NEWS and VIEWS

Botany at Delhi: Prof. P. Maheshwari

Dr. PANCHANAN MAHESHWARI, who is well known for his work on argiosperm embryology and cytogenetics, has been appointed to a chair of botany in the University of Delhi. Receiving his early training at Allamahad, he came under the influence of an American botanist, the late Dr. Winfield Dudgeon, and the late of the control of the late of and in 1931 was the first to obtain the degree of D.Sc. in botany in the University of Allahabad. As a teacher he served successively as a lecturer and associate professor of botany at Agra College (1930-37). For about two years (1937-39) he was lecturer in the University of Allahabad and for a brief term in Lucknow, later migrating to Dacca as reader in botany and head of the department, where he developed facilities for postgraduate teaching and research. He was recently promoted professor of botany in the University of Dacca and became dean of the Faculty of Science.

Prof. Maheshwari has travelled widely for the sake of developing contacts with colleagues in his own field of research, undertaking two long study tours in Europe (1936-37) and in the United States (1945-47). His original work has been largely influenced by the school of Tischler at Kiel and of Schnarf in Vienna. He has done much, both directly and indirectly, to advance the study of angiosperm embryology in India. He is the author of an advanced text-book on the "Embryology of Angiosperms", which is shortly to be published, and is editing for the Chronica Botanica series a "Manual of Angiosperm Embryology" based upon contributions from specialists in many countries of the world. He is president elect of the Section of Botany at the next Indian Science Congress to be held in Poona in January 1950.

Nature Conservancy in Britain

MR. HEBBERT MORRISON announced in the House of Commons on February 11 that arrangements have been completed for forming a Nature Conservancy, and that a separate committee will supervise activities in Scotland. Membership of the Conservancy will be as follows: Prof. A. G. Tansley (chairman); Mr. A. Anderson, M.P.; Mr. C. Elton; Dr. E. B. Ford; Dr. H. Godwin; Mr. E. H. Keeling, M.P.; Mr. N. B. Kinnear; Prof. R. C. McLean; Prof. J. R. Matthews; Mr. E. M. Nicholson; Prof. W. H. Pearsall; Mr. M. Phillips Price, M.P.; Mr. J. A. Steers; Mr. W. L. Taylor; and Dr. A. E. Trueman. The Conservancy-Mr. Morrison referred to the term as a more convenient title than conservation boardwill be responsible for the whole of Great Britain; but as a result of the recommendations of the Scottish Wild Life Conservation Committee, and of consultations with the Secretary of State, activities in Scotland will be supervised by a Scottish committee with the following composition: Prof. J. R. Matthews (chairman); Mr. A. Anderson, M.P.; Mr. H. C. Beresford-Peirse; Dr. F. Fraser Darling; Mr. A. B. Duncan; Dr. D. N. McArthur; Sir Basil H. H. Neven-Spence, M.P.; Prof. A. D. Peacock; Prof. J. Ritcher Prof. J. Walton; Lord Wemyss and March; and Prof. C. M. Yonge.

Dr. John Berry, who is known for his work in fishery research and for contributions on wild life in Britain, and in 1944 was appointed biologist to the North of Scotland Hydro-Electric Board, has been released to serve as director for Scotland of the Conservancy. It has already been announced that Captain Cyril Diver has been appointed as directorgeneral, with his office at Thorney House, Smith Square, S.W.1. The Conservancy is seeking a charter on similar lines to that of the Agricultural Research Council, with which it will co-operate. The Committee of the Privy Council for Agricultural Research will be reconstituted as the Committee of the Privy Council for Agricultural Research and Nature Conservation, and the Minister of Town and Country Planning will join it in view of its extended responsibilities. The Conservancy will start work at once.

Institution of Mechanical Engineers: Clayton Prize

THE Council of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers has awarded the 1948 James Clayton Prize of £1,350 to Mr. Karl Baumann, for his contributions to the advancement of mechanical engineering science by way of invention, design and investigation, communicated, in part, in a lecture delivered to the Institution in 1948. Mr. K. Baumann is the chief mechanical engineer and a director of the Metropolitan-Vickers Electrical Co., Ltd., Manchester. His professional life has been largely identified with the development of the modern steam power station including steam turbines and boiler plant, and latterly the internal combustion turbine. He received the Institution's premier award, the Thomas Hawksley Gold Medal, for a paper published in 1930. The James Clayton Bequest is for the distribution annually, on research, investigation and the encouragement of mechanical engineering science, of threequarters of the income of the fund. The remaining quarter of the income is for the award (James Clayton Prize) to a member, associate member, graduate or student of the Institution, who contributes most in the year to modern mechanical engineering science. Previous awards have been made to Sir Frank Whittle (1945), Mr. Hayne Constant (1946), Sir Richard Southwell (1946), Mr. T. E. Beacham (1947), and Mr. J. E. Sears (1947).

Midwest Research Institute

Dr. George E. Ziegler has been appointed director and Dr. Clayton O. Dohrenwend assistant director of the Midwest Research Institute, Kansas City. Dr. Ziegler went to the Institute at the time of its inception in 1945 as executive scientist, having previously been associated with the Armour Research Foundation in Chicago. He is known in scientific circles for his experimental X-ray diffraction studies, and has been acting chief administrator of the Institute since the resignation of Harold Vagtborg some six months ago. Dr. Dohrenwend has been research consultant since going to the Institute in July 1946. He was formerly associated with the Illinois Institute of Technology as director of the Mechanics Department. He is a specialist in the field of engineering mechanics and past president of the Society for Experimental Stress Analysis.

East African Industrial Research Board

THE fifth angular report of the East African Industrial Research Board (Pp. iii+28. Nairobi, P.O. Box 1587. (Appli), covering the year ended December 31, 1947, includes the report of the acting chairman, Mr. H. B. Stent, the General Laboratory report, the annual report of the Tanganyika Industrial Committee,