had very little time for astronomical work. The Observatory passed through many changes, including its removal to a better site and the appointment of Prof. Ormond Stone as director in 1875. He revived the study of double stars which had been undertaken by Mitchel, but was carried out in a desultory manner owing to other responsibilities. Stone was succeeded by H. C. Wilson (1882–84), Dr. Jermain G. Porter (1884–1930), E. L. Yowell, the author of the article (1930–40), and Dr. Elliott S. Smith, who succeeded him and is now in charge. A catalogue of stars observed by Dr. Smith is nearly ready for publication, and Dr. Paul Herget has done valuable work in computing orbits for the last two satellites of Jupiter.

Penicillin

A SPECIAL issue of the British Medical Bulletin (2, No. 1; 1944) devoted to work on penicillin contains special articles by Prof. L. P. Garrod, Prof. A. Fleming, Prof. H. W. Florey, Dr. E. Chain and Dr. M. E. Florey, and reviews of papers published between 1929 and 1943 on the discovery of penicillin and on its chemotherapeutic action, purification and chemical properties and on clinical trials of it. An appendix deals with the Oxford Unit, the slide-cell technique and communications not reviewed in this issue of the Bulletin or published in other countries. Everyone interested in penicillin will find this excellent review of the subject valuable.

West Indian Conference

The first of a regular system of West Indian conferences is to be opened in Barbados on March 21 (see p. 320 of this issue). The conference, which will be presided over by Sir Frank Stockdale, British co-chairman of the Anglo-American Caribbean Commission, will consider means of raising the nutritional level in the Caribbean area, the re-absorption into civil life of persons engaged in war employment, the planning of public works for the improvement of agriculture, education, housing and public health, health protection and quarantine, industrial development, and the Caribbean Research Council and possibilities for its expansion.

Royal Society of Edinburgh: New Fellows

The following have been elected ordinary fellows of the Royal Society of Edinburgh: Mr. John Anthony, lecturer in botany, University of Edinburgh; Dr. Daulatrai Bhatia, senior lecturer in zoology, Government College, Ludhiana, India; Prof. David Burns, Department of Physiology, University of Durham; Mr. John G. Carr, cancer research worker, Institute of Animal Genetics, University of Edinburgh; Dr. R. W. Craig, Scottish Secretary, British Medical Association; Dr. L. J. Davies, lecturer, Department of Medicine, University of Edinburgh; Prof. E. M. Dunlop, Department of Bacteriology, University of Durham; Mr. J. M. Geoghegan, president of the Society of Accountants in Edinburgh; The Hon. Lord Gibson, chairman of the Scottish Land Court; Mr. J. Methuen Graham, surgeon, Edinburgh Royal Infirmary; Prof. Arthur Holmes, Department of Geology and Mineralogy, University of Edinburgh; Dr. D. J. A. Kerr, lecturer on forensic medicine, School of Medicine of the Royal Colleges, Edinburgh; Prof. J. R. Learmonth, Department of Surgery, University of Edinburgh; Dr.

W. Ledermann, assistant lecturer and Carnegie Fellow, University of St. Andrews; Dr. A. D. McEwen, chief bacteriologist, Moredun Institute Animal Diseases Research Association, Midlothian; Dr. Robert McWhirter, lecturer in radiology, University of Edinburgh; Major Noel Ewart Odell, Clare College, Cambridge; Dr. R. F. Ogilvie, lecturer in pathology, University of Edinburgh; Prof. G. D. Preston, Department of Physics, University College, Dundee; Mr. W. S. Proeter, regional engineer, Post Office Engineering Branch, Scottish Region; Dr. T. Robertson, district geologist, H.M. Geological Survey, Edinburgh; Dr. R. W. Scarff, reader in morbid anatomy, University of London; Mr. E. Openshaw Taylor, lecturer in electrical power and machinery, Heriot-Watt College, Edinburgh; Dr. O. A. Trowell, lecturer in human physiology, University of Edinburgh; Prof. J. Stirling Young, Department of Pathology, University of Aberdeen.

Announcements

The triennial award of the Coopers Hill War Memorial Prize and Medal, which fell in 1943 to the Institution of Electrical Engineers, has been made by the Council to Mr. Harold Page, for his paper on "The Measured Performance of Horizontal Dipole Transmitting Arrays".

The award for 1943 of the Page Prize for the best thesis submitted in lieu of the Associate Membership Examination of the Institution of Electrical Engineers has been made by the Council to Mr. J. V. Beaumont for his thesis entitled "Types of Power Transformers, with special reference to On-Load Voltage Regulators".

The Institution of Electrical Engineers will this year make awards of the Duddell and Manville Scholarships. These Scholarships are each worth £150 a year for three years. They are open to British subjects who are less than nineteen years of age on July 1, 1944, who have passed the matriculation examination of a British university, or an equivalent examination, and who wish to take a whole-time day course in electrical engineering. Applications for particulars and nomination forms should be addressed to the Secretary of The Institution, Savoy Place, London, W.C.2. Nomination forms must be returned not later than April 15.

The ninth Pedler Lecture of the Chemical Society will be delivered by Dr. C. R. Harington on March 16 at 2.30 p.m. Dr. Harington will speak on "Newer Knowledge of the Biochemistry of the Thyroid Gland".

A WEEK-END course for medical practitioners on factory medical services and industrial diseases will be held at the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine on March 25–26. It will be opened by Sir Wilson Jameson, chief medical officer of the Ministry of Health, and lectures will be given on "Tuberculosis and the Industrial Worker", "Industrial Diseases of Coal Miners", "Medical Inspection of Canteens", "Young Persons in Industry", and "The Medical Selection of Factory Personnel". The fee of one guinea for the course should be sent to the Secretary, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, Keppel Street, Gower Street, London, W.C.1, not later than Monday, March 20.