Institute of Oceanography, Dalhousie: Prof. Ronald Hayes

THE National Research Council of Canada has awarded an annual grant of 90,000 dollars to Dalhousie University, Halifax, Nova Scotia, for the establishment of an Institute of Oceanography. All branches of marine science will come under investigation, and opportunities for work at sea will be provided by the Royal Canadian Navy, the Fisheries Research Board of Canada and other agencies. Prof. F. R. Hayes, who has been appointed director of the Institute, took his doctorate under the late Prof. James Johnstone in the Department of Oceanography, University of Liverpool. As a post-doctoral fellow of the Rockefeller Foundation he worked at the Prussian Marine Station at Heligoland and the University of Kiel. He is at present chairman of the Division of Biological Sciences at Dalhousie University, and a member of the Fisheries Research Board and National Research Council of Canada.

Pressing problems of the Second World War brought a marked impetus to oceanography in Canada. Co-operation then established has continued under a Joint Committee on Oceanography with representatives of the Royal Canadian Navy, the Fisheries Research Board and the National Research Council, as well as Defence Research Board and the Hydrographic Service. Demands for expansion in the various fields brought to notice the lack of adequate provision for the training of recruits and for research unconnected with immediate economic aims. The Committee appealed to the National Research Council, and Dalhousie University proposed a programme of work, for which the present grant makes provision.

Staff appointments at Dalhousie will provide for research and teaching at graduate level in marine branches of biology, chemistry, geology, and physics. The oceanographic programme at Halifax is being expanded considerably. In 1958, the 177-ft. research vessel, A. T. Cameron, was brought into service. Built by the Fisheries Research Board, she has five laboratories, will accommodate nine scientists and carries a crew of 25. The Fisheries Research Board Atlantic oceanographic group, previously stationed at St. Andrews, New Brunswick, is moving to Halifax. The Naval Research Establishment has available a corvette, C.N.A.V. Sackville, and an algerine, C.N.A.V. New Liskard. It is anticipated that a second algerine will be assigned to research The Canadian hydrographic service has work. recently announced plans for a 4,200-ton research ship scheduled for completion in 1961. The vessel will carry a crew of 85 and scientific staff of 15-20. She will have ten laboratories and will carry two helicopters. The double hull will be reinforced for navigation in Arctic waters, and she will be fitted for all types of oceanographic research, including core-sampling of the bottom.

On the Pacific coast of Canada the University of British Columbia has operated an Institute of Oceanography for the past decade. A similar grant from the National Research Council will permit a very considerable expansion of the programme there also.

Appointments to National Research Council of Canada

THE following new members of the National Research Council of Canada have recently been appointed: Dr. F. R. Hayes, head of the department of zoology at Dalhousie University, Halifax; Dr. A. D. Misener, head of the department of physics, University of Western Ontario; Dr. J. Unrau, head of the department of plant science at the University of Alberta, Edmonton. The vacancies were created by the retirement of Dr. J. H. L. Johnstone, head of the department of physics and dean of graduate studies, Dalhousie University, and by the deaths of Dr. R. S. Jane, president of Shawinigan Chemicals Limited, and Dr. R. B. Miller, professor of zoology, University of Alberta.

Ciba Fellowships, 1959-60

THE Advisory Panel of the Ciba Fellowship Trust has awarded the following Fellowships for the academic year 1959–1960: Dr. M. H. Richmond (University of Cambridge and the Medical Research Council) to study at the University of Copenhagen (microbiology); Mr. V. P. Arya (University of Banaras and of London) to study at the Polytechnic, Zurich (chemistry of natural products); Mr. J. F. Counsell (University of Bristol) to study at the University of Göttingen (physics); Mr. G. L. Duncan (University of Aberdeen) to study at the University of Louvain (polymer chemistry); Mr. K. Jones (University of Sheffield) to study at the University of Heidelberg (organic chemistry); Mr. B. L. Mordike (University of Birmingham and of Cambridge) to study at the Max Planck Institute, Stuttgart (physical metallurgy).

Imperial College of Science and Technology: Fellowships

THE governing body of the Imperial College of Science and Technology, London, has made the following elections to Fellowship of the College : Sir Lewis Casson, former student of the City and Guilds College ; Sir Graham Cunningham, member of the governing body of the Imperial College ; Prof. A. Holmes, professor emeritus of geology in the University of Edinburgh, a former student of the Royal College of Science ; Sir Christopher Ingold, professor of chemistry, University College, London, former student and member of staff of the Imperial College ; Dr. L. B. Pfeil, director of the Development and Research Department of the Mond Nickel Company, former student of the Royal School of Mines ; Mr. R. McKinnon Wood, member of the governing body of the Imperial College.

Television Society Premiums

THE Television Society has awarded the following premiums, for outstanding papers read before the London meetings during 1957-58: The Wireless World Premium to Mr. B. Overton (Mullard Research Laboratories) for his paper on "Transistors in Television Receivers"; the E.M.I. Premium to Dr. R. Theile (Institut für Rundfunktechnik) for his paper on "Recent Investigations into the Operation of Image Orthicon Camera Tubes"; the Electronic Engineering Premium to Dr. J. C. Parr (formerly of Kelvin and Hughes, Ltd.) for his paper on "Some Aspects of Waveguide Technique"; the Pye Premium to Mr. L. J. Griffen (Kolster Brandes, Ltd.) for his paper on "Dressing Television : Cabinet Design"; the Mervyn Premium to Mr. K. H. Smith, (Siemens Edison Swan, Ltd.) for his paper on "Performance of Television Receiver Turret Tuners"; the Mullard Premium to Mr. J. Polonsky (Compagnie Générale de Telegraphie sans Fils) for his paper on "A French Portable Television Camera".