NEWS and VIEWS

New Year Honours List

THE following names of men of science and others associated with scientific work appear in the New Year Honours List: Baron: Sir John Boyd Orr, lately director-general

Baron: Sir John Boyd Orr, lately director-general of the Food and Agriculture Organisation of the United Nations.

Privy Councillor: Lord Hailey, chairman of the Colonial Research Committee, for services to the Colonial Empire.

A.C.B.: Sir Henry Tizard, chairman of the Defence Research Policy Committee, Ministry of Defence.

G.B.E.: Sir Wilson Jameson, chief medical officer, Ministry of Health and Ministry of Education.

D.B.E.: Miss Myra Curtis, principal of Newnham College, Cambridge, and lately chairman of the committee on children deprived of a normal home life.

Knights : Prof. J. D. Beazley, professor of classical archæology, University of Oxford ; Prof. H. Cohen, professor of medicine, University of Liverpool; A. J. Gill, assistant director-general (engineering), and engineer-in-chief since 1947, of the General Post Office; Dr. H. L. Guy, chairman of the Mechanical Engineering Research Organisation, Department of Scientific and Industrial Research; Dr. W. G. Ogg, director of Rothamsted Experimental Station; Dr. R. E. Priestley, vice-chancellor of the University of Birmingham; Dr. J. L. Simonsen, director of research, Colonial Products Research Committee; Prof. S. A. Smith, dean of the Faculty of Medicine and regius professor of forensic medicine, University of Edinburgh; W. L. Taylor, lately director-general of the Forestry Commission ; Capt. F. O'B. Wilson, chairman of the Board of Agriculture, Kenya.

C.B.: Air Commodore A. H. Robson, director of educational services, Air Ministry.

C.M.G.: V. Boyle, superintending inspector, Animal Health Division, Ministry of Agriculture; Brigadier M. Hotine, director of Colonial Surveys, and adviser on surveys to the Secretary of State for the Colonies; Dr. J. M. Stewart, formerly vicechancellor of the University of Adelaide.

C.B.E. : B. C. Aston, of Wellington, New Zealand, for services to agriculture and botany; O. V. S. Bulleid, chief mechanical engineer, Southern Region, Railway Executive; Prof. J. B. Cleland, formerly professor of pathology, University of Adelaide; F. S. Collier, chief conservator of forests, Nigeria ; Colonel W. C. Devereux, managing director of Aluminium, Ltd., and chairman of International Alloys, Ltd.; I. G. Evans, assistant secretary, Department of Scientific and Industrial Research ; Dr. J. Hammond, reader in agricultural physiology, University of Cambridge; J. McDonald, director of agriculture, Cyprus ; Prof. F. H. Newman, professor of physics, University College of the South-West of England, and chairman of Exeter Joint Recruiting Board; Miss M. H. Read, head of the Colonial Department, Institute of Education, University of London; Lieut.-Colonel W. Campbell Smith, deputy chief scientific officer and keeper of mineralogy in the British Museum (Natural History); Dr. O. J. Voelcker, director of the West African Cacao Research Institute; Prof. W. Wardlaw, professor of physical chemistry, University of London (Birkbeck College), scientific adviser, Appointments Department, Ministry of Labour; R. T. B. Wynn, assistant chief engineer, B.B.C.

Sir C. V. Raman, F.R.S.

SIR C. V. RAMAN has been appointed the first National Research Professor in India; he has just retired from his professorship at the Indian Institute of Science in Bangalore. It is expected that he will take up his new duties immediately and will work at the newly founded Research Institute under the auspices of the Indian Academy of Sciences at Bangalore. This appointment is the first of its kind in India. Sir C. V. Raman is known particularly for his work on the molecular scattering of light, whereby the frequency of incident radiation is changed by an amount characteristic of the scattering compound. This had been predicted on theoretical grounds, but it was first observed by Raman and is generally known as the 'Raman effect'. It has proved of great interest and importance in studying the theory of the structure of chemical compounds. Among the many honours received by Sir C. V. Raman are the Nobel Prize for Physics (1930), Hughes Medal of the Royal Society (1930), and the Franklin Medal of the Franklin Institute, Philadelphia (1942).

Progress Medal of the Photographic Society of America: Dr. C. E. K. Mees, F.R.S.

THE first presentation of the Progress Medal of the Photographic Society of America was made, during the Society's 1948 Convention held in Cincinnati, to Dr. C. F. Kenneth Mees, vice-president in charge of research of the Eastman Kodak Company, in recognition of his contributions to photography-technical, literary and inspirational. Dr. Mees delivered the Society's first Progress Medal Lecture, dealing with the work of the Kodak Research Laboratories. Emphasizing the spirit of freedom in the Laboratories, he said : "When the scientist selects a field of work, he is left free to exploit it as he sees fit. No attempt is made to anticipate scientific discoveries that may be made, or to regulate or organise the direction which the work may take." He traced the growth and achievements of the Laboratories, mentioning studies from 1920 onward of the physical chemistry of gelatin and the crystalline structure of the silver halides, important to photographic emulsions. He described the discovery in 1925 of the sensitizing action of gelatin for silver bromide. The chemistry of development, sensitometry, the psychophysics involved in viewing photographs, and granularity and graininess of photo materials were among the topics discussed. The largest single division of the Laboratories, he said, is that devoted to the making of photographic emulsions, both for film and paper. The emulsion laboratories have also done important work on optical sensitizing dyes, which brought rapid changes in photographic materials between 1925 and 1935.

Agricultural Advisers to United Kingdom High Commissioners in Australia and New Zealand

THE Agricultural Departments and the Commonwealth Relations Office announce the appointment of Mr. C. W. Strutt and Mr. D. S. Hendrie to be agricultural advisers to the United Kingdom High Commissioners in Australia and New Zealand, respectively. These are new appointments, although a similar post has existed in Canada for some time.

Mr. C. W. Strutt, who was born in 1902, was brought up on his father's mixed farm in Sussex. He studied at the South Eastern Agricultural College,