News | Published:

National Service Committee for Scientific Research

Nature volume 143, page 592 (08 April 1939) | Download Citation



THE Central Register Advisory Council of the Ministry of Labour has appointed the following Committee for Scientific Research: A. V. Hill (chairman); C. G. Darwin (mathematics); E. V. Appleton (physics); J. C. Philip (chemistry); R. V. Southwell (engineering sciences); E. B. Bailey (geology); V. H. Blackman (botany); D. M. S. Watson (zoology); A. V. Hill (physiology); W. W. C. Topley (pathology); F. C. Bartlett (psychology); Director of Scientific Research, Admiralty; Director of Scientific Research, War Office; Director of Scientific Research, Air Ministry; Department of Scientific and Industrial Research; Medical Research Council; Agricultural Research Council. Ten sub-committees for the consideration of the several subjects have been co-opted.

About this article

Publication history





    By submitting a comment you agree to abide by our Terms and Community Guidelines. If you find something abusive or that does not comply with our terms or guidelines please flag it as inappropriate.

    Newsletter Get the most important science stories of the day, free in your inbox. Sign up for Nature Briefing