Society of Cosmetic Chemists of Great Britain: Officers for 1952-53

The fourth annual general meeting of the Society of Cosmetic Chemists of Great Britain, which is an associate of the Society of Cosmetic Chemists (U.S.A.), was held at the St. Bride Foundation Institute, London, on June 13. Mr. W. A. Poucher was elected as the Society's first honorary member. The following officers and members of council were elected for the year 1952-53: Chairman, Dr. R. H. Marriott; Vice-Chairman, F. V. Wells; Honorary Secretary, F. Hulley (24 Bride Lane, Fleet Street, London, E.C.4); Honorary Treasurer, E. Polan; Members of Council, A. B. Bell, Dr. H. W. Hibbott, H. Holmes, Dr. A. W. Middleton and J. Pickthall.

University of Glasgow: Appointments

The following appointments have been made in the University of Glasgow: G. Hoyle (zoology) and R. B. Morrison (bacteriology) to lectureships; F. C. Flack (physics) and M. F. Grundon and H. J. E. Lowenthal (organic chemistry) to Imperial Chemical Industries, Ltd., research fellowships. P. A. Sweet, lecturer in astronomy, has resigned from the University on his appointment as assistant director of the London University Observatory and lecturer in astronomy at University College, London. The following promotions have been made in the University: Dr. G. Pontecorvo (genetics) and Dr. H. S. D. Garven (histology) to readerships; J. R. Atkinson (natural philosophy), J. A. Downes and Dr. J. D. Robertson (zoology), and Dr. J. D. Loudon and Dr. J. C. Speakman (chemistry) to senior lectureships; B. W. Ribbons (botany) and I. C. Smith (zoology) to lectureships.

National Research Council of Canada Scholarships for 1952-53

THE National Research Council of Canada has recently announced the award of its scholarships for the academic year 1952–53. The details are as follows, with the corresponding figures for last year in Altogether 241 (215) awards have been brackets. made, totalling 227,900 (192,100) dollars in value, of which 65 (72) are bursaries, worth 600 dollars each, 114 (92) are studentships worth 900 dollars, and 39 (30) are fellowships at 1,200 dollars each. Eighteen special scholarships at 1,500 dollars have been awarded for study in universities or institutions abroad, to be held as follows: four at Cambridge, three at Oxford, two each at Cornell, London and North Carolina, and one each at Chicago, California, Edinburgh, Illinois and at the John Innes Horticultural Institution, Hertford. Five overseas postdoctorate fellowships at 2,500 dollars have been granted for work at universities, two being at Oxford, and one each at Cambridge, Dublin and London.

Institution of Electrical Engineers: Premium Awards

The Institution of Electrical Engineers has made the following award of premiums for papers read or accepted for publication during the session 1951–52. Institution Premium: D. P. Sayers, Dr. J. S. Forrest and F. J. Lane. Kelvin Premium: Dr. A. L. Cullen. John Hopkinson Premium: T. H. Flowers. Non-Section Premiums: Dr. H. L. Haslegrave (Llewellyn B. Atkinson Premium); J. E. Flood and Dr. J. R. Tillman; and P. R. Howard. Measurements Section

Premiums: Prof. F. C. Williams, Dr. T. Kilburn, G. E. Thomas and Dr. A. A. Robinson (Silvanus Thompson Premium); D. F. Lawden (Mather Premium); and J. V. L. Parry. Radio Section Premiums: Dr. R. N. Bracewell, Dr. K. G. Budden, J. A. Ratcliffe, Dr. T. W. Straker and Dr. K. Weekes (Duddell Premium); T. Kilvington, F. J. M. Laver and H. Stanesby (Ambrose Fleming Premium); Dr. A. T. Starr, T. H. Walker, H. Grayson, T. S. McLeod, R. A. G. Dunkley, G. Dawson, G. King, L. Lewin, J. Lipinski and J. B. Setchfield; D. J. Harris and R. J. Ryan; J. T. Machowicz; N. G. Meadows; P. N. Prior and A. J. Walsh.

Announcements

The Albert Medal of the Royal Society of Arts has been awarded to Sir Frank Whittle for the development of the continuous-combustion gas turbine and jet propulsion.

SIR ALAN DRURY is to retire on September 30 from the post of director of the Lister Institute of Preventive Medicine. He will be succeeded by Dr. A. A. Miles, deputy director of the National Institute for Medical Research and director of its Department of Biological Standards.

The following announcements have been made by the University of London: Mr. J. R. Napier, lecturer in anatomy at St. Thomas's Hospital Medical School, has been appointed to the University readership in anatomy tenable at the Royal Free Hospital School of Medicine from October 1. E. C. Cherry, an appointed teacher at the Imperial College of Science and Technology, has been awarded the degree of D.Sc.(Eng.).

The title and status of reader in zoology in the University of Leeds has been conferred upon Dr. T. Kerr, senior lecturer in the Department of Zoology. Dr. R. Brown, reader in plant physiology in the Department of Botany, has been granted leave of absence by the University for the period October 1, 1952–September 30, 1953, to enable him to accept an invitation to an appointment as visiting professor at Cornell University.

An 'open-day' will take place at the National Fruit and Cider Institute, Research Station, Long Ashton, Bristol, on July 15, when the annual meeting of members will be held and the laboratories, cider house, etc., inspected.

A SYMPOSIUM on New Research Techniques in Physics will be held at Rio de Janeiro, São José dos Campos and São Paulo, Brazil, during July 15-29, under the joint sponsorship of the Brazilian Academy of Sciences, the National Research Council of Brazil and the Centre of Scientific Cooperation for Latin America (Unesco). Further information can be obtained from Prof. J. Leite Lopes, Centro Brasileiro de Pesquisas Fisicas, Avenida Pasteur 250, Rio de Janeiro.

PROF. J. Z. Young asks that attention be directed to a mistake in the description of the support provided for research on the flying spot microscope described in *Nature* of June 7, p. 963. This work has been made possible by grants from the Nuffield Foundation and from the Research and Development Division of the British Steel Founders' Association which, in connexion with its industrial health research, is particularly concerned with the high-speed counting of dust particles.