News | Published:


Nature volume 158, page 785 (30 November 1946) | Download Citation



SIR ROBERERT ROBINSON, president of the Royal Society, will deliver the Faraday Lecture of the Chemical Society on July 16, 1947, during the Society's centenary celebrations. The Faraday Lectureship was founded in 1867 to commemorate Michael Faraday. In normal times it is delivered every three years, and is the highest honour which the Chemical Society has in its power to offer. The list of names of previous Faraday Lecturers include Dumas, Cannizzaro, von Hofmann, Wurtz, Helm-holtz, Mendeleeff, Lord Rayleigh, Ostwald, Fischer, Richards, Arrhenius, Millikan, Willstatter, Bohr, Debye and Rutherford. The Lecture will be delivered in the Central Hall, Westminster, and will form the principal scientific event of the Chemical Society's centenary celebrations.

About this article

Publication history





    By submitting a comment you agree to abide by our Terms and Community Guidelines. If you find something abusive or that does not comply with our terms or guidelines please flag it as inappropriate.

    Newsletter Get the most important science stories of the day, free in your inbox. Sign up for Nature Briefing