News | Published:

Military College of Science Advisory Council

Nature volume 160, page 48 (12 July 1947) | Download Citation



The War Office has announced the appointment of an Advisory Council for the Military College of Science under the chairmanship of Sir Henry Tizard (chairman of the Defence Research Policy Committee). The other members are: Prof. J. F. Baker, Sir James Chadwick, Prof. R. A. Peters, Prof. E. K. Rideal, Dr. A. E. Trueman, and Sir Ronald Weeks. Official members are Lieut.-General Sir Sidney C. Kirkman, Dr. O. H. Wansbrough-Jones (scientific adviser to the Army Council), and Lieut.-General F. Wrisberg (Ministry of Supply). The secretary is Mr. E. K. Stopford, Registrar, Military College of Science. The Council thus includes members from the Universities of Oxford, Cambridge and Liverpool, and should therefore be able to ensure that, so far as the special conditions allow, a university atmosphere and the academic traditions of a university are encouraged. The membership of Dr. A. E. Trueman, vice-chairman of the University Grants Committee, provides the link between the Military College of Science and the national structure of university education. The association of the College with the University of London was assured when Prof. C. H. Lander, lately professor of engineering at the Imperial College of Science and Technology, assumed the appointment of Dean of the College.

About this article

Publication history





    By submitting a comment you agree to abide by our Terms and Community Guidelines. If you find something abusive or that does not comply with our terms or guidelines please flag it as inappropriate.

    Newsletter Get the most important science stories of the day, free in your inbox. Sign up for Nature Briefing