the Institute and others are invited to submit short papers or articles setting out experiences and problems (where possible, with answers) so that the Study may be made as fully representative as possible of all points of view. Such papers and all inquiries should be addressed to the secretary of the Institute of Fuel, 18 Devonshire Street, Portland Place, London, W.1.

Iron and Steel Institute: Awards

The Bessemer Medal for 1951 of the Iron and Steel Institute has been awarded to Mr. Ben Fairless, president of the United States Steel Corporation, in recognition of his distinguished services to the iron and steel industry. The Sir Robert Hadfield Medal for 1951 of the Institute has been awarded to Mr. William Barr, of Colvilles, Ltd., president of the West of Scotland Iron and Steel Institute, for his contributions to research in steelmaking. Dr. C. H. Desch has been nominated for honorary membership of the Iron and Steel Institute.

Institution of Mining Engineers

SIR ANDREW BRYAN has been re-elected president of the Institution of Mining Engineers for the year 1951-52. The Institution has announced the award of the following Medals. Institution Medal: this, the highest distinction the Institution can bestow, has been awarded to M. Etienne Audibert, president, Charbonnages de France, and director-general, Centre d'Etudes et Recherches, in recognition of his distinguished services to mining engineering and of his achievements in research into safety in coal mines. Douglas Hay Medal: the first award of this Medal, founded in 1950 to perpetuate the memory of the late Prof. Douglas Hay, past-president of the Institution, has been made to Prof. J. Ivon Graham, professor of coal-mining, University of Otago, Dunedin, New Zealand, in recognition of his outstanding contributions to the Transactions over a period of many years with particular reference to his work for the improvement of the health and welfare of miners. Institution has also awarded the following Prizes: "Mavor and Coulson" Students Prizes: 20 guineas to K. Z. George; and 5 guineas arch to C. R. Lloyd Jones and E. J. Polak; "Victor" Students Prize of £100 to H. S. Alpan; Laurence Holland Prize of £15 to N. E. Roberts. The fifty-seventh annual general meeting of the Institution will be held at the Connaught Rooms, Great Queen Street, London, W.C.2, on January 18, 1951. The summer meeting will be held in Nottingham during July 4-6, 1951.

Conference of the Universities of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

The 1950 Home Universities Conference, convened by the Committee of Vice-Chancellors and Principals, will be held in the Beveridge Hall, University of London Senate House, during December 15–16. This Conference is open only to delegates appointed by the universities and to specially invited guests. The programme consists of three sessions: December 15, at 2.30 p.m., "The University as a Regional Focus" (chairman, Sir Hector Hetherington); December 16, at 10.30 a.m., "National Service and the Universities" (chairman, Mr. Avery Woodward); and December 16, at 2.30 p.m., "Overseas Students in British Universities" (chairman, Dr. Lillian M. Penson). For the first session, the opening speakers and their subjects will be: Prof. W. Fisher Cassie (Newcastle upon Tyne), on applied science; Prof. T. S. Simey (Liverpool), on social sciences; Sir Lionel Whitby (Cam-

bridge), on medicine; and Prof. Ross D. Waller (Manchester), on adult education. For the second session, the speakers are Mr. C. E. Escritt (Oxford) and Mr. T. R. Henn (Cambridge). For the third session, the speakers are Dr. G. V. Allen (Malaya) and Sir Ronald Adam (British Council). A full programme is being prepared by the Association of Universities of the British Commonwealth, 5 Gordon Square, London, W.C.1.

Announcements

OWING to illness, Sir James Chadwick will not be able to deliver the Rutherford Lecture of the Physical Society at Cambridge on December 8, and instead the Lecture will be given by Dr. A. S. Russell, of Christ Church, Oxford. The rest of the programme for the Society's Autumn Meeting at Cambridge, on "Recent Techniques in the Detection of Elementary Particles", will be held during December 8–9, as planned.

The Pittsburgh Award of the American Chemical Society for 1950, a bronze plaque which is awarded annually for outstanding service to chemistry, has been made to Dr. William A. Hamor, assistant director of the Mellon Institute. Dr. Hamor is well known for his management of research projects and as author and editor of numerous scientific publications, including his editorship since 1947 of Chemical Monographs for the American Chemical Society.

The University of Sheffield has conferred the title of emeritus professor on Prof. J. H. Andrew on his retirement from the chair of metallurgy (see *Nature*, July 29, p. 174). Dr. G. B. Walker has been appointed lecturer in electrical engineering in the University.

The following appointments in the University of Birmingham have recently been announced: Lectureships, Dr. J. Kolbuszewski and I. T. S. Essery (civil engineering), and D. V. Wilson (industrial metallurgy); Fellowships, W. A. Pullman (James Watt fellow in mechanical engineering), Dr. G. E. Brown and H. E. Paneth (research fellow in mathematical physics), J. J. Pick (research fellow in industrial metallurgy) and G. K. Williamson (research fellow in metallurgy). Messrs. Joseph Lucas and Co., Ltd., has covenanted to give £1,800 a year for seven years for the endowment of a fellowship in electro-metallurgy.

The third Anglo-American Aeronautical Conference, convened jointly by the Royal Aeronautical Society and the Institute of the Aeronautical Sciences (of the United States) will be held in Brighton during September 1951. The technical sessions will be held during September 7–11 and will be followed by a number of visits to aeronautical firms and establishments. Information can be obtained from the Royal Aeronautical Society, 4 Hamilton Place, London, W.I.

Mathematical Pie was started by the Gateway School, Leicester, as a wall newspaper dealing with various mathematical topics, and is now being published for general circulation. It is hoped that schools and other interested persons will co-operate by sending items of interest so that it can be enlarged and published regularly as a forum of mathematical affairs. Copies are available (1d. for No. 1, 2d. for the next issue) from R. H. Collins at the Gateway School, Leicester.