News | Published:

University Grants Committee

Nature volume 158, page 740 (23 November 1946) | Download Citation



Sir Rober Greig and Sir Henry Tizard have resigned frpm the University Grants Committee. The Chancellor of the Exchequer has appointed the followjifg new members,: Miss D. Dymond, principal of Bdrtsmouth Training College; Mr. H. L. Elvin, Principal of Ruskin College, Oxford; Mr. H. S. Magnay, director of education, Liverpool; and Prof. E. K. Rideal, director of the Davy Faraday Laboratory, Royal Institution. These appointments broaden the membership of the committee by going outside the strictly academic field of university education.

About this article

Publication history





    By submitting a comment you agree to abide by our Terms and Community Guidelines. If you find something abusive or that does not comply with our terms or guidelines please flag it as inappropriate.

    Newsletter Get the most important science stories of the day, free in your inbox. Sign up for Nature Briefing