Cambrian Archæological Association Awards


    AT the meeting of the general committee of the Cambrian Archaeological Association held on April 5 at Shrewsbury, the first awards of the G. T. Clark Prizes, founded in 1939 by Mr. Wyndham D. Clark in memory of his grandfather, Mr. G. T. Clark, author of “Medieval Military Architecture in England” and other works, were announced as follows: Section (a): Prehistory: To Mr. W. F. Grimes, keeper and secretary of the London Museum, for his “Guide to the Collections illustrating the Prehistory of Wales”, published by the National Museum of Wales ; Section (b): Roman Period and Dark Ages to c. A.D. 1100 ; To Sir Cyril Fox, director of the National Museum of Wales, for his Sir John Rhys Memorial Lecture on “The Boundary Line of Cymru”, published in the Proceedings of the British Academy, 1940; Section (c): Medieval Period, c. A.D. 1100 to 1550: To Mr. F. H. Crossley, for his series of articles on “Welsh Screens and Lofts” in Archæologia Cambrensis, 1943 onwards ; Section (d): Post-Medieval Period, after c. A.D. 1500: To Dr. Iorwerth C. Peate, keeper of the Department of Folk-Life in the National Museum of Wales, for his work “The Welsh House”, vol. 47 of Y Cymmrodor, 1940. These prizes were awarded “to the authors of the best book or books, paper or series of papers published during the preceding ten years on the Archaeology of Wales and the Marches in each of the four special periods”. They will be formally presented at the centenary annual general meeting of the Cambrian Archaeological Association, to be held at Aberystwyth during September 3-7.

    Rights and permissions

    Reprints and Permissions

    About this article

    Cite this article

    Cambrian Archæological Association Awards. Nature 157, 546 (1946) doi:10.1038/157546c0

    Download citation


    By submitting a comment you agree to abide by our Terms and Community Guidelines. If you find something abusive or that does not comply with our terms or guidelines please flag it as inappropriate.