to place that hitherto empirical subject on a sounder scientific basis. Mr. Sopwith brings to his new task, not only research experience, but also a marked ability to appreciate and then simplify analytical methods so that they can be readily applied to practical problems of engineering design.

Economics at the University of Sheffield: Dr. G. P. Jones

Dr. G. P. Jones, reader in economic history in the University of Sheffield, has been appointed professor of economics in the University, in succession to Prof. D. Knoop, who retires in September. Dr. Jones is no stranger to Sheffield or Sheffield people, for he has been a member of the University staff since 1926 when he was appointed lecturer in economic history, and in recognition of the distinction of his scholarship and research the University conferred upon him in 1946 the title of reader. He has been especially interested in the organisation of the building industry from medieval to early modern times, to which field he has made distinguished contributions. In addition, ever since he has been in Sheffield, Dr. Jones has been closely connected with adult education, and throughout the whole period April 1940-July 1946 he did great service to the cause of education in H.M. Forces as secretary to the Sheffield Regional Committee, under the auspices of which more than twelve thousand lectures and classes were held for members of the Army, the R.A.F. and Women's Auxiliary Forces.

Royal Geographical Society: Awards for 1948

H.M. THE KING has approved the award of the Royal Medals for 1948 of the Royal Geographical Society as follow: Founder's Medal, to Mr. Wilfred The siger, for his contributions to the geography of southern Arabia and for his recent crossings of the Southern Arabian desert, the Rub al Khali; Patron's Medal, to Mr. Thomas H. Manning, of the Geodetic Survey of Canada, for his explorations and survey work in the Canadian Arctic, including the mapping of Southampton Island and the Foxe Basin shores of Baffin Island, and for his successful adaptation of Eskimo methods of travel. The Council of the Society has made the following awards: Victoria Medal, to Prof. Frank Debenham, professor of geography in the University of Cambridge, for his work in geographical education and for his contributions to polar geography and exploration in the Antarctic and as first director of the Scott Polar Research Institute at Cambridge. Murchison Grant, to Mr. Robert W. Steel, lecturer in Colonial geography at the University of Oxford, for geographical work on the West African Ashanti Social Survey, 1945-46. Back Grant, to Mr. Alan J. Marshall, for exploratory and scientific work as leader of the Oxford University Exploration Club Expedition to Jan Mayen Island, 1947. Cuthbert Peek Grant, to Dr. Donald F. Thomson, for his explorations and anthropological studies in Arnhem Land, Northern Territory, Australia. Gill Memorial, to Mr. William W. Williams, lecturer in geography at the University of Cambridge, for original research during the War on the determination of underwater beach gradients.

Royal Asiatic Society of Bengal: Medal Awards

The following medal awards of the Royal Asiatic Society of Bengal were announced at the annual meeting held on February 16: Barclay Memorial Medal, a biennial award for contributions to medical

or biological science with reference to India, to Rai Bahadur K. C. Mehta, principal of Agra College, for his contributions to the study of "Cereal Rusts in India"; Joy Gobind Law Memorial Medal, a triennial award for contributions to the study of zoology in Asia, to Dr. Lieven Ferdinand de Beaufort, professor of zoology in the University of Amsterdam and director of the Zoological Museum at Amsterdam, for his contributions to the study of "Fishes of the Indo-Australian Archipelago"; Paul Johannes Bruhl Memorial Medal, a triennial award for contributions to the study of Asiatic botany, to Prof. S. R. Bose, professor of botany, Carmichael Medical College, Calcutta, for his original research on polyporin from fungi ; Dr. Bimala Čhurn Law Gold Medal, an annual award for contributions to Indological studies, to Dr. B. M. Barua, professor of Pali in the University of Calcutta, for his contributions to the study of Buddhism in India; Sir Jadunath Sarkar Gold Medal, a newly instituted biennial award for contributions to Indological researches from the thirteenth century A.D. up to A.D. 1802, to Sir Panduranga S. S. Pissurlenear, for his contributions to the study of the history of the Marathas and the Deccani Muslim Powers down to the time of Tipu Sultan.

Council for 1948

The members of Council of the Society for 1948 are as follows: President, Dr. W. D. West; Vice-Presidents, Dr. B. C. Law, Maharajadhiraja Bahadur Sir U. C. Mahtab, Dr. M. N. Saha, Sir B. L. Mitter; General Secretary, Dr. K. N. Bagchi; Treasurer, K. P. Khaitan; Philological Secretary, Dr. S. K. Chatterji; Joint Philological Secretary, Dr. M. Ishaque; Natural History Secretaries, Dr. K. Biswas (biology) and Dr. S. K. Mitra (physical sciences); Anthropological Secretary, Dr. Verrier Elwin; Historical and Archæological Secretary, H. Waddington; Medical Secretary, Lieut.-Colonel C. L. Pasricha; Library Secretary, Dr. B. S. Guha; Other Members of Council, C. C. Blagden, H. F. Bensly, Dr. A. H. M. Mohiyuddin, Sir A. H. Ghuznavi and Ramaprasad Mookerjee.

The following were elected fellows of the Society: Rao Bahadur K. V. Rangaswami Aiyangar, director of public instruction, Travancore; Dr. B. M. Barua, professor of Pali, University of Calcutta; Dr. F. G. Percival, of the Tata Iron and Steel Co. Prof. D. R. Bhandarkar, formerly of the University of Calcutta, was elected an honorary fellow.

Corrosion Research in Canada

THE National Research Council, Canada, has established a committee to assemble information on all aspects of corrosion and promote its dissemination. In the first instance, a survey is being made of existing Canadian facilities for the study of corrosion and means of combating its effects. It is proposed to assist Canadian universities in making studies of the fundamental chemical and electrochemical reactions that cause deterioration of metals in service, and in the training of students in the techniques of corrosion research and prevention. In the development of a programme of research in this field the committee is seeking the co-operation of all organisations and industries that are concerned in dealing with corrosion problems, and to obtain information a questionnaire has been prepared and given wide distribution.

The chairman of the new committee is Dr. R. R. Rogers, Department of Mines and Resources, and the secretary is D. Wolochow, Division of Building