Altitudes (Zinger's Method) for 1944". The method employed is similar to that used for 1941, a description of which appeared in *Nature* (153, 29; 1944). The corresponding volume for 1945 has also been received.

"Annuaire Astronomique de l'URSS pour l'An 1944", published by the Astronomical Institute of the Academy of Sciences of the U.S.S.R., has been received at *Nature* office. It follows the usual procedure, giving the spherical and rectangular coordinates of the sun for each day referred to the mean equator and equinox of 1944.0 and 1950.0, the right ascension and declination of the moon and planets, mean places of stars, 1944.0, etc., with an explanation at the end in which references are made to various pages of the volume; a brief outline of the formulæ and methods of computation employed is given.

# Imperial Chemical Industries Fellowships at Cambridge

The following candidates have been elected to Imperial Chemical Industries Fellowships at Cambridge, the subject of research being indicated in brackets: Physics: Dr. C. J. Birkett Clews (analysis by X-rays of the structure of conjugated monomeric hydrocarbons at low temperatures, and of the structure of highly polymerized and allied compounds); Dr. M. F. Perutz (structure of crystalline proteins and related substances by X-ray analysis); Mr. M. Ryle (radio physics). Chemistry (Physical, Inorganic and Organic): Dr. J. N. Agar (mechanism of electrochemical oxidation and reduction); Dr. J. Baddiley (chemistry of nucleotides); Dr. K. Bailey (studies on cytoplasmic nucleoproteins and nucleic acids); Dr. P. Johnson (investigation of macromolecular systems by gravitational and diffusion methods). Engineering: Mr. A. H. A. Hogg (plasticity).

## Institution of Electrical Engineers Awards

The Council of the Institution of Electrical Engineers has made the following award of premiums for papers read during the session 1944-45, or accepted for publication: Group A. Kelvin Premium: Mr. G. F. Shotter; John Hopkinson Premium: Mr. R. J. Halsey. Group B. Non-Section Premiums: Mr. H. Frohlich (Ayrton Premium), Mr. G. A. Juhlin (Llewellyn B. Atkinson Premium), Dr. R. Pohl (Extra Premium). Installations Section Premiums: Mr. R. O. Ackerley (Crompton Premium), Mr. R. T. Lythall (Swan Premium), Mr. L. S. Atkinson (Extra Premium). Measurements Section Premiums: Dr. L. Hartshorn and W. Wilson (Silvanus Thompson Premium), Mr. D. J. Desmond (Mather Premium), Mr. H. J. Josephs (Extra Premium). Section Premiums: Prof. Willis Jackson and Mr. J. S. A. Forsyth (Duddell Premium), Dr. K. R. Sturley (Ambrose Fleming Premium), Mr. D. G. Fink (Extra Premium). Transmission Section Premiums: Mr. D. B. Irving (Sebastian de Ferranti Premium), Messrs. W. Kidd and E. M. S. McWhirter (John Snell Premium), Mr. R. C. Hatton and Dr. J. McCombe (Extra Premium), Mr. J. L. Carr (Extra Premium). Group C. Fahie Premium: Messrs. R. B. Armstrong and J. A. Smale. Paris Exhibition, 1881 Premium: Messrs. L. J. C. Connoll, O. W. Humphreys, and J. L. Rycroft. Overseas Premium (for senior members): Mr. R. H. Paul. Students' Premiums (value £10): Mr. W. M. Butler, Mr. G. B. Downham, Mr. J. R. Hanchett, Lieut. L. B. Knowles, Mr. J. Willis. Students' Premiums (value £5): Mr. J. Banks, Mr. H. Burton, Mr. T. E. Calverley, Mr. J. B. Higham, Mr. A. C. Robb, Mr. W. B. Robertshaw.

### Thomas Gray Memorial Trust

The Council of the Royal Society of Arts offers a prize of £50 and an award of £50 under the Thomas Gray Memorial Trust, the objects of which are "The Advancement of the Science of Navigation and the Scientific and Educational Interests of the British Mercantile Marine". The prize is open to any person of British or Allied nationality for an invention, publication, diagram, etc., which is considered to be an advancement in the science or practice of navigation, proposed or invented by himself in the period January 1, 1940—December 31, 1945. Competitors must forward their proofs of claim between October 1 and December 31, 1945, to the Acting Secretary, Royal Society of Arts, John Adam Street, Adelphi, London, W.C.2.

The award of £50 is made to a member of the British Merchant Navy for any deed which is of outstanding professional merit. The period to be covered by the offer will be the year ending September 30, 1945, and the judges will consider their decision on or after January 1, 1946.

### Travelling Fellowships in Medicine

The Medical Research Council announces that preliminary arrangements have been made for the resumption of Rockefeller Medical Fellowships, to be provided from a fund entrusted to the Council by the Rockefeller Foundation of New York. These fellowships are intended for graduates resident in Great Britain who have had some training in research work in clinical medicine or surgery, or in some other branch of medical science, and are likely to profit by a period of work at a centre in the United States or elsewhere abroad, before taking up positions for higher teaching or research in the United Kingdom. It is hoped it may be possible to make a limited number of awards during the academic year 1945-46. depending on the availability of candidates and facilities for travelling.

#### Announcements

AT Oxford on June 28, the honorary degree of D.C.L. was conferred on Sir D'Arcy Thompson, professor of natural history in the University of St. Andrews.

The Osler Medal for 1945 has been awarded to Dr. C. G. Douglas, University reader and demonstrator in general metabolism.

Mr. N. B. Kinnear, deputy keeper in the Department of Zoology of the British Museum (Natural History), has been appointed keeper in succession to Mr. M. A. C. Hinton, who retired on June 29.

The Jones-Bateman Cup is offered triennially by the Royal Horticultural Society for original research in fruit culture which has added to our knowledge of cultivation, genetics, or other relative matters. Particulars can be obtained from the Secretary of the Society, Vincent Square, Westminster, London, S.W.I.

Reference was made in *Nature* of June 23 (p. 764) to the Association of Special Libraries and Information Bureaux, but an old address was given; the present address of the Association is 52 Bloomsbury Street, London, W.C.1.