News | Published:

Academy of Sciences of the U.S.S.R

Nature volume 143, page 596 (08 April 1939) | Download Citation



AT a plenary session of the Academy of Sciences of the U.S.S.R. recently held in Moscow the following officers were elected: President, V. L. Komarov; Vice-Presidents, O. J. Schmidt, I. M. Gubkin, E. A. Chudakov, A. A. Bogomolets, A. J. Vishinsky, T. D. Lysenko, V. N. Obraztsov, A. E. Fersman. The secretaries of the eight newly constituted departments of the Academy, elected at a previous session of the Academy, become ex-officio members of the Presidium. They are: Department of Economies and Law, E. S. Varga; Department of Technical Sciences, V. P. Nikitin; Department of History and Philosophy, A. M. Deborin; Department of Geology and Geography, P. I. Stepanov; Department of Biology, L. A. Orbeli; Department of Physico-Mathematical Sciences, A. N. Kolmogorov; Department of Languages and Literature, I. I. Meshchani-nov; Department of Chemistry, A. N. Bakh.

About this article

Publication history





    By submitting a comment you agree to abide by our Terms and Community Guidelines. If you find something abusive or that does not comply with our terms or guidelines please flag it as inappropriate.

    Newsletter Get the most important science stories of the day, free in your inbox. Sign up for Nature Briefing