Department of Colour Chemistry and Dyeing from the Bradford Dvers' Research Association, this being a renewal of a grant for a research fellowship; a recurrent grant of £800 a year to the Department of Experimental Pathology and Cancer Research from the Medical Research Council for research into the possible carcinogenic fractions from tobacco tar: £3,000 to the Department of Mining from the Northeastern Division of the National Coal Board, this being a renewal of the annual grant, and £3,475 from the National Coal Board for special research projects in the Department; £2,000 to the Department of Psychology from the Department of Scientific and Industrial Research for a research project on the comprehensibility of technical reports; £1,100 a year for two years to the Department of Textile Industries from the Bradford Dyers' Association, Ltd., this being a renewal of a grant for a research fellowship, and £450 a year for seven years from the Dunlop Rubber Co., Ltd., London, for a research scholarship.

Institution of Naval Architects: Scholarships

The Institution of Naval Architects has made the following awards for 1954: Institution of Naval Architects Scholarship in Naval Architecture to J. C. Sainsbury (H.M. Dockyard, Devonport); Vickers-Armstrongs Scholarship in Naval Architecture to A. R. Mountfield (Cammell Laird and Co., Birkenhead); and Yarrow Scholarship in Marine Engineering to G. W. Pinhey (H.M. Dockyard, Devonport). The scholarships are tenable for three years, the Vickers-Armstrongs one being worth £220 a year and the other two £175 a year. In each case the recipient has elected to study at King's College (University of Durham), Newcastle upon Tyne.

Royal Society of Edinburgh

THE following have been elected office-bearers and members of council of the Royal Society of Edinburgh: President, Prof. James Ritchie; Vice-Presidents, Prof. R. C. Garry, Prof. W. M. Smart, Dr. A. H. R. Goldie, Prof. C. M. Yonge, Prof. Norman Feather and Sir Godfrey Thomson; General Secretary, Dr. J. E. Richey; Secretaries to Ordinary Meetings, Dr. T. R. Bolam and Dr. D. M. Steven; Treasurer, A. W. Young; Curator of Library and Museum, Dr. Douglas Guthrie; Councillors, Dr. D. P. Cuthbertson, Principal H. B. Nisbet, Prof. T. C. Phemister, Dr. J. B. Simpson, Prof. Meirion Thomas, Dr. J. M. Cowan, Dr. David Jack, Prof. J. M. Robertson, Prof. D. Whitteridge, Prof. E. M. Wright, Prof. E. L. Hirst and Dr. D. E. Rutherford.

The Colonial Service: Recent Appointments

The following appointments have recently been made in the Colonial Service: J. A. Spence (plant pathologist, British Guiana), plant pathologist, Trinidad; A. C. Ellington (senior scientific officer, Government Chemists' Department, Jamaica), assistant government chemist, Government Chemist's Department, Jamaica; J. E. Ho-Yen (senior assistant government analyst, British Guiana), government analyst, British Guiana; R. M. Lawton (assistant conservator of forests, Gold Coast), assistant conservator of forests, Northern Rhodesia; Dr. G. M. Edington and Dr. M. H. Hughes (pathologists, Gold Coast), specialist pathologists, Gold Coast; P. H. Creutzberg and J. C. D. Watts (scientific officers, Sierra Leone), senior scientific officers, Sierra Leone; K. W. Aspinall (veterinary officer, Tanganyika), deputy director of veterinary services, Nyasaland;

W. J. Gray (veterinary officer, Nyasaland), veterinary officer, Northern Rhodesia; J. McCulloch (principal veterinary officer, Eastern Region, Nigeria), deputy director of veterinary services, Northern Region, Nigeria; L. E. McLaren (veterinary officer, Jamaica), senior veterinary officer, Jamaica; G. C. Billington (assistant statistician, Gold Coast), senior statistician, Gold Coast: W. L. Booker and J. M. Simmonds (assistant statisticians, Gold Coast), statisticians, Gold Coast; St. G. C. Cooper (agricultural superintendent, Dominica), senior agricultural officer, Trinidad; J. W. Drummond and J. L. Maxwell, agricultural officers, Nyasaland; D. Jack, agricultural officer, Tanganyika; R. J. Jones, D. Juckes and J. Morrison, agricultural officers, Kenya; D. R. Mackay, agricultural officer, Northern Rhodesia; R. L. Morris, agricultural officer, Sierra Leone; J. A. Palmer, agricultural officer, Fiji; R. T. Cannon, R. A. Dujardin and D. G. Price, geologists, British Guiana; C. R. Jones, geologist, Federation of Malaya; D. M. Langbridge, scientific officer, Nigeria; R. H. Ansell, veterinary research officer, Kenya; H. J. Burgess, timber research officer, Federation of Malaya; L. G. Campbell, agricultural engineer, Trinidad; K. Klimacki, geologist, Water Development Department, Tanganyika; D. N. McNutt, entomologist, Kenya; J. R. Sterry, agricultural officer, Gold Coast; B. H. Wyatt, research assistant, Department of Tsetse Control, Gold Coast.

Announcements

WE regret to announce the following deaths:

Sir Wallace Akers, C.B.E., F.R.S., lately director of research, Imperial Chemical Industries, Ltd., on November 1, aged sixty-six.

Sir John Lennard-Jones, K.B.E., F.R.S., principal of the University College of North Staffordshire, on November 1, aged sixty.

Ar the invitation of the Council of the Royal Society of Edinburgh, Prof. James Kendall, the immediate past president of the Society, will deliver the first Alembic Club Lecture of the Society, on January 10, 1955, his subject being "Michael Faraday".

Prof. K. Mothes, of the University of Halle and of the Institute of Plant Culture Research, Gatersleben, of the German Academy of Sciences, has been elected president of the German Leopoldina Academy of Natural Sciences, Halle. Prof. Mothes is a member of the Botany Section of the Academy.

A Tin Research Institute Fellowship has been established at University College, London, and Mr. R. H. Prince has been appointed as the first holder. He will work under the supervision of Prof. E. D. Hughes on certain aspects of the chemistry of organotin compounds.

The Technical Publishing Society, a professional group for the encouragement of the interchange of information among those preparing, editing or publishing technical and scientific documents, has been organized in Los Angeles, with A. E. Tyler, of the United States Naval Ordnance Test Station, Pasadena, as president. Membership includes editors, writers, illustrators, management and production personnel from industrial and government research and development laboratories. Further information can be obtained from the secretary-treasurer, William E. Welch, P.O. Box 607, Tarzana (Los Angeles County), Calif.