tion and Convention Premium (20 gns.) for the most outstanding paper read at the 1959 Convention and accepted for publication in the Proceedings. Further particulars of the regulations governing these awards can be obtained from Mr. W. Birtwistle, Honorary General Secretary, Institution of Electronics, 78 Shaw Road, Rochdale, Lancs.

Carlsberg-Wellcome Travelling Research Fellow-

APPLICATIONS are invited for the Carlsberg-Wellcome Travelling Research Fellowships, 1959-60, the object of which is to encourage co-operation, on an exchange basis, between Danish and British research workers in any branch of the natural sciences which has a bearing upon human and animal medicine. One fellowship annually is awarded to a candidate from the United Kingdom for a year's work in Denmark and one annually to a Danish candidate for a year's work in the United Kingdom. The stipend is in the range £800-£1,200 per annum (or the equivalent sums in Danish kroner), travelling and some incidental expenses being provided in addition. Tenure of the awards will start in September, 1959. Inquiries from candidates in the United Kingdom should be addressed to the Assistant Scientific Secretary of the Welcome Trust, 52, Queen Anne Street, London, W.1. Completed applications must be submitted before April 30.

Institute of Metals: Officers

THE following were recently elected to office on the Council of the Institute of Metals: President, G. L. Bailey (director, British Non-Ferrous Metals Research Association); Past-President, Lord Tedder (chancellor, University of Cambridge); Vice-Presidents, Prof. H. Ford (Imperial College of Science and Technology, London); E. H. Jones (joint managing director, Capper Pass and Son, Ltd., North Ferriby); and Prof. H. O'Neill (University College of Swansea, University of Wales); Honorary Treasurer, D. P. C. Neave (director, British-American Metals Co., Ltd., Capper Pass and Son, Ltd., James Bridge Copper Works, Ltd., and Wolverhampton Metal Co., Ltd.).

Society for Analytical Chemistry: Officers

THE following have been elected to office in the Society for Analytical Chemistry for the forthcoming year: President, R. C. Chirnside; Past Presidents serving on the Council, J. H. Hamence, D. W. Kent-Jones, J. R. Nicholls, K. A. Williams; Vice-Presidents, D. C. Garratt, Magnus A. Pyke, J. G. Sherratt; Honorary Treasurer, A. J. Amos; Honorary Secretary, R. E. Stuckey; Honorary Assistant Secretaries, L. Brealey (Programmes Secretary), S. A. Price.

University News:

THE following appointments to lectureships in The Queen's University of Belfast have been announced: Dr. A. H. Jarrett (applied mathematics); R. W. J. McCarroll (applied mathematics, digital computing); Dr. M. W. Roberts (physical chemistry); Dr. S. C. R. Dennis (engineering mathematics) matics); A. M. Arthurs (engineering mathematics); B. G. Leary (electrical engineering).

Bristol

A GRANT of £2,075 from the Department of Scientific and Industrial Research to the Department

of Physics for research in cosmic rays under Prof. C. F. Powell for the year ending July 31, 1960, has been received. The following have been promoted to senior lectureships from August 1, 1959: D. F. Gibbs (physics); Dr. R. J. Fitzpatrick (veterinary pharmacology).

Leeds

THE following appointments were recently made in the University of Leeds: Dr. A. Ralston, as temporary lecturer in the Department of Mathematics (Electronic Computing Laboratory); Dr. W. Rigby, as lecturer in the Department of Organic Chemistry; Dr. F. H. J. Cornish, as lecturer in applied mathe-

Sheffield

THE following appointments were recently made in the University of Sheffield: Mr. C. L. Kirk, to be lecturer in the Postgraduate Department of Applied Mechanics; and Mr. M. Cable, to be lecturer in glass technology.

Announcements

Dr. E. J. Solvay, of Brussels, has been appointed president of the Society of Chemical Industry in succession to Sir Robert Robinson, who will complete his term of office on July 10. Dr. Solvay is a direct descendant of the discoverer of the ammonia soda process which bears his name.

THE Langley Memorial Prize was founded by the friends of the late Dr. W. H. Langley, principal medical officer, Southern Nigeria, to commemorate his work and the services he rendered to Nigeria. The prize, of approximately £21, is open to officers, past and present, of the West African Medical Departments; it is awarded periodically for the best paper on one of the following subjects: (a) tropical medicine or surgery; (b) tropical hygiene and sanitation; (c) tropical entomology and parasitology. Entries for the award in 1959, consisting of either published or unpublished work, should be sent to the Dean, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, Keppel Street, Gower Street, London, W.C.1, not later than October 1.

APRIL 22 is the twenty-first anniversary of the foundation of the British Coal Utilization Research Association. To mark the occasion the Association is throwing its laboratories open to inspection during April 22-24. On April 22, which is to be a private members' day, the proceedings will be opened by the Rt. Hon. Lord Mills, Minister of Power. Further information can be obtained from the Assistant to the Director-General, B.C.U.R.A., Randalls Road. Leatherhead, Surrey.

THE Clay Minerals Group of the Mineralogical Society is holding a meeting on Clay Minerals and Industry in Sheffield on April 15 and 16. Further information can be obtained from Dr. R. M. S. Perrin, School of Agriculture, The University, Cambridge.

THE X-ray Analysis Group of the Institute of Physics is holding a conference on Clay Minerals and Biological Fibres in the School of Chemistry, University of Leeds, on April 17 and 18. Further information can be obtained from the honorary secretary of the Group, Dr. R. C. Gordon, Safety in Mines Research Establishment, Portobello Street, Sheffield 1.