Manchester Joint Research Council


    THE vice-chancellor of the University of Manchester and the president of the Manchester Chamber of Commerce have announced the personnel of the Manchester Joint Research Council which is being set up jointly by the Chamber and the University. Representing the University are: Prof. P. M. S. Blackett, Dr. C. T. J. Cronshaw, Prof. D. R. Hartree, Prof. J. R. Hicks, Prof. Willis Jackson, Prof. J. Jewkes, Sir William Clare Lees, Dr. J. E. Myers, Prof. W. E. Morton, Prof. M. Polanyi, Sir Ernest Simon, Sir John Stopford (vice-chancellor), Sir Raymond Streat and Prof. F. C. Thompson. The Manchester Chamber of Commerce will be represented by Mr. J. Harold Brown, Mr. E. A. Carpenter, Mr. J. Curwen, Mr. R. H. Dobson, Mr. John S. Dodd, Dr. A. P. M. Fleming, Mr. H. M. Harwood, Mr. A. H. S. Hinchliffe (president), Mr. Frank Longworth, Mr. L. E. Mather, Mr. N. G. McCulloch, Earl Peel, Mr. C. G. Renold, Mr. A. V. Sugden and Mr. John F. West. The first meeting of the Council will be held at the University on October 9.

    Rights and permissions

    Reprints and Permissions

    About this article

    Cite this article

    Manchester Joint Research Council. Nature 154, 234 (1944).

    Download citation


    By submitting a comment you agree to abide by our Terms and Community Guidelines. If you find something abusive or that does not comply with our terms or guidelines please flag it as inappropriate.