Institution of Mechanical Engineers: Awards

The following awards have recently been made by the Institution of Mechanical Engineers: Thomas Hawksley Gold Medal to Dr. F. D. Smith and bronze replicas of the Medal to his co-authors, E. H. Lakey, H. Morgan, and C. A. Luxford, for the following papers which were presented as a group: "The Admiralty Cathode Ray Oscillograph Engine Indicator" by F. D. Smith, E. H. Lakey and H. Morgan; "Basic Principles in the Design of Cathode Ray Oscillograph Engine Indicators" by F. D. Smith; "Stress Measurement by Magnetostriction" by F. D. Smith and C. A. Luxford. George Stephenson Prize to Dr. R. C. Plumb and Prof. A. C. G. Egerton, for their paper on "A Criterion for Knock in Petrol Engines". Dugald Clerk Prize to G. W. A. Green for his paper on "Fuel Injection in Oil Engines in Relation to Combustion". Water Arbitration Prize to Dr. E. G. Holley for his paper or "The Static and Fatigue Torsion Strengths of Various Steels with Circular, Square, and Rectangular Sections". Starley Premium to Prof. W. T. David and Dr. A. S. Leah for their paper on "Fuel Economy in Petrol Engines". Herbert Akroyd Stuart Prize to Dr. G. F. Mucklow for his paper on "Exhaust-Pipe Effects in a Single-Cylinder Four-Stroke Engine", and R. W. Zdanowich and T. S. Wilson for their paper on "The Elements of Pendulum Dampers". Thomas Lowe Gray Prize to Prof. W. Kerr, Dr. J. F. Shannon and Dr. R. N. Arnold for their paper on "The Problems of the Singing Propeller". T. Bernard Hall Prize to F. Dollin for his paper on "Investigation of Steam Turbine Nozzle and Blading Efficiency".

An Active Sunspot

AFTER several weeks of generally diminished sunspot activity, a large sunspot developed rapidly on the sun's disk between February 26 and 28. The spot was apparently associated with marked chromospheric activity on the latter date. The time of central meridian passage of the disturbed area was February 27.3.

Royal Society of Edinburgh: New Fellows

The following have been elected ordinary fellows of the Royal Society of Edinburgh: Dr. H. A. Cookson, Sunderland Royal Infirmary; Dr. C. A. Coulson, Mathematics Department, University College, Dundee; Mr. Atulananda Das, Imperial Forest Service, Shillong, Assam; Dr. J. N. Davidson, Biochemistry Department, University of Aberdeen; Prof. E. C. Dodds, Courtauld Institute of Biochemistry, Middlesex Hospital, London; Dr. E. Finlay-Freundlich, Department of Astronomy, University of St. Andrews; Mr. A. G. L. Gerard, assistant superintendent, Tongland Power Station, Kirkeudbright; Mr. J. C. Gibson, assistant secretary, Air Ministry, London; Mr. James Gray, 7 Spence Street, Edinburgh; Mr. R. L. Gwilt, secretary, Scottish Widows' Fund, Edinburgh; Mr. James Jamieson, engineer and manager, Edinburgh Corporation Gas Department; Prof. Mangalore Kini, Medical College, Andhra University, Vizagapatam; Mr. A. C. Marshall, director of education, County of Clackmannan, Alloa; Dr. A. G. Mearns, Department of Hygiene,

University of Glasgow; The Hon Lord Moncrieff, senator of the College of Justice in Scotland, Edinburgh; The Hon. Lord Murray, chairman of the Scottish Land Court, Edinburgh; Dr. Ivan Parnell, Institute of Helminthology, Macdonald College, Quebec; Dr. E. G. V. Percival, Department of Chemistry, University of Edinburgh; Dr. F. E. Reynolds, pathologist to the Municipal Hospital. Glasgow; Mr. J. J. Robertson, rector, Royal High School, Edinburgh; Dr. A. D. Ross, Department of Civil and Mechanical Engineering, University of London; Dr. H. Scarborough, Department of Therapeutics, University of Edinburgh; Mr. A. Steuart, lately president, Royal Scottish Society of Arts, Edinburgh; Dr. R. L. Sutton, assistant professor of dermatology, Kansas Medical School, Kansas City, Missouri, U.S.A.; Dr. George Trapp, biology master, George Watson's Boys' College, Edinburgh; Dr. D. A. Walker, teacher of science, Daniel Stewart's College, Edinburgh; Mr. J. E. Wilson, senior research officer, Ministry of Agriculture and Fisheries, Edinburgh.

Announcements

Prof. James B. Conant, the distinguished organic chemist and president of Harvard University, who is a member of the U.S. National Defense Research Committee, is visiting Great Britain to confer upon collaboration in the scientific field.

Dr. L. J. Spencer, formerly keeper of minerals in the British Museum (Natural History) has been awarded the Roebling Medal of the Mineralogical Society of America.

The Swammerdam Medal for 1940 has been awarded to Prof. G. W. Grijne of Amsterdam, the Nestor of Dutch physiologists. The six previous recipients have been K. T. E. von Siebold (1880), Ernst Haeckel (1890), K. Gegenbaur and Hugo de Vries (1910), Max Weber (1920) and H. Spemann (1930).

According to a wireless dispatch to the *New York Times*, Prof. Paul Langevin, formerly professor of experimental physics in the Collège de France, who had been detained in prison in Paris, has been released on parole for reasons of health. Prof. Langevin was deprived of his professorship because of his political activities.

THE Ministry of Agriculture is anxious to give every possible help to gardeners and allotment holders in the "Dig for Victory" campaign. season for planting is just beginning, and it is of the first importance that the right crops be grown so as to avoid the production of surplus perishable summer vegetables. Plans made now mean plans for next winter, and adequate space must be allocated to the growing of the valuable potato, onion, carrot, beetroot and other crops that can be stored, and used as substitutes for foodstuffs that are normally imported. A suitable lay-out and cropping plan is given in Growmore Leaflet No. 1, which can be obtained free from most local authorities, while for more specialized information attention may be directed to Leaflets No. 32 on seed potatoes and No. 57 entitled "Tomato Growing is not Difficult".