Geological Society of London: Awards for 1957

THE Council of the Geological Society of London has made the following awards for 1957: Wollaston Medal to Prof. Paul Fourmarier, the doyen of Belgian geologists, distinguished for his researches on rock structure, on the Belgian coalfields and on the economic geology of the Belgian Congo; Murchison Medal to Mr. H. G. Dines for his services to economic geology, particularly in reference to the metalliferous orefield of Cornwall and Devon; Lyell Medal to Dr. S. H. Straw, distinguished for his researches on the fauna and stratigraphy of the Silurian rocks and as a teacher of palæontology; Bigsby Medal to Prof. H. B. Whittington for his contributions to the knowledge of the trilobite fauna of the Lower Palæozoic rocks of Britain and North America; Prestwich Medal to Prof. J. K. Charlesworth in recognition of the value of his researches in the glaciation of the British Isles and on his memoir on the Quaternary Era recently completed; Wollaston Fund to Dr. J. R. Earp for his work on the Upper Silurian rocks of Wales and the Carboniferous rocks of north-west England; Murchison Fund to Mr. J. W. Pallister for his contributions to geological knowledge in the field of mineral and oil exploration and of government geological survey work in Uganda; moiety of the Lyell Fund to Prof. F. H. T. Rhodes for his authoritative work on the conodont faunas of the Carboniferous and Lower Palæozoic, and in recognition of his direction of research on a variety of topics both stratigraphical and palæontological, with special emphasis on palæoecology; another moiety of the Lyell Fund to Dr. T. Barnard in recognition of his work particularly in the field of Jurassic and Cretaceous micropalæontology.

Fuel Research in Great Britain:

Dr. A. Parker, C.B.E.

Dr. Albert Parker retired from the post of director of fuel research in the Department of Scientific and Industrial Research on December 31. After postgraduate research at the University of Manchester on the combustion and detonation of gases and their specific heats at high temperatures, he was appointed lecturer in physical chemistry at the University of Birmingham. This was followed by large-scale investigations for the Institution of Gas Engineers and the University of Leeds on carbonization, water-gas manufacture and the disposal of gas liquor effluents. In 1928 Dr. Parker joined the Department of Scientific and Industrial Research as assistant director of water pollution research, and later became director. Important surveys were made of pollution in the River Tees and the Mersey estuary. In 1943 he was appointed director of fuel research and did much to improve efficiency in the use of fuel both in industry and in the home, and to abate atmospheric pollution. He was an acknowledged expert on the world's fuel resources, and his leadership and energy were invaluable in post-War reconstruction. Among Dr. Parker's many honours were the appointment as C.B.E. in 1946, the Osborne Reynolds Medal of the Institution of Chemical Engineers and the Telford Premium of the Institution of Civil Engineers. He was Thomas Hawksley lecturer of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers and Melchett lecturer of the Institute of Fuel and he received the Reginald Mitchell Memorial Gold Medal of the Stoke-on-Trent Association of Engineers. Dr. Parker has played an active part in many professional societies; he has been honorary secretary of the British National Committee of the World Power Conference, chairman of the Council of the Royal Society of Health and has been elected an honorary fellow of the American Public Health Association.

Dr. A. C. Monkhouse, at present deputy director of fuel research, has been appointed acting director following Dr. Parker's retirement.

Royal Society and Nuffield Foundation Awards

AWARDS under the Royal Society and Nuffield Foundation Commonwealth Bursaries Scheme are announced as follows: Dr. S. Basu, reader in chemistry, University of Calcutta, to study the application of quantum mechanics to the solution of problems of chemical reactivity, at Oxford from February to July 1957; Dr. E. A. Boulter, member of the staff of the Microbiological Research Establishment, Porton, Wiltshire, to study the pox viruses and the virus of myxomatosis, at the Australian National University, Canberra, from March to July 1957; Dr. J. R. Clarke, university demonstrator (animal physiology) in the Department of Agriculture, Oxford, to study the cytology of the pituitary gland during the reproductive cycle in domesticated animals, at the Medical School, Dunedin, for a year from August 1957; Dr. D. W. J. Cruickshank, lecturer in mathematical chemistry, University of Leeds, to study theoretical aspects of the application of spectroscopic methods to the determination of molecular structures and, particularly, of very accurate molecular dimensions, at the National Research Council of Canada, Ottawa, for about three months from March 1957; Dr. H. J. Heinz, head of the Department of Parasitology of the South African Institute for Medical Research, Johannesburg, to enable him to travel overland to Nigeria in order to study ancylostomiasis in West Africa, commencing in December 1956 and staying about six weeks in Nigeria; Dr. V. R. Rao, reader in physics, Andhra University, India, to study spectroscopic techniques in cytology at King's College, London, for three months from April 1957; Mr. F. H. Sagar, senior lecturer in physics, University College, Auckland, to enable him to observe new acoustic techniques at the Imperial College of Science and Technology, London, and elsewhere in the United Kingdom, for about four months from December 1956; Dr. E. den Tex, senior lecturer in geology, University of Melbourne, to study research techniques and teaching methods in structural geology and petrology, with special reference to petrofabric analysis, at several centres in the United Kingdom, in March and April 1957; Prof. F. Walker, professor of mineralogy and geology, University of Cape Town (professor of geology, Queen's College, Dundee, from January 1, 1957), to study magnetism and differentiation of dolerite sills in Canberra and Tasmania, for about three months from June 1957; Dr. J. H. Warcup, senior lecturer in microbiology, the Waite Institute, Adelaide, to study the ecology of soil micro-organisms in agricultural systems, at Cambridge from October 1957 to July 1958; Dr. J. M. de Wet, senior lecturer in mathematics and applied mathematics, Potchefstroom University, to carry out research in statistics at the London School of Economics from December 1956 to July 1957; Mr. J. H. Willis, member of the staff of the National Herbarium of Victoria, Australia, to enable him, among other matters, to study herbarium technique and the trends of modern systematic botany at the Royal Botanic Gardens,