and usefulness". He was a founder of the National Association of Science Writers.

In 1954 Dr. Kaempffert received the Kalinga Prize of 2,800 dollars, having been nominated for the award by the British Association of Science Writers. The same year the *New York Times* received a special award accepted by Dr. Kaempffert from the Albert and Mary Lasker Foundation, and last June he was made a Fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers. The degree of D.Sc. was conferred upon him by the Clarkson Polytechnic Institute in 1939.

NEWS and VIEWS

New Year Honours List

THE following names of scientific men and others associated with scientific work appear in the New Year Honours List:

O.M.: Sir John Cockcroft, director of the Atomic Energy Research Establishment, Harwell.

G.C.V.O.: Sir Harold Hartley.

K.C.M.G.: Sir Stanley Angwin, chairman of the Commonwealth Telecommunications Board, formerly chairman of Cable and Wireless, Ltd.

K.B.E.: Sir Christopher Hinton, member of the board of the U.K. Atomic Energy Authority; Arthur R. Manktelow, deputy secretary, Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food; Sir Alexander Carr-Saunders, for services as director of the London School of Economics.

D.B.E.: Dr. Janet M. Vaughan (Mrs. Gourlay), principal of Somerville College, Oxford.

Knights : Dr. David S. Anderson, director of the Royal College of Science and Technology, Glasgow; Prof. George L. Brown, Jodrell professor of physiology, University College, London; Josiah Eccles, deputy chairman (operations) of the Central Electricity Authority; Herbert J. G. Griffin, secretary of the Council for the Preservation of Rural England; Prof. Leslie H. Martin, professor of physics, University of Melbourne, defence scientific adviser to the Government of the Commonwealth of Australia; Prof. Mark L. Mitchell, professor of biochemistry and deputy vice-chancellor, University of Adelaide; William L. Owen, director of engineering, In-dustrial Group, U.K. Atomic Energy Authority; Prof. George W. Paton, vice-chancellor of the University of Melbourne; Dr. Charles P. Snow, commissioner and scientific adviser, Civil Service Commission; James M. Wordie, master of St. John's College, Cambridge, for services to polar exploration.

C.B.: Dr. B. K. Blount, deputy secretary, Department of Scientific and Industrial Research; L. G. Davidson, deputy secretary, Department of Agriculture for Scotland; Sir Henry Beresford-Peirse, Bart., deputy director-general, Forestry Commission; Dr. R. H. Purcell, chief scientific adviser, Home Office.

C.M.G.: R. J. Halsey, assistant engineer-in-chief, General Post Office; R. M. Bere, director and chief warden, Uganda National Park; B. de Bunsen, principal, University College of East Africa, Makerere; G. McM. Roddan, deputy agricultural adviser to the Secretary of State for the Colonies, lately director of agriculture, Kenya; J. T. Saunders, lately principal, University College, Ibadan, Nigeria; Prof. Dr. Kaempffert's wife, the former Carolyn Lydia Yeaton, died in 1933.

At services for Dr. Kaempffert at the West End Collegiate Church, the Rev. Dr. Edgar Franklin Romig said: "We call to mind his sensitive awareness of all that life holds—of Nature, with the mystery of its sights, sounds and colours; of art, in its myriad forms and expressions; of music, into whose secrets he entered with creative enthusiasm; and particularly of science, which for him was not only a commanding interest, but a cause to be championed, a means of grace to humanity". WATSON DAVIS

E. W. Titterton, professor of nuclear physics, Australian National University, Canberra.

C.B.E. : B. Ashmole, lately keeper of the Department of Greek and Roman Antiquities, British Museum; A. Barclay, keeper in the Science Museum; P. L. Bazeley, director of the Commonwealth Serum Laboratories, Australia; W. G. Beaton, director of the Inter-African Bureau of Epizootic Diseases, East Africa; Dr. C. M. Cawley, deputy chief scientific officer, Department of Scientific and Industrial Research; Prof. J. K. Charlesworth, emeritus professor of geology in Queen's University, Belfast, for public services in Northern Ireland; Dr. A. T. Green, director of research, British Ceramic Research Association; G. W. L. Harding, lately director of antiquities, Jordan; O. W. Humphreys, director, General Electric Company Research Laboratories; Prof. R. E. Lane, member of the Industrial Health Advisory Committee; P. Lloyd, deputy director (research and development), National Gas Turbine Establishment, Farnborough, Hants; Dr. J. F. Loutit, director of the Radiological Research Unit, Atomic Energy Research Establishment, Harwell; Prof. W. V. Mayneord, professor of physics (applied to medicine), University of London; Colonel R. Meinertzhagen, for services to ornithology; P. K. B. Reynolds, chief inspector of ancient monuments, Ministry of Works ; Dr. R. H. Stoy, H.M. Astronomer, Royal Observatory, Cape of Good Hope; D. J. Turner, assistant secretary, Ministry of Fuel and Power; C. H. B. Williams, director of agriculture, Trinidad.

American Society for Applied Spectroscopy Award: Mr. Frank Twyman, F.R.S.

MR. FRANK TWYMAN has been awarded the Annual Medal of the American Society for Applied Spectroscopy "for his long and devoted service to applied spectroscopy, and in recognition of his profoundly important contributions to instrumentation in this field". In 1898, at the age of twenty-two, Mr. Twyman was engaged by Mr. Otto Hilger, who was carrying on the small, but world-famous, scientific workshop founded by his brother, Adam Hilger. There, in 1908, Mr. Twyman adapted a thermopile and rocksalt optical train to the constant deviation spectrometer and thus produced the first commercially available instrument operating in the infra-red region. During the First World War he took part in the development of the Twyman-Green interferometer, for which he was awarded the John Price Wetherell Medal of the Franklin Institute, and the Duddell Medal of the Physical Society of London. Mr. Twyman was elected to fellowship of the Royal Society in 1924, and he was president of the Society