News and Views

New Fellows of the Royal Society

At the meeting of the Royal Society, held on March 16, the following were elected fellows of the Society :

G. S. ADAIR, assistant director of research in physiology, Cambridge, distinguished for his researches on the physical chemistry of proteins, particularly in connexion with hæmoglobin.

C. H. ANDREWES, pathologist, National Institute for Medical Research, distinguished for his work on filtrable viruses and the bacteriophage, particularly in relation to the neutralization of viruses by antisera, and his studies on filtrable tumours.

M. BORN, Tait professor of natural philosophy, University of Edinburgh, distinguished for his work in many branches of mathematical physics, and particularly for his contributions to quantum theory and its applications to physics and chemical physics.

A. J. BRADLEY, assistant director of research in crystallography, Cavendish Laboratory, Cambridge, distinguished for his methods of applying X-ray crystallography to elucidate the structure of metals, and particularly the gamma phase and order and disorder in alloys.

D. BRUNT, professor of meteorology, Imperial College, London, distinguished for his contributions to analytical and dynamical meteorology, and particularly to the theory of the transfer of heat in the atmosphere.

F. A. E. CREW, Buchanan professor of animal genetics, University of Edinburgh, distinguished for his work on sex reversal in frogs and birds and on the genetics of many animals, especially *Drosophila* and budgerigars.

F. W. EDWARDS, Department of Entomology, British Museum, distinguished for his extensive researches on the order Diptera and for his studies on larval characters in relation to classification.

B. M. JONES, Mond professor of aeronautical engineering, Cambridge, distinguished for his researches in aeronautical science and for the elucidation of problems of design, such as the control at slow speeds and the determination of drag on fullscale structures.

G. W. C. KAYE, superintendent, Physics Department, National Physical Laboratory, distinguished for his pioneer work in X-ray measurements and for his studies on acoustics and physical constants : has rendered valuable service to the Radium Protection Committee and the National Radium Commission.

E. G. T. LIDDELL, fellow of Trinity College, Oxford, distinguished for his researches upon the physiology of muscle movement and posture in mammals, and upon their control during the normal and abnormal functioning of central nervous mechanisms. E. J. MASKELL, lecturer in plant physiology, Cambridge, distinguished for his work in the realm of plant physiology, especially in relation to problems of translocation.

I. MASSON, vice-chancellor of the University of Sheffield, formerly professor of chemistry, University of Durham, distinguished for his researches in physical chemistry, particularly on the physical interaction of mixed gases and on new aspects of the chemistry of iodine.

C. E. K. MEES, vice-president of the Eastman Kodak Company, Rochester, N.Y., distinguished for his influence on the technology of photography, thereby assisting advance in many branches of science.

M. H. A. NEWMAN, lecturer in mathematics, Cambridge, distinguished for his contributions to pure mathematics, particularly in the field of topology and group theory.

H. H. READ, professor of geology, Imperial College, London, distinguished for original work especially in connexion with the tectonic and petrological problems of the igneous and metamorphic rocks of northern Scotland.

SIR R. G. STAPLEDON, professor of agricultural botany and director of the Welsh Plant Breeding Station, Aberystwyth, distinguished as the founder of the Welsh Plant Breeding Station where, with a team of workers, he has undertaken studies of far-reaching importance on the improvement of pastures.

H. M. TURNBULL, professor of morbid anatomy and director of the Bernhard Baron Institute of Pathology, London Hospital, distinguished for his work on morbid histology, particularly in relation to vascular disease, encephalitis, toxic hepatitis, diseases of bone, and normal and abnormal hæmopoiesis.

E. E. TURNER, head of the Department of Organic Chemistry, Bedford College, London, distinguished for his contributions to the stereochemistry of organic compounds, especially in connexion with asymmetry in derivatives of diphenyl and with dissymmetry in the phenoxarsines.

V. B. WIGGLESWORTH, reader in medical entomology, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, distinguished for his researches on insect physiology, especially in relation to digestion, tracheal respiration, excretion and possible endocrine secretion.

E. J. WILLIAMS, professor of physics, University of Wales, Aberystwyth, distinguished for his researches on the passage of electric particles through matter, and on individual collision processes, which have provided evidence for the existence of the heavy electron.