the past ten years many new fields of current biochemical interest were tackled. Among these, important studies on diabetes, on membrane chemistry and on thermo-regulation in the warm-blooded animal must be mentioned.

It was a great satisfaction to Kögl himself that a problem started before 1930 was solved just before his final illness. This was the elucidation of the chemical structure of muscarin, the poisonous constituent of the fly-agaric (Amanita muscaria L.). The structure of muscarin had puzzled chemists for more than a century; Kögl and his associates concluded this chapter brilliantly by synthesizing the active compound.

Kögl was an inspired investigator and teacher. More than sixty doctoral theses are a lasting testimony of the School he founded. His death is a grievous loss to the University he served for almost thirty years. He is survived by his wife and two daughters. G. J. M. VAN DER KERK

# NEWS and VIEWS

# Royal Society: Officers for 1960

AT the anniversary meeting of the Royal Society, Sir Cyril Hinshelwood, Dr. Lee's professor of chemistry in the University of Oxford, was re-elected president. The other officers re-elected for the ensuing year were : Treasurer, Sir William Penney, member for scientific research, United Kingdom Atomic Energy Authority ; Biological Secretary, Sir Lindor Brown, Jodrell professor of physiology at University College, London; Physical Secretary, Sir William Hodge, Lowndean professor of astronomy and geometry in the University of Cambridge ; and Foreign Secretary, Dr. H. G. Thornton, lately head of the Department of Soil Microbiology at Rothamsted Experimental Station. Other members of Council elected were : Prof. J. F. Baker, professor of mechanical sciences, University of Cambridge; Dr. J. C. Burkill, University lecturer in mathematics, Cambridge; Prof. D. G. Catcheside, professor of microbiology, University of Birmingham; Prof. T. M. Harris, professor of botany, University of Reading; Prof. L. Hawkes, emeritus professor of geology, Bedford College, University of London; Prof. A. L. Hodgkin, Royal Society research professor; Sir Patrick Linstead, rector of the Imperial College of Science and Technology, London; Dr. R. A. Lyttleton, reader in theoretical astronomy, University of Cambridge ; Prof. H. S. W. Massey, Quain professor of physics at University College, University of London; Prof. R. A. Morton, Johnston professor of biochemistry, University of Liverpool; Sir Alfred Pugsley, professor of civil engineering, University of Bristol; Prof. R. J. Pumphrey, Derby professor of zoology, University of Liverpool; Prof. H. W. B. Skinner, Lyon Jones professor of physics, University of Liverpool; Prof. W. Smith, professor of bacteriology at University College Hospital Medical School, University of London; Dr. H. W. Thompson, university reader in infra-red spectroscopy, Oxford ; and Prof. J. Z. Young, professor of anatomy at University College, University of London.

## National Chemical Laboratory :

## Dr. D. D. Pratt, C.B.E.

AFTER thirty-four years as a member of the staff of the National Chemical Laboratory, Dr. D. D. Pratt retired from the post of director of the Laboratory on September 30, but in order to assist the new director, Dr. J. S. Anderson, he agreed to occupy the vacant post of assistant director for a period of two months. Born at Anstruther, Fifeshire, Dr. Pratt graduated at St. Andrews and received his postgraduate training both there and at Manchester under Prof. (now Sir) Robert Robinson. This period was interrupted by the First World War, throughout

which he served as an officer in the Highland Light Infantry. In November 1925, a few weeks after its opening, Dr. Pratt joined the Chemical Research Laboratory, being appointed to take charge of research on tars, particularly those from the low-temperature carbonization of coal; this work had several successful applications in industry. His ability was soon recognized by Dr. G. T. Morgan, who quickly promoted him until he was the senior officer under the director. When Morgan retired in 1938, Pratt was made officer-in-charge of the Laboratory for the six months which elapsed before Dr. G. S. Whitby became director. This was the first of several occasions when he was in charge under various titles, until finally he was appointed director in March 1951. His period in this office has been marked by considerable activity and expansion. The rapid increase in radiochemical work led to the creation of a separate laboratory for this purpose. The Microbiology Group was re-housed in a new building, while responsibility was also assumed for the National Collection of Industrial Bacteria. Under Dr. Pratt's leadership the Laboratory has grown in numbers, in size and in reputation. Its name has been changed to the National Chemical Laboratory, there has been some re-organization of the programme; but in spite of growth and change, Dr. Pratt succeeded in maintaining the friendly atmosphere which has always characterized the Laboratory. A friendly man himself, his numerous friends will join in wishing him many happy years of retirement.

## Prof. J. S. Anderson, F.R.S.

PROF. JOHN STUART ANDERSON, professor of inorganic and physical chemistry in the University of Melbourne, has been appointed director of the National Chemical Laboratory of the Department of Scientific and Industrial Research at Teddington, in succession to Dr. D. D. Pratt. Prof. Anderson, whose work in Great Britain and in Australia has placed him among the leading workers in the field of inorganic chemistry, is particularly well known for his contributions in the fields of solid-state chemistry and the chemistry of complex salts. He was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society in 1953. Prof. Anderson was born in London in 1908. He graduated with first-class honours in chemistry at the Imperial College of Science and Technology, London, in 1928. After three years postgraduate research under Prof. H. B. Baker, he went to Heidelberg for one year. In 1932 he joined the staff of the Chemistry Department at the Imperial College. Six years later Dr. Anderson was appointed senior lecturer in chemistry in the University of Melbourne.