Porton, Wiltshire, distinguished for his work on aerosols and the pathogenesis of air-borne infections.

Dr. R. D. Keynes, lecturer in physiology in the University of Cambridge, distinguished for his work on ionic movements in nerve and muscle and on the origin of the discharge in electric fish.

PROF. R. J. W. LE FEVRE, professor of chemistry, and head of the School of Chemistry, in the University of Sydney, distinguished for his studies of the physical properties of organic compounds.

Dr. B. H. NEUMANN, reader in mathematics in the University of Manchester, distinguished for his contributions to the theory of groups.

Dr. S. R. Nockolds, reader in geochemistry in the University of Cambridge (Department of Mineralogy and Petrology), distinguished for his researches on the petrology and geochemistry of the igneous rocks.

PROF. W. C. PRICE, professor of physics in the University of London (King's College), distinguished for his contributions to chemical physics, especially to spectroscopy.

Prof. G. V. Raynor, Feeney professor of physical metallurgy and head of the Department of Physical Metallurgy in the University of Birmingham, distinguished for his research on the structure of metals and alloys.

Prof. O. W. Richards, professor of zoology and applied entomology in the University of London (Imperial College of Science and Technology), distinguished for his researches in entomology.

Dr. R. E. Richards, lecturer in chemistry in the University of Oxford (Physical Chemistry Labora-

tory), distinguished for his work on nuclear magnetic resonance and its application to chemical problems.

Prof. C. A. Rogers, Astor professor of mathematics in the University of London (University College), distinguished for his contributions to several branches of pure mathematics, particularly the geometry of numbers.

PROF. A. SALAM, professor of applied mathematics in the University of London (Imperial College of Science and Technology), distinguished for his contributions to the theory of elementary particles.

Dr. R. Spence, chief chemist and head of the Chemistry Division, Atomic Energy Research Establishment, Harwell, distinguished for his work on the chemistry of radioactive elements, and for his leadership of the Chemistry Division of Harwell.

Dr. J. F. Tair, Worcester Foundation, Shrewsbury, Massachusetts, U.S.A., distinguished for his work on the hormones of the suprarenal cortex.

MRS. S. A. S. TAIT, Worcester Foundation, Shrewsbury, Massachusetts, U.S.A., distinguished for her work on the hormones controlling the distribution of salts in the body.

DR. M. H. F. WILKINS, deputy director of the Medical Research Council Biophysical Research Unit, at the University of London (King's College), distinguished for his contributions to the development of reflexion and interference microscopy, and for his work on the structure of nucleic acids.

Prof. S. W. Wooldridge, professor of geography in the University of London (King's College), distinguished for his researches on the geomorphology of south-eastern England.

## NEWS and VIEWS

## The United Kingdom Atomic Energy Authority

THE organization of the United Kingdom Atomic Energy Authority is to be changed as from July 1. Hitherto the Authority has been made up of three groups: the Research Group, the Weapons Group and the Industrial Group. The Industrial Group, which has become too large for convenient management, will now be divided into two: the Development and Engineering Group; and the Production Group. At the same time, the full-time technical members of the Authority will again assume executive responsibility for particular Groups, in addition to their functional responsibilities and general duties as members of the Board. Sir William Cook, with the title of Member for Development and Engineering, will be executive head of the Development and Engineering Group and will, in addition, corresponding functional responsibilities throughout the Authority. Sir Leonard Owen will have the title of Member for Production (Designate) and will be the executive head of the Production Group. Sir William Penney, whose appointment to succeed Sir John Cockeroft as the Member for Scientific Research has already been announced, will in addition become the executive head of the Research Group, while retaining his functional responsibilities for scientific research throughout the Authority. The appointment of a successor to Sir William Penney

as Member for Weapons Research and Development will be announced later.

## New Appointments

The following appointments have been made in the Research Group of the United Kingdom Atomic Energy Authority:

Mr. D. W. Fry, deputy director of the Atomic Energy Research Establishment, Harwell, to be director of the Atomic Energy Establishment, Winfrith (Nature, 182, 1129; 1958).

Prof. F. A. Vick, professor of physics in the University College of North Staffordshire (Nature, 166, 54; 1950), to be deputy director of the Atomic Energy Research Establishment, Harwell. During 1950–54 Prof. Vick was acting-principal of the University College of North Staffordshire. He is a member of the University Grants Committee.

## National Research Development Corporation: Appointments

Mr. J. C. Duckworth has been appointed managing director of the National Research Development Corporation as from April 1 in succession to Lord Halsbury, who has been managing director since the formation of the Corporation in 1949 and is now going into industry. Mr. Duckworth, who is forty-two years old, took first-class honours in physics at