four sections: maritime; air; land; and postal and telecommunications. This year the prize will be awarded for land communications. Nominations must be received by Prof. Antonio A. Copocaccia, Faculty of Engineering, University of Genoa, Via Montallegro 1, Genoa, before June 30.

Royal Institution

THE annual meeting of the members of the Royal Institution was held on May 1, with Lord Brabazon, president, in the chair. The following officers were elected: *President*, Lord Brabazon of Tara; *Treasurer*, Mr. W. E. Schall; *Secretary*, Sir Harold Spencer Jones. *Managers*, Dr. T. E. Allibone, Dr. H. D. Anthony, Mr. E. R. Davies, Sir Alfred Egerton, Dr. A. G. Gaydon, Prof. A. Haddow, Dr. H. Heywood, Brig. H. E. Hopthrow, Mr. E. Ironmonger, Mr. L. B. W. Jolley, Mr. James Lawrie, Dr. H. Lowery, Mr. J. A. Oriel, Mr. H. P. Rooksby and Mr. P. H. Schwarzschild. *Visitors*, Dr. F. H. Cotton, Sir Graham Cunningham, Prof. H. Dingle, Mr. A. J. Haselfoot, Miss E. H. Jebens, Mr. S. Rees Jones, Mr. W. C. Lister, Miss C. M. McDowell, Mrs. J. E. Milton, Mr. F. A. Mitchell, Mr. O. Parr, Mr. Neville Shepherd, Miss Daphne Sidebottom, Dr. P. C. Spensley and Dr. Norman Stuart.

Membership of the Nature Conservancy

THE Committee of Privy Council for Nature Conservation has appointed the following as members of the Nature Conservancy: Mr. A. Blenkinsop, M.P., Lt.-Col. C. M. Floyd, Major J. C. Morrison, M.P., and Dr. L. Dudley Stamp. The vacancies have arisen through the retirement of Mr. Geoffrey de Freitas, M.P., Sir W. Wavell Wakefield, M.P., Sir William Taylor (who remains a member of the Scientific Policy Committee and the Committee for England) and Capt. C. Diver (who also remains a member of the Scientific Policy Committee and the Committee for England). Mr. Michael Noble, Mr. A. R. Wannop and Prof. C. M. Yonge have joined the Scottish Committee, Dr. F. Fraser Darling and Dr. C. B. Williams having retired this year and Dr. E. Wyllie Fenton having resigned earlier. Prof. N. A. Burges and Dr. A. S. Watt have joined the Committee for England in succession to Prof. W. H. Pearsall and the late Lt.-Col. E. B. Buxton. On the Committee for Wales, Prof. W. G. V. Balchin and Mrs. I. M. Vaughan fill the vacancies arising from the retirement of Mr. L. J. Watson (who is now an observer on this Committee) and Mr. W. M. Condry.

Geological Society: Officers for 1958

AT the recent annual general meeting of the Geological Society of London, the following officers and council for the ensuing year were elected : *President*, Dr. C. J. Stubblefield ; *Vice-Presidents*, Prof. L. Hawkes, Dr. W. Campbell Smith, Dr. F. M. Trotter, Dr. E. I. White ; *Secretaries*, Mr. A. J. Butler and Mr. J. M. Edmonds ; *Foreign Secretary*, Prof. O. T. Jones ; *Treasurer*, Mr. P. Evans ; *Council*, Dr. A. Allison, Prof. J. G. C. Anderson, Mr. A. J. Butler, Mr. J. M. Edmonds, Mr. P. Evans, Prof. T. Neville George, Prof. W. D. Gill, Mr. W. B. Harland, Prof. L. Hawkes, Mr. N. F. Hughes, Prof. O. T. Jones, Dr. W. S. McKerrow, Mr. T. C. Nicholas, Sir William Pugh, Prof. H. H. Read, Dr. P. A. Sabine, Prof. R. M. Shackleton, Dr. S. H. Shaw, Dr. W. Campbell Smith, Dr. C. J. Stubblefield, Dr. F. M. Trotter, Dr. E. I. White and Dr. G. Wilson.

Announcements

THE following have recently been elected to honorary fellowship of the Chemical Society : Prof. O. Hassel (Oslo), Dr. G. B. Kistiakowski (Harvard), Prof. Wolfgang Pauli (Zurich) and Dr. E. W. R. Steacie (Ottawa).

THE Moulton Medal of the Institution of Chemical Engineers has been awarded to W. D. Armstrong, H. H. Rosenbrock and W. L. Wilkinson for their paper published in the *Transactions* of the Institute and entitled, "An Investigation of the Transient Response of a Distillation Column, Parts 1 and 2". The Junior Moulton Medal for 1957 has been awarded to Dr. D. Train for his paper on "Transmission of Forces through a Powder Mass during the Process of Pelleting".

PROF. P. H. GREGORY, head of the Department of Botany, Imperial College of Science and Technology since 1954 (*Nature*, 172, 838; 1953), has been appointed head of the Department of Plant Pathology, Rothamsted Experimental Station, in succession to Mr. F. C. Bawden, who has been appointed director of the Station (*Nature*, 181, 158; 1958).

THE Development Commissioners give notice that, in association with the Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food and the Scottish Home Department, they will award postgraduate training grants in fishery research tenable from October 1, 1958. These grants are intended to enable selected candidates to undergo a specified course of training to fit them for the investigation of problems in marine or freshwater science. Candidates must be nominated by a senior member of a university department. Provisional applications will be accepted from candidates who have not yet sat their final examination or who have not yet set their final examination or who have not yet been informed of the result. Forms of application, returnable by May 20, can be obtained from The Secretary, Development Commission, 3 Dean's Yard, Westminster, London, S.W.1.

A ONE-DAY meeting, organized jointly by the Scientific and Technical Group of the Royal Photographic Society and the Electron Microscopy Group of the Institute of Physics, on "Photographic Aspects of Electron Microscopy", will be held in the Arts School Theatre, Bene't Street, Cambridge, on May 30. Further information can be obtained from Mr. R. E. Withrington, Ilford Limited, Ilford, Essex.

For the seventeenth meeting of the European Federation of Chemical Engineering there will be a joint symposium on "The Organization of Chemical Engineering Projects" at Olympia, London, during June 24-26. This is also the occasion of the Chemical and Petroleum Engineering Exhibition, which will be held at Olympia during June 18-28. Further information can be obtained from the General Secretary, The Institution of Chemical Engineers, 16 Belgrave Square, London, S.W.1.

A LECTURE-DEMONSTRATION course on clinical biochemistry, organized by the Association of Clinical Biochemists, will be held in Birmingham during July 7-11. The course is intended for those having some postgraduate experience in clinical biochemistry. It will be of particular interest to those intending to take a higher qualification in the subject. Further information can be obtained from Mr. T. P. Whitehead, Group Pathological Laboratory, Lakin Road, Warwick.