Washington, D.C.: Smithsonian Institution, 1958) has collected a considerable amount of material in the course of various expeditions to the area between 1925 and 1948. This he presents in a straightforward manner, and although he has little acquaintance with anthropological literature he does at least lay two ghosts assiduously fostered by another missionary, the Rev. Torrance, who had claimed not only that the Ch'iang were monotheists but that they were also descended from one of the far-ranging tribes of ancient Israel. On the positive side, scholars will be grateful for the information on religious beliefs and practices, particularly the eye-witness account of the ceremonies in the sacred grove. As in many other parts of the world, these rituals provide some inclusive focus for the village as a whole, while the ancestral cult serves a similar function in respect of the constituent descent groups.

Australian Mammal Society

At the Australian and New Zealand Association for the Advancement of Science meeting in Adelaide, held during August 1958, it was decided to form an Australian Mammal Society, for the time being restricted to professional workers actively interested in indigenous Australian species. Members of the Society are made aware of the work and material requirements of fellow members and the interchange of material between members is encouraged. The inaugural meeting of the Society was held in the Department of Zoology, University of Western Australia. The following are the foundation members of the Society: J. H. Calaby, F. N. Ratcliffe (A. C. T.); Dr. A. Bolliger, Dr. R. G. Chittleborough, Prof. K. W. Cleland, W. H. Dawbin, Dr. A. G. Lyne, B. J. G. Marlow, E. Le G. Troughton (New South Wales); A. E. Newsome (Northern Territory); Dr. J. L. Harrison (Queensland); Phyllis Pilton, G. B. Sharman (South Australia); C. W. Brazennier M. McNally, J. A. Thompson (Victoria); Jennifer M. Barker, S. Barker, C. H. Tyndale-Biscoe, E. H. M. Feler, D. W. D. L. Bill. Ealey, Dr. W. D. L. Ride, Dr. J. W. Shield, G. M. Storr, Prof. H. Waring (Western Australia). The secretary-treasurer for 1958-59 is Mr. S. Barker, Department of Zoology, University of Western Australia.

Linnean Society of London: Officers

At the anniversary meeting of the Linnean Society of London the following were elected officers for the session 1959-60: President, Prof. C. F. A. Pantin; Treasurer, the Earl of Cranbrook; Secretaries, Dr. H. R. Hewer (zoology), Dr. C. R. Metcalfe (botany), Dr. John Smart (editorial). Prof. L. J. Audus, the Earl of Cranbrook, Mr. A. W. Exell, and Dr. H. G. Vevers were appointed vice-presidents. Mr. E. J. H. Corner, Dr. G. Owen Evans, Mr. C. C. Hentschel, Dr. A. Melderis and Mr. Wm. T. Stearn were elected new members of council. Linnean Gold Medals were presented to Prof. H. Munro Fox and Prof. Carl Skottsberg. Prof. Jean G. Baer was elected a foreign member and Mr. Warren R. Dawson an Associate honoris causa.

Ramsay Memorial Fellowships

THE Ramsay Memorial Fellowships Trustees have made the following awards of new fellowships in chemistry for 1959-60: a General Fellowship at the University of Aberdeen to Mr. P. J. T. Tait; a Canadian Fellowship to Mr. W. G. Paterson at the University of Oxford; a Japanese Fellowship to Mr. Toshinobu

Anno at the University of Oxford; a Netherlands Fellowship to Dr. H. C. Volger at the University of London (University College); Spanish Fellowships to Dr. Felisa Nuñez Cubero at the University of Nottingham; Mr. J. B. Callija at the University of Bristol; Swiss Fellowships to Dr. Otto Stamm at the University of London (Imperial College of Science Dr. Fritz Kneubühl at the nampton. The Trustees have and Technology); University of Southampton. renewed the General Fellowship to Mr. G. S. Laurence for work at the Atomic Energy Research Establishment at Harwell.

City of Paris Medal Awards

AT the recent International Conference on Information Processing held at Unesco House, medals of the City of Paris were awarded as follows: The Vermeil Medal to Prof. Howard H. Aiken (United States); Silver Medals to I. I. Basilewsky for Prof. Dimitri Panov (U.S.S.R.); Isaac L. Auerbach (United States); Maurice V. Wilkes (United Kingdom); Adriaan van Wijngaarden (Netherlands); Hideo Yamashita (Japan); Alwin Walther (German Federal Republic); Aldo Ghizzetti (Italy); Stig Comet (Sweden).

Announcements

SIR HUGH LINSTEAD has been appointed a member of the Medical Research Council in the place of the late Mr. Richard Foot, M.P.

Mr. Henry Edmunds, county advisory officer for Breconshire, has been appointed assistant agricultural and food attaché in Washington. He replaces Mr. O. G. Williams.

Dr. J. H. Piddington, of the Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organization (Australia) Division of Radiophysics, has received the T. K. Sidey (Summertime) Award, made each year by the Royal Society of New Zealand. The Award was given for his theoretical explanation of heating in the atmosphere of the Sun. He also received the David Syme Research Prize of the University of Melbourne recently for this work.

The following officers of the Institution of Electrical Engineers have been elected: *President*, Sir Willis Jackson; *Vice-Presidents*, G. S. C. Lucas, O. W. Humphreys; *Honorary Treasurer*, E. Leete.

THE Quality Control Group of the Textile Institute will officially come into being on November 10, when a conference on this subject will be held in Harrogate. Further information can be obtained from Mr. L. H. C. Tippett, British Cotton Industry Research Association, Didsbury, Manchester. The inaugural meeting and conference of the Physics Group of the Institute will be held in Buxton on October 8 and 9. Further information can be obtained from Dr. H. O. Pauls, British Nylon Spinners, Ltd., Pontypool.

BUTTERWORTHS SCIENTIFIC PUBLICATIONS, LTD., 4-5 Bell Yard, Temple Bar, London, W.C.2, announce that a new quarterly journal, Polymer: a Journal to Promote the Science of Large Molecules, is to appear in October. It has been founded to provide an international medium for the publication of original papers on the chemistry, physics and application of polymer research. The Advisory Editorial Board consists of: Dr. C. H. Bamford, Courtaulds, Ltd., Research Laboratory, Maidenhead; Prof. C. E. H. Bawn, University of Liverpool; Prof. Geoffrey Gee, University of Manchester; and Dr. Rowland Hill, research director, I.C.I. Fibres Division, Harrogate.