Royal Society of Edinburgh: New Fellows


    THE following have been elected fellows of the Royal Society of Edinburgh: Mr. E. B. Ball, president of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers; Mr. J. Bowman, City water engineer, Edinburgh; Mr. B. S. Bramwell, advocate, London; Mr. J. Brough, lecturer in vertebrate zoology, University of Edinburgh; Dr. A. F. Buchan, teacher of mathematics, James Gillespie's School, Edinburgh; Mr. J. M. Caie, deputy secretary, Department of Agriculture for Scotland; Mr. J. Cameron, formerly head of the Pharmaceutical Department, Peiping Union Medical College; Prof. J. W. Cook, Department of Chemistry, University of Glasgow; Dr. J. Coutts, lecturer in pharmaceutics and demonstrator in practical pharmacy, St. Bartholomew's Hospital Medical College, London; Mr. Satchidinanda Datta, veterinary research officer, Imperial Veterinary Research Institute, Calcutta; Dr. T. Elder Dickson, art master, George Watson's Ladies College, Edinburgh; Dr. A. T. J. Dollar, assistant in the Department of Geology, University of Glasgow; Dr. H. I. Drever, assistant in the Department of Geology, University of St. Andrews; Mr. W. McC. Harrowes, medical director, New Saughton Hall Private Mental Hospital, Polton, Midlothian; Mr. T. Hart, collector of the Trades House of Glasgow; Prof. C. F. W. Illing-worth, Department of Surgery, University of Glasgow; Mr. J. G. Kyd, registrar-general for Scotland; Mr. P. R. Laird, secretary to Department of Agriculture for Scotland; Dr. Robert McAdam, lecturer in mining and surveying, Heriot-Watt College, Edinburgh; Dr. J. A. Macdonald, lecturer in botany, University of St. Andrews; Dr. A. E. W. McLachlan, clinical medical officer, Newcastle General Hospital, Newcastle-upon-Tyne; Dr. A. MacNiven, physician superintendent, Royal Mental Hospital, Glasgow; Prof. G. F. Marrian, Department of Chemistry in relation to Medicine, University of Edinburgh; Dr. E. R. A. Merewether, H.M. medical inspector of factories, Birmingham; Mr. R. M. Neill, senior lecturer in zoology, University of Aberdeen; Dr. H. B. Nisbet, lecturer in chemistry, Heriot-Watt College, Edinburgh; Mr. J. S. C. Reid, solicitor-general for Scotland; Mr. H. Riley, founder and headmaster of Strathallan School, Forgandenny, Perthshire; Mr. J. Thomson, distiller, London; Dr. H. M. Traquair, president of the Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh, lecturer on diseases of the eye, University of Edinburgh.

    Rights and permissions

    Reprints and Permissions

    About this article

    Cite this article

    Royal Society of Edinburgh: New Fellows. Nature 145, 384–385 (1940).

    Download citation


    By submitting a comment you agree to abide by our Terms and Community Guidelines. If you find something abusive or that does not comply with our terms or guidelines please flag it as inappropriate.