the metal industry: steel-making and refining; nonferrous refining, rolling and fabrication (copper, brass, bronze, aluminium, magnesium); ferrous rolling, forging and hot work in steel mills and heavy industry; stamping, cold work, machining and finishing in lighter industry; heat treatment; welding and joining; inspection and testing; and research, engineering societies and universities. Information concerning the World Metallurgical Congress can be obtained from the Secretary, American Society of Metals, 7301 Euclid Avenue, Cleveland. Ohio.

## Symposium at Delft on Abrasion and Wear

A SYMPOSIUM on abrasion and wear, organized by Rubber-Stichting on the occasion of the opening of a new building at Delft, will be held during November 14-15. The first day will be devoted to general aspects of the subject, including problems connected with friction and lubrication, and the second day to the applied side, that is, the abrasion and wear of metals, plastics, rubber and other materials. The symposium will be international in scope, in that a number of foreign workers will be participating, some of whom will be reading papers; the official languages of the symposium will be English and French. In conjunction with the meeting an exhibition of apparatus for measuring abrasion and wear has been arranged. Admittance to the symposium will be free. Further details can be obtained from the secretary of the organizing committee, Dr. H. C. J. de Decker, c/o Rubber-Stichting, P.O. Box 66, Delft.

## Colonial Service Appointments

THE following appointments in the Colonial Service have recently been announced: A. K. Briant (senior agricultural officer, Zanzibar), director of agriculture, Zanzibar; J. W. D. Goodban (agricultural officer, Nigeria), director of agriculture, British Honduras; C. E. Johnson (agricultural officer, Northern Rhodesia), agricultural chief officer. Rhodesia; C. J. MacK. Krige (senior agricultural officer, Northern Rhodesia), chief agricultural officer, Northern Rhodesia; J. Wright, whose appointment as assistant director of agriculture, Nigeria, was previously announced, re-transferred to his former post of deputy director of agriculture, Jamaica; M. E. Dommen (senior assistant conservator of forests, Nigeria), conservator of forests, Nigeria; W. Crocker (senior assistant, Department of Agriculture, Sarawak), assistant agricultural officer, Sarawak; R. A. Sutton (chemist, Government Chemist Department, Tanganyika), geo-chemist, Geological Survey Department, Tanganyika; F. B. Brown, agricultural officer, Federation of Malaya; C. Purvis, geneticist, Oil Palm Research Station, Nigeria; L. P. Adams, staff surveyor, Kenya; Lieut.-Colonel J. D. Daly, veterinary officer, Federa-tion of Malaya; Dr. R. A. Webb, soil scientist, Gambia.

## Announcements

LORD BRUCE OF MELBOURNE, formerly Australian High Commissioner in London, has been elected the first chancellor of the Australian National University, Canberra.

Dr. E. U. Condon, director of the U.S. National Bureau of Standards, is resigning as from September 30. It is reported that Dr. Condon is to join the Corning Glass Company as a technical director.

Prof. N. V. Sidowick, formerly professor of and reader in chemistry in the University of Oxford, has been elected an honorary life member of the Faraday Society in recognition of his outstanding services to physical chemistry and to the Society.

SIR ARCHIBALD GILL, engineer-in-chief of the Post Office, is to retire on October 1; he will be succeeded by Dr. W. G. Radley, who is at present a deputy engineer-in-chief.

Mr. E. K. Inall, who until recently was a member of the research staff of Associated Electrical Industries, Ltd., Aldermaston Court, Berks, has been appointed a Research Fellow of the Australian National University, Canberra. He will work in the Department of Nuclear Physics under the direction of Prof. E. W. Titterton.

In order to ensure that the fullest use is made, in the interests of the aircraft industry in Great Britain, of all published scientific and technical information concerning aeronautics, Aslib is establishing an Aeronautical Information Study Group, the inaugural meeting of which is to be held on September 27 at the Royal Aircraft Establishment, South Farnborough, Hants. All those interested in the formation of such a Group should write, not later than September 10, to Mr. Leslie Wilson, director of Aslib, at 4 Palace Gate, London, W.8.

The Research Fund of the Chemical Society provides grants for the assistance of research in all branches of chemistry. About £700 per annum is available, the income being derived from a donation of the Worshipful Company of Goldsmiths, from the Perkin Memorial Fund, and from other sources. Applications for grants will be considered in November next and should be submitted on the appropriate form, to be obtained from the General Secretary, Chemical Society, Burlington House, Piccadilly, London, W.1, not later than November 1, 1951.

The fifth congress of the International Scientific Film Association will be held in the Municipal Museum, The Hague, during September 15-22. At the congress the general assembly of the Association will take place, together with meetings of the permanent committees dealing with medical, research, technical and industrial films, as well as a Festival of Scientific Films. Further information can be obtained from the Secretary, Scientific Film Association, 4 Great Russell Street, London, W.C.1.

The following lectures of the Royal Aeronautical Society have recently been announced. The thirty-ninth Wilbur Wright Memorial Lecture will be given by A. E. Raymond, of the Douglas Aircraft Corporation, California, at 6 p.m. on September 10 at the Royal Institution, 21 Albemarle Street, London, W.1, his subject being "The Well-Tempered Aircraft". The seventh British Commonwealth and Empire Lecture will be given by Air Vice-Marshal Sir L. M. Isitt, of New Zealand, at 6 p.m. on October 4 at the Institution of Civil Engineers, Great George Street, London, S.W.1, his subject being "Air Transport in New Zealand and the South Pacific". Further details can be obtained from the secretary of the Society, A. M. Ballantyne, at 4 Hamilton Place, London, W.1.

Erratum.—In *Nature* of June 30, p. 1060, it is stated that the chairmen of the four Groups of the Physical Society are for the period 1950-51; this should read 1951-52. Further, the chairman of the Colour Group for this period is Dr. T. Vickerstaff.