participate in a seminar on "Modern Developments in Plant Physiology", which was held under the chairmanship of Prof. K. V. Thimann, professor of botany, Harvard University. At the seminar it was decided to constitute an Indian Society for Plant Physiology. The inaugural meeting of the Society was held on January 24 in the University of Allahabad. The constitution of the Society was adopted and the following officers were elected for 1958: President, Prof. P. Parija (Utkal University); Vice-Presidents, Shri Boshi Sen (Vivekananda Laboratory), Prof. Shri Ranjan (Allahabad University), Dr. J. C. Sengupta (Botanical Survey of India); Honorary Secretary, Dr. J. J. Chinoy (University of Delhi); Honorary Treasurer, Dr. K. K. Nanda (University of Delhi); Editor-in-Chief, Dr. R. D. Asana (Indian Agricultural Research Institute, New Delhi). Prof. K. V. Thimann (Harvard University), Prof. Kurt Mothes (University of Halle) and Prof. F. G. Gregory (Imperial College of Science and Technology, London) were unanimously elected honorary members of the Society. The Society intends to publish a journal called The Indian Journal of Plant Physiology.

## Challenger Society

A JOINT meeting of the Challenger Society and representatives from marine laboratories will be held at the Scottish Home Department, Marine Laboratory, Aberdeen, on July 1 and 2, when a number of papers will be read and discussed, on various topics in marine biology. Further information may be obtained from Dr. H. Wood, Marine Laboratory, P.O. Box No. 101, Victoria Road, Aberdeen, to whom all applications to attend should be addressed. The Committee of the Challenger Society has received a grant from the Development Commission Fund to assist in paying the expenses of certain oceanographers attending joint meetings arranged by the Society. Applications for grants for the above meeting are invited and should be sent to the Honorary Secretary, Challenger Society, National Institute of Oceanography, Wormley, Godalming, Surrey, before June 20, from whom further particulars are available.

The Challenger Society is prepared to make small grants for research in marine biology or oceanography at a recognized laboratory during the year June 1958—June 1959. Applications, accompanied by details of the proposed research, should reach the Honorary Secretary of the Society not later than June 28.

## University News: Birmingham

DR. D. V. HUBBLE, at present consultant physician to the Derbyshire Royal Infirmary, Derby City Hospital and the Derbyshire Hospital for Sick Children, has been appointed to the chair of pædiatrics and child health in the University of Birmingham, made vacant by the retirement of Prof. J. M. Smellie, from October 1. The title of reader in physical metallurgy has been conferred on Dr. R. W. Cahn, senior lecturer in physical metallurgy.

## Nottingham

The following appointments have recently been made in the University of Nottingham: Dr. J. D. Ivins, at present lecturer and acting head of the Department of Agriculture, to be professor of agriculture from September 1; Dr. K. W. H. Stevens, at present reader in theoretical physics, to be professor of theoretical physics; and Dr. F. A. Wells,

at present reader in applied economics, to be professor of industrial economics.

## Announcements

Dr. F. W. Went, formerly professor of plant physiology at the California Institute of Technology, has been appointed director of the Missouri Botanical Garden, St. Louis, and professor of botany at Washington University, from September 1.

Dr. And Mrs. J. B. Hersey, of the Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution, have been awarded the John A. Fleming Medal, of the American Institute of Geonomy and Natural Resources, "for outstanding accomplishment in science and human welfare". The John A. Fleming Medal, founded in 1955, is awarded annually by the American Institute of Geonomy and Natural Resources. The first award was to Dr. Fleming's daughter, who designed the medal, in 1956, at Washington, D.C. The second award, 1957, was to Dr. and Mrs. William Taylor Thom, jun., at Princeton, New Jersey. The third award is announced above, and the fourth, 1959, will be to Dr. and Mrs. Hugo Boyko, at Rehovot, Israel.

The following new officers were recently elected by the Physical Society for the year 1958-59: President, Mr. J. A. Ratcliffe; Vice-president (who has filled the office of President), Prof. N. F. Mott; Vice-presidents, Prof. R. W. Ditchburn and Mr. A. J. Philpot; Honorary Secretary, Mr. A. G. Peacock; Honorary Treasurer, Dr. D. A. Wright.

An International Symposium on Nuclear Electronics, organized by the Société des Radioélectriciens, will be held in Unesco House, Paris, during September 16–20. Further information can be obtained from Colloque International Électronique Nucléaire, 10 avenue Pierre-Larousse, Malakoff (Seine), France.

The Textile Institute is organizing a conference on the mechanical properties of textile materials, to be held at Gothenburg, Sweden, during September 4–8. An opportunity will also be afforded for those attending to visit Copenhagen on September 9, when there will be a lecture on quality control at the Federation of Danish Industries and a visit to C. Shous Fabriker A/S. Further details can be obtained from the Textile Institute, 10 Blackfriars Street, Manchester 3.

THE Third Symposium on Atmospheric Condensation Nuclei will be held in the Cavendish Laboratory, Cambridge, during July 16–18. The programme will include four scientific sessions, and it is hoped that the discussions will include the following topics: physics and chemistry of atmospheric aerosols, Aitken nuclei, freezing nuclei, physics of condensation, effect of radioactive fall-out on potential gradient, aspects of atmospheric electricity related to condensation nuclei. Accommodation for men has been reserved in Sidney Sussex College, but ladies, and gentlemen accompanied by their wives, should make arrangements individually to stay in hotels. Offers of papers for the Symposium and requests for further information may be addressed to Dr. T. W. Wormell, Cavendish Laboratory, Cambridge.

ERRATUM. In the communication entitled "A New Transaminase of Corynebacterium diphtheriae" by M. Bagdasarian in Nature of May 17, p. 1399, the headings on the chromatograms should be interchanged. Spots c are better described as 'markers'.