News | Published:

Forest Administration in Malaya

Nature volume 143, pages 571572 (01 April 1939) | Download Citation



THE Forestry Department of the Straits Settlements and the Federated Malay States was organized in 1901 and the Malayan Forest Service, whichincludes all senior officers serving in Malaya, was created in 1926. Afterwards, the protected States of Johore (1920), Kedah (1923), Kelantan (1933), Brunei (1933) and Trengganu (1936) set up forestry departments oftheir own, to the charge of which officers of the Malayan Forest Servicewere appointed. A Research Branch was commenced in 1918, and has greatlydeveloped and undertaken important work, its sections now consisting of botany, wood anatomy, sylviculture, chemistry, entomology, forest economy and timber testing. In connexion with the Research Branch, a vernacular school is maintained for the training of the subordinate staff. The Research Branch and School are now much on the same lines as the classic example at Dehra Dun, India.

About this article

Publication history





    By submitting a comment you agree to abide by our Terms and Community Guidelines. If you find something abusive or that does not comply with our terms or guidelines please flag it as inappropriate.

    Newsletter Get the most important science stories of the day, free in your inbox. Sign up for Nature Briefing