scientists and others associated with scientific work appear in the New Year Honours list ·

Baron: Sir George Nelson, chairman of the English Electric Co., Ltd.

Baronet: Sir James Paterson Ross, president of the Royal College of Surgeons of England.

K.C.M.G.: Sir Charles Blackburn, chancellor of the University of Sydney, for services to education and medicine; Dr. George A. Currie, vice-chancellor of the University of New Zealand; Sir Philip Morris, lately chairman of the Commonwealth Education Conference, vice-chancellor of the University of Bristol; Geoffrey W. Nye, adviser on agriculture to the Secretary of State for the Colonies.

Knights: Prof. Edward Ford, director of the School of Public Health and Tropical Medicine, University of Sydney; Dr. William H. Glanville, director of the Road Research Laboratory partment of Scientific and Industrial Research); Dr. John Hammond, formerly reader in agricultural phys-

iology in the University of Cambridge; William W. S. Johnston, of the State of Victoria, for his work for postgraduate education in medicine; Prof. Harrie S. W. Massey, Quain professor of physics, University College, London.

C.B.: M. I. Michaels, under-secretary, Office of the Minister for Science; R. N. Quirk, under-secretary, Office of the Minister for Science; R. H. Weir, director-general of engine research and development, Ministry of Aviation; Dr. H. F. Willis, chief of the Royal Naval Scientific Service.

C.M.G.: A. W. Knight, chief commissioner of the Hydro-Electric Commission, State of Tasmania; R. E. Stedman, under-secretary, Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food; C. W. Michie, permanent secretary, Ministry of Agriculture, Northern Region, Nigeria; S. E. Morris, secretary for native affairs and chief native commissioner, Southern Rhodesia; Dr. E. W. Russell, director of the East African Agriculture and Forestry Research Organization.

C.B.E.: Prof. S. Alstead, regius professor of materia medica and therapeutics, University of Glasgow; H. E. Bannister, assistant secretary, Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food; J. D. Clark, director of the Rhodes-Livingstone Museum, Northern Rhodesia; C. E. Clarke, principal actuary, Government Actuary's Department; Dr. T. F. Davey, senior specialist (leprologist), Eastern Region, Nigeria; L. J. Davies, director of research and education, British Thomson-Houston Co., Ltd.; J. Edwards, head of Production Division and scientific adviser, Milk Marketing Board; Dr. A. J. P. Martin, for services in the development of chromatographic analysis; Dr. D. C. Martin, assistant secretary of the

Royal Society; Dr. A. T. R. Mattick, lately deputy chief scientific officer, National Institute for Research in Dairying, Shinfield, Reading; T. B. Nicol, engineer-in-chief, Metropolitan Water, Sewerage Drainage and Board, New South Wales; H. T. Pledge, keeper in the Science Museum, South Kensington; W. T. Price, prin-

cipal of Harper Adams Agricultural College, Newport, Shropshire; H. T. Ramsay, director of the Safety in Mines Research Establishment, Ministry of Power; J. B. Randall, director of Veterinary Services and Animal Industry, Uganda; F. I. G. Rawlins, deputy keeper and scientific adviser, National Gallery; G. B. Ryle, director of forestry for England, Forestry Commission; Prof. R. W. Scarff, professor of pathology, University of London; V. C. Williams, of Griffith, New South Wales, for services to irrigation research.

Royal Society Vice-Presidents

The president of the Royal Society, Sir Cyril Hinshelwood, has appointed the following vicepresidents for the year ending November 30, 1960: Sir William Penney, treasurer of the Royal Society, member for scientific research, United Kingdom

From January 1960, issues of NATURE will be grouped into four volumes a year, instead of two as heretofore