Dr. A. I. Richards, formerly director, East African Institute of Social Research, Makerere College, Uganda (changes in the political system of the Bemba of North Eastern Rhodesia, 1935–55); Dr. E. G. Richardson, reader in physics, University of Durham (propagation of sound in a turbulent medium); R. A. Skelton, superintendent of Map Room, British Museum (foundation and early history of the Ordnance Survey, 1782-1825). Research Grants: Dr. R. F. Barrow, Fellow of Exeter College, Oxford (spectroscopy of simple molecules); A. R. Bailey, Turner and Newall Research Fellow, Imperial College, London (intercrystalline cracking and failure of hightensile brass); P. R. Bell, lecturer in botany, University College, London (phylogeny and morphology of the ferns of tropical mountains); Prof. F. Debenham, emeritus professor of geography, University of Cambridge (the Admiralty and the Arctic in the nineteenth century); Lady Drower (a dictionary of the Mandaic language); Dr. K. A. Kermack, lecturer in biological statistics, University College, London (American mesozoic mammals); A. D. Rees, director of extra-mural studies, University College, Aberystwyth (an examination of some of the more important branches of Celtic mythology); H. Thomas, assistant buildings officer, University of Manchester (application of architectural acoustics to the design and construction of schools for the deaf); Prof. D. Williams, professor of Welsh history, University College, Aberystwyth (Benjamin Franklin's circle in London). Further information about the awards can be obtained from the Secretary, Leverhulme Research Awards, St. Bridget's House, Bridewell Place, London, E.C.4.

Royal Aeronautical Society

HONORARY fellowship of the Royal Aeronautical Society has been conferred on Sir Roy Dobson and Dr. Hugh L. Dryden. The following awards have been made by the Society: British Gold Medal for Aeronautics, to the late Mr. Joseph Smith for his outstanding practical achievements in the design and development of military aircraft; British Silver Medal for Aeronautics, to Mr. J. Fenwick for his contributions to the development of air-traffic control systems; The Society's Gold Medal, to Sir William Farren for his outstanding contributions to aeronautical research and development (this is the Society's highest honour for work in aeronautics); The Society's Silver Medal, to Dr. E. S. Moult for his outstanding contributions to aeronautical engineering and, in particular, for his work in the design of aircraft engines; The Society's Bronze Medal, to Mr. J. W. Barnes for his contributions in the field of aircraft instruments; Wakefield Gold Medal, to Group Captain W. K. Stewart for his contributions to the design and development of aero-medical equipment; George Taylor (Australia) Gold Medal, to Mr. R. H. Woodall for his paper on some trends in the development of aircraft electrical and starting systems; Simms Gold Medal, to Mr. K. V. Diprose for his paper on analogue computing in aeronautics; R. P. Alston Memorial Prize, to Mr. D. P. Davies for his practical achievement in the flight testing of prototype civil aircraft; Edward Busk Memorial Prize, to Mr. L. E. Fraenkel for his paper on the unsteady motion of a slender body through a compressible fluid; Herbert Akroyd Stuart Memorial Prize, to Mr. O. N. Lawrence for his paper on fuel systems for gas-turbine engines; Usborne Memorial Prize, to Dr. G. N. Lance for his paper on the lift

of twisted and cambered wings in supersonic flow; Orville Wright Prize, to Mr. K. W. Gunn for his paper on the effect of yielding on the fatigue properties of test pieces containing stress concentrations; Branch Prize, to Mr. W. Tye for his paper on the outlook on airframe fatigue (second Barnwell Memorial Lecture); Royal Aeronautical Society Navigation Prize, to Mr. John Grierson for his paper on the evolution of Arctic airways; Pilcher Memorial Prize, to Mr. H. Caplan for his paper on the investigation of aircraft accidents and incidents.

Iron and Steel Institute

THE following awards have been made by the Iron and Steel Institute: Bessemer Gold Medal for 1956, to Dr. C. Sykes (Thos. Firth and John Brown, Ltd.) in recognition of his distinguished contribution to the study of alloy systems, particularly in the field of order-disorder changes and the effect of such changes on the physical properties of alloys; Sir Robert Hadfield Medal for 1956, to Mr. H. Morrogh (British Cast Iron Research Association) in recognition of his distinguished contribution to the study of the metallography of cast iron and for researches which resulted in the discovery of nodular iron and the improvement in the quality of cast iron; Additional Williams Prize for 1954, jointly to Mr. F. A. Gray and to Mr. S. A. Brooks (Appleby-Frodingham Steel Co., Ltd.) for their paper on an investigation of re-heating furnace design and performance; Williams Prizes for 1955, to Mr. A. J. Kesterton (Steel Company of Wales, Ltd.) for his paper on some starting and operating experiences at Abbey melting shop, and to Mr. R. Wilcock (Samuel Fox and Co., Ltd.), for his paper on the operation of a 60-ton arc furnace at Samuel Fox and Co., Ltd.; Ablett Prizes for 1955, to Mr. W. Ernest (Samuel Fox and Co., Ltd.) for his paper on waste heat recovery related to the generation of electric power; to Mr. S. R. Phelps (Guest Keen and Nettlefolds, Ltd.) for his paper on electrical requirements of flying shears for bars and billets; and to Mr. R. Stewartson (Guest Keen and Nettlefolds, Ltd.) for his paper on the mechanical design features of flying shears for bars and billets.

Royal Australian Chemical Institute

The following awards have been made by the Royal Australian Chemical Institute: *H. G. Smith Memorial Medal*, 1955, to Prof. R. S. Nyholm, professor of chemistry, University College, London, for his work in inorganic chemistry; *Rennie Memorial Medal*, to Dr. D. R. Stranks, assistant lecturer in radiochemistry, University of Leeds (this Medal is awarded to an Australian chemist less than thirty-one years of age for papers published during the past ten years); *Masson Memorial Scholarship*, 1956, to G. C. Morris, of the University of Sydney, now studying for his M.Sc.

Nuclear Power

The first number of the new journal by Rowse-Muir Publications, Ltd., Nuclear Power (1, 1; May 1956; single copy 3s. 6d., annual subscription £2 2s.), has now been published. This journal, designed to "further the development of atomic energy and nuclear techniques for peaceful purposes and in particular to credit British achievements", has an editorial panel of distinguished scientists from British universities and from the U.K. Atomic Energy Authority. Subjects covered in this first number include the methods and plants used for the