Philosophy of Science

    Article metrics


    AT a meeting held at University College, London, on June 1, a Philosophy of Science Group was formally constituted and affiliated with the British Society for the History of Science. The Group adopted the following statement of aims : “The purpose of the Group is to study the logic and method of science as well as of the various special sciences, including the social sciences. The main emphasis is upon an approach through the various special sciences to the philosophy of science.” The Group intends to hold meetings for the reading and discussion of papers and to publish an account of its activities in a supplement to the Bulletin of the British Society for the History of Science, which will be circulated to members. The Group has elected the following Committee : Prof. H. Dingle (chairman), Dr. K. R. Popper, Mr. F. I. G. Rawlins, Dr. G. J. Whitrow and Dr. A. C. Crombie (honorary secretary), Department of History and Philosophy of Science, University College, Gower Street, London, W.C.I. It is hoped to hold the first ordinary meeting in the autumn of this year.

    Rights and permissions

    Reprints and Permissions

    About this article

    Cite this article

    Philosophy of Science. Nature 162, 59 (1948) doi:10.1038/162059a0

    Download citation


    By submitting a comment you agree to abide by our Terms and Community Guidelines. If you find something abusive or that does not comply with our terms or guidelines please flag it as inappropriate.