New Zealand State Scholarships for Science Graduates

    Article metrics


    Six national research scholarships given annually to science graduates by the Government of New Zealand/on the recommendation of the Council of Scientific and Industrial Research have been awarded tOybne following : Mr. J. H. Brown, of Auckland University College, for research in biochemistry with a medical and endocrinological bias, the award being tenable at the Courtauld Institute of Biochemistry, Middlesex Hospital, London ; Mr. R. H. Thornton, of the Canterbury Agricultural College, for research in soil microbiological techniques, the award being tenable at Rothamsted Experimental Station, or the Macaulay Institute for Soil Research, Aberdeen, or Department of Agriculture, Canada, whichever is available ; Mr. R. N. Brothers, of Auckland University College, for research in sedimentary petrology. Mr. P. G. Harris, of Victoria University College, Wellington, for research in geochemistry ; Mr. W. B. Taylor, of Auckland University College, for research in statistics and statistical methods ; Mr. C. B. Speedy, of Canterbury College, Christchurch, for research in light-engineering electronics. Each scholarship has a tenure of two years and a value of 250 a year with additional grants for books and university fees. They may be used at approved university colleges in New Zealand and elsewhere ; but where facilities are available in New Zealand, every encouragement is given for the courses to be undertaken in the Dominion.

    Rights and permissions

    Reprints and Permissions

    About this article

    Cite this article

    New Zealand State Scholarships for Science Graduates. Nature 163, 759 (1949) doi:10.1038/163759c0

    Download citation

    Further reading


    By submitting a comment you agree to abide by our Terms and Community Guidelines. If you find something abusive or that does not comply with our terms or guidelines please flag it as inappropriate.