books include "Le Four Electrique" (1897; English translation, 1904), and "Le Fluor et ses Composés" (1900). He died on February 21, 1907.

Inter-African Labour Institute

MISS SHEILA ANN OGILVIE, at present assistant labour adviser to the Secretary of State for the Colonies, has been appointed the first director of the Inter-African Labour Institute, with headquarters at Bamako in the French Sudan. The Institute is to provide a permanent centre for the collection and distribution of information on labour problems in Africa, and is under the auspices of the Commission for Technical Co-operation in Africa, which was set up in 1950 by the Governments of Belgium, France, Portugal, Southern Rhodesia, the Union of South Africa and the United Kingdom to promote international technical co-operation in Africa south of the Sahara.

International Council for the Exploration of the Sea

FOUNDED in Copenhagen on July 22, 1902, by Denmark, Finland, Germany, The Netherlands, Norway, Russia, Sweden and the United Kingdom, the International Council for the Exploration of the Sea is celebrating its jubilee by a meeting in Copenhagen during September 29-October 7. The Council was founded upon the initiative of Sweden, which in 1899 held a conference at Stockholm on international investigation of the sea ; in 1901 a similar conference took place at Christiania (Oslo), followed by a meeting at Copenhagen in 1902, at which the Council was formed, its purpose being to promote practical scientific investigations of the food fishes, plankton and sea water, as a basis for international conventions aiming at securing a better output of the fisheries. The first president was Dr. W. Herwig (Germany), with the following national members of council: Otto Pettersson (Sweden), Dr. P. P. C. Hoek (The Netherlands), Capt. C. F. Drechsel (Denmark), Prof. Fridtjof Nansen (Norway), Dr. Oscar von Grimm (Russia) and Prof. D'Arcy Thompson (United Kingdom). The jubilee meeting will be attended by about two hundred delegates and guests from the member States of the Council, and observers and guests from the United States of America, Australia and Canada. The International Council itself consists of two government delegates appointed by each participating State, and it elects a president, a first vice-president and three vice-presidents who form the Bureau, which has always had its central office in the castle of Charlottenlund, Denmark. The present officers are: President, Dr. K. A. Andersson (Sweden); First Vice-President, Mr. A. T. A. Dobson (United Kingdom); Vice-Presidents, Mr. G. J. Lienesch (The Netherlands), Prof. Jean le Gall (France), and Dr. H. U. Sverdrup (Norway).

Royal Alfred Observatory, Mauritius : Report for 1950

THE annual report for 1950 of the Royal Alfred Observatory, Mauritius (pp. 12; Govt. Printer, Port Louis; 1951; 25 cents) deals with the functions of the observatory department, which are meteorological and magnetic; the provision of meteorological services for government departments and all other purposes; and the organization of meteorological observations in the Colony of Mauritius and in its Dependencies, etc. Pilot balloon observations were made daily at the Observatory, and, when conditions

were suitable, additional ascents were made at the islands of St. Brandon and Agalega. A description of tropical cyclones and cyclonic depressions during 1950 is given and also the data on the rainfall, which was 42.36 in.-83 per cent of the normal amount. The organization of returns from rainfall stations has resulted in returns from 157 of these, of which 130 made complete returns in 1950. This shows a marked improvement on 1948 and 1949, in which the returns were fifty-five and ninety-six, respectively. The Kew magnetometer was used to make forty-eight observations of declination and seventy-five of horizontal force, and forty-eight observations of dip were taken with the earth inductor. On August 9 determinations of the scale values of the horizontal-force and verticalforce magnetographs were made, the values obtained being 0.0000327 and 0.0000113 c.g.s. unit per mm., respectively. Tables show the principal magnetic storms during the year, the mean values of the magnetic elements, derived from hourly values, and also the changes in the mean values for 1949 and 1950. The staff of the Observatory includes a total of thirty-two in addition to the director, Mr. N. R. McCurdy. In spite of wide advertising, the two new posts of meteorologist and assistant meteorologist had not been filled at the time of printing the report.

Sectioned Model of the Earth in Manchester Museum

An account of a sectioned globe, which has recently been installed in the Manchester Museum, is contained in the May issue of the *Museums Journal*. The globe is 30 in. in diameter, and emphasis has been placed on data and the lines of evidence bearing on the earth's interior. Current theories are summarized, and a special constructional treatment is reserved for the evidence of earthquake waves. The core and inner core—revealed by earthquake waves—are made to project into the quadrant cut between the planes of the equator and Greenwich meridian. The colour of the globe is a compromise between a reflexion of the possible true colours of the earth's interior, and shades that are arresting and aesthetically satisfying.

Power Sources in Arid Zones

A MEETING to discuss the development of sources of power in arid zones through wind and solar energy is to be held by the Advisory Committee on Arid Zone Research of the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization during September 29-October 1. The Committee will also consider other questions related to this field, including the setting up of an Arid Zone Development Centre. The meetings are to be held in the rooms of the Royal Society, London, W.1. The Advisory Committee on Arid Zone Research consists of the following members: Dr. Hassan Awad, secretary-general of the Royal Geographical Society, Egypt; Mr. Richard L. Boke, regional director of the Bureau of Reclamation for California; Dr. B. T. Dickson, liaison officer for the Executive Committee of the Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organization, Australia; Mr. A. N. Khosla, additional secretary to the Government of India at the Ministry of Irrigation and Power, New Delhi; Prof. Roberto Llamas, director of the National Institute of Biology, Chapultepec, Mexico; Prof. Joseph Peros, University of Paris; Prof. L. Picard, director of the Israeli Geological Institute; Dr. H. G. Thornton, head of the Soil Microbiology Department at the Rothamsted