Geological Society of London : Officers for 1949

    Article metrics


    AT the annual general meeting on April 27 of the Geological Society of London, the following officers and mejarmers of the Council were elected for the coming year : President, Prof. C. E. Tilley ; Vice-President, Prof. J. A. Douglas, Prof. L. Hawkes, Efr. G. M. Lees and Prof. H. H. Read ; Secretaries, Dr. D. Williams and Prof. S. E. Hollingworth ; Foreign Secretary, Prof. O. T. Jones ; Treasurer, Mr. P. Evans. Other members of Council : Dr. A. J. Bull, Mr. A. J. Butler, Dr. F. Dixey, Dr. K. C. Dunham, Dr. W. L. F. Nuttall, Dr. K. P. Oakley, Dr. J. Phemister, Prof. W. J. Pugh, Prof. F. W. Shotton, Dr. W. Campbell Smith, Dr. C. J. Stubblefield, Prof. D. M. S. Watson, Dr. E. I. White and Prof. Alan Wood.

    Rights and permissions

    Reprints and Permissions

    About this article

    Cite this article

    Geological Society of London : Officers for 1949. Nature 163, 833 (1949) doi:10.1038/163833b0

    Download citation


    By submitting a comment you agree to abide by our Terms and Community Guidelines. If you find something abusive or that does not comply with our terms or guidelines please flag it as inappropriate.