A paper presented by Prof. K. F. Bowden in an oceanographical symposium is also appropriate to this account. He has made measurements, in collaboration with Mr. L. A. Fairbairn, of fluctuations of the three components of current in tidal streams in the Irish Sea using an electrode flowmeter designed at the National Institute of Oceanography. The meter is complicated but seems quite suitable for recording fluctuations in current; the velocity of the mean current is not recorded. Prof. Bowden gave a good deal of information about the correlations of the fluctuating currents, and it was clear that much valuable work remains to be published.

H. CHARNOCK

Quart. J.R. Met. Soc., 75, 28 (1949).
Quart. J.R. Met. Soc., 78, 563 (1952).
Quart. J.R. Met. Soc., 81, 403 (1955).

NEWS and VIEWS

New Year Honours List

THE following names of scientists and others associated with scientific work appear in the New Year Honours List:

Baronet: Sir Hubert Houldsworth, chairman of the National Coal Board.

K.C.B.: Sir Frederick Brundrett, chairman of the Defence Research Policy Committee and scientific adviser to the Minister of Defence.

K.B.E.: Alexander Glen, secretary, Department of Agriculture for Scotland.

D.B.E.: Prof. Kathleen Lonsdale, professor of chemistry and head of the Department of Crystallography, University College, London.

Knights: Dr. Eric Ashby, president and vicechancellor of The Queen's University, Belfast; Dr. Ralph G. Hawtrey, president during 1946-48 of the Royal Economic Society, for services to the study of economics; Dr. Joseph Burtt Hutchinson, director of the Empire Cotton Growing Corporation's Cotton Research Station, Namulonge, Uganda; Dr. Eric J. F. James, high master, Manchester Grammar School; Walter Mercer, professor of orthopædic surgery, University of Edinburgh, president of the Royal College of Surgeons, Edinburgh; Prof. Alfred G. Pugsley, professor of civil engineering, University of Bristol; Prof. Samuel McM. Wadham, professor of agriculture, University of Birmingham, deputy chairman of the Advisory Council on Scientific Policy.

C.B.: Dr. W. Cawood, principal director of scientific research (air), Ministry of Supply; W. C. M. Couch, deputy director of electrical engineering, Admiralty; H. Hardman, deputy secretary, Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food; W. J. Richards, director of the Radar Research Establishment, Ministry of Supply.

C.M.G.: J. A. Beckett, assistant secretary, Ministry of Fuel and Power; F. S. Collier, forestry adviser to the Secretary of State for the Colonies; Prof. S. H. Roberts, vice-chancellor of the University of Sydney; Dr. J. A. Venn, president of Queens' College, Cambridge, lately chairman of the Colonial Studies Committee.

C.B.E.: Prof. C. E. H. Bawn, Grant-Brunner professor of inorganic and physical chemistry, University of Liverpool; W. H. Cashmore, director of the National Institute of Agricultural Engineering, Silsoe, Bedfordshire; S. H. Clarke, director of the Fire Research Station, Department of Scientific and Industrial Research; H. V. Disney, chief engineer, Industrial Group Headquarters, Risley, United Kingdom Atomic Energy Authority; Dr. A. T. Doodson, director of the Liverpool Observatory and Tidal Institute; Prof. W. P. Evans, professor of chemistry, Canterbury University College; R. Graham, director of aircraft research and development, Ministry of Supply; H. V. Hayes, director of air technical publications, Ministry of Supply; W. E. Hiley, director, Woodlands Research Department, Dartington Woodlands, Ltd.; C. E. Hudson, senior education and advisory officer, National Agricultural Advisory Service, Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food ; H. D. Lewis, assistant secretary, Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food; Prof. J. R. Matthews, lately chairman of the Scottish Committee of the Nature Conservancy, and chairman of the council, Macaulay Institute for Soil Research : T. N. Mitchell, president of the Royal Agricultural Society, State of Victoria; Dr. A. S. Parkes, director of the Division of Experimental Biology, National Institute for Medical Research; Dr. H. Richardson, principal of the Bradford Technical College; H. D. Skinner, director of the Otago Museum and lecturer in anthropology in Otago University; H. C. Smith, secretary of agriculture, State of Tasmania; Dr. Kenneth M. Smith, director of the Virus Research Unit (Agricultural Research Council), Molteno Institute, University of Cambridge; R. S. Stafford, technical director, Handley Page, Ltd.; W. G. Rodway, for anti-locust work in East Africa; S. G. Wilson, director of veterinary services, Northern Region, Nigeria.

Archæology in the University of London : Prof. V. Gordon Childe

PROF. V. GORDON CHILDE is retiring from the chair of prehistoric European archæology in the University of London and the directorship of the Institute of Archæology in Regent's Park. We may hope that he will have a very happy period of retirement and that his increased leisure will enable him to give us the results of his mature conclusions. Childe is an Australian and was at Oxford when the First World War started; at the time his health was not good. but after the War he spent a long time in Central and Eastern Europe. It was here that his great knowledge of, and interest in, the early story of mankind in these areas developed. For a short time he acted as librarian at the Royal Anthropological Institute, but shortly after this the new Abercromby professorship of archæology at Edinburgh was founded and Gordon Childe was its first holder. Most of the students there only took archaeology as a subsidiary subject, though there were a few honours candidates. Prof. Childe was very popular with his students and laid the foundation of what has become an important archæological school. He also did a considerable amount of archaeological investigation in Scotland, and his work at Skara Brae is well known. Later Childe was offered and accepted a